the creative writers toolbelt podcast

The Creative Writer's Toolbelt podcast artwork

Similar to The Creative Writer's Toolbelt

Series avatar that links to series page

1 Helping Writers Become Authors

K.m. weiland, 1 game of owns - a song of ice and fire/house of the dragon/game of thrones podcast, hannah hosking and zack luye, 1 i should be writing, mur lafferty, 1 ifanboy - comic books, 1 the sword and laser, tom merritt and veronica belmont, 1 the book review, the new york times, jeremy robinson, 1 small town horror, podcasts worth a listen, the creative writer's toolbelt, archived series ("inactive feed" status).

When? This feed was archived on November 29, 2021 18:09 ( 2y ago ). Last successful fetch was on October 28, 2021 22:04 ( 2+ y ago )

Why? Inactive feed status. Our servers were unable to retrieve a valid podcast feed for a sustained period.

What now? You might be able to find a more up-to-date version using the search function. This series will no longer be checked for updates. If you believe this to be in error, please check if the publisher's feed link below is valid and contact support to request the feed be restored or if you have any other concerns about this.

266 episodes

346 subscribers

updated 2+ y ago

All episodes

Welcome to player fm.

Player FM is scanning the web for high-quality podcasts for you to enjoy right now. It's the best podcast app and works on Android, iPhone, and the web. Signup to sync subscriptions across devices.

Quick Reference Guide

Player FM logo

Filter by Keywords

Productivity

The best writing podcasts to foster creativity in 2024 .

Senior Content Marketing Manager

February 16, 2024

In 1959, Jack Kerouac took to his typewriter and typed a spontaneous list of thirty ‘guidelines’ for writing, offering gems of advice such as “write what you want bottomless from the bottom of the mind” and “write in recollection and amazement for yourself.” 

We don’t know if Kerouac would have embraced the podcast circuit to share his Belief and Technique for Modern Prose .

But we do know that the writing process is endlessly fascinating and elusive, and writers’ secrets are sought after.

Talking about writing often seems more straightforward than actually writing. While listening to the podcasts recommended here won’t replace the act of sitting down to write, it can help you overcome the isolation that comes with seeking inspiration, whether you’re a creative writer or an aspiring novelist. 

That’s why writing podcasts are so valuable. They offer support, guidance, and encouragement for your creative efforts.

Writing podcasts are audio programs that explore the many aspects of writing, from the craft to the lifestyle. 

They are essential tools for anyone looking to enhance their creativity, refine their skills, or find community in the sometimes lonely writing endeavor. 

By tuning into these podcasts, you can learn from other writers’ experiences, learn new techniques, and also stay motivated throughout your writing journey.

Different Types of Writing Podcasts

1. write-minded, 2. the creative penn podcast, 3. grammar girl quick and dirty tips for better writing, 4. the writers’ hangout, 5. self-publishing school, 6. the writer files, 7. london writers’ salon, 8. the power of storytelling, 9. writing around the kids, 10. creating happy writers, 11. beautiful writers podcast, 12. the drunken odyssey with john king, 13. the creative writer’s toolbelt, 14. the big gay fiction podcast, 15. writer’s routine , 16. well-read black girl, 17. helping writers become authors, how to use writing podcasts for inspiration and learning, grow your writing career with clickup, brush up your creative skills with writing podcasts, common faqs.

Writing podcasts come in various flavors, catering to the diverse needs and tastes of the writing community. 

Here are some of the main types of podcasts about writing and what they can offer you:

  • Instructional podcasts: These podcasts offer practical advice on improving writing skills, covering topics from grammar to story structure. They provide a wealth of knowledge accessible to beginners and experienced writers
  • Inspirational podcasts : These podcasts are designed to motivate you by sharing success stories and delivering pep talks. They serve as a source of encouragement, fostering the resilience and creativity needed to face the challenges inherent in your writing career
  • Genre-specific podcasts: If you wish to dive into the nuances of writing within particular literary categories such as mystery, romance, or science fiction, genre-specific podcasts are meant for you. They provide insights tailored to writers seeking to refine their craft within specific genres 
  • Author interviews: These podcasts offer an intimate look into the lives of bestselling authors, giving you a glimpse of the creative processes and experiences that shape their work. This gives you a behind-the-scenes perspective on the art and profession of writing
  • Community-oriented podcasts: These podcasts establish virtual spaces for writers to connect and share their diverse journeys and insights. They actively guide you on your path, serving as beacons for those seeking to master their craft and find creative fulfillment

Now that you know the different types of podcasts, you can choose the one that best suits your preferences. 

To help you further, we have compiled a list of the best podcasts of the year, providing you with valuable insights to refine your writing skills and spark inspiration. 

Top Ranking Writing Podcasts

No matter where you are in your writing journey, we’ve curated a list of the 17 best writing podcasts of this year to get the creative juices flowing:

Write-minded

Hosted by Brooke Warner from She Writes, the world’s largest online community for women writers, and Grant Faulkner from National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), Write-minded is a weekly podcast that offers a dynamic blend of writing advice, craft-focused discussions, and industry insights. 

In each episode, the hosts conduct engaging interviews with writers and publishing professionals, accompanied by a mini-feature exploring current trends in the publishing world. 

Whether you’re an aspiring author or an established writer, Write-minded delivers a compelling mix of creative inspiration and business insight. 

Recent episodes feature Stephanie Foo discussing the challenges of writing about trauma and A.M. Homes sharing insights on the craft of characterization, making it an invaluable resource for writers at all stages of their journey.

Must-listen episodes

  • How to Be Self-Revealing in Memoir When You’re Not In Real Life , featuring Dr. Brian H. Williams
  • The Future of the Book , featuring Maja Thomas
  • The Subtle Art of Attunement and Its Bearing on Our Writing , featuring Baron Wormser

What listeners say

I can’t stop listening. If you are a writer, you won’t be able to either.

The Creative Penn Podcast

Hosted by Joanna Penn , a successful indie author and entrepreneur, The Creative Penn Podcast provides insights into writing, self-publishing, book marketing, and also how to make a living with your writing. 

Each episode covers topics ranging from genre exploration to the technical aspects of publishing aimed at helping authors understand the book industry. 

Joanna often invites guests like Mark Dawson and Orna Ross, who share their expertise on specific subjects, offering listeners actionable advice to apply to their writing and publishing endeavors.

  • A Creative Approach to Generative AI in Book Cover Design with James Helps
  • Facing Fears, and Writing Unique Characters with Barbara Nickless
  • How Generative AI Search Will Impact Book Discoverability in the Next Decade with Joanna Penn
The mix of audience and the style of the podcast (monologue followed by interview) make it entertaining. Very highly recommended.

Grammar Girl Quick and Dirty Tips for Better Writing

Mignon Fogarty , the voice behind Grammar Girl, offers short, friendly tips to improve your writing. Covering grammar, style, and usage, each episode dives into common writing errors and stylistic nuances that can make or break your work. 

The podcast helps writers of all levels clean up their prose and communicate more effectively, making it one of Writer’s Digest’s 101 best websites. 

Guests like linguists and authors discuss language evolution and writing best practices, making complex language rules accessible to everyone.

  • Technology changes how we write. Who was the first Goody Two Shoes?
  • The psychology (and language) of time. Commas are like people on the subway. Fox chores.
  • Why English has silent letters. Dayjamas
The Grammar Girl podcast is the best!!! I especially like the parts about how English has changed over time.

The Writers' Hangout

The Writers’ Hangout is a space for writers to share stories, challenges, and victories. 

It’s hosted by various members of the writing community, including PAGE Social Media Director Sandy Adomaitis and co-host Terry Sampson . Each episode dives into different aspects of the writing life, from overcoming writer’s block to exploring creative processes. 

The podcast offers community and practical advice, helping writers feel less isolated.

One of the notable guests featured on the show is the screenwriter Matias Caruso, whose inclusion holds particular significance. As a self-taught screenwriter from Argentina, Caruso brings a unique perspective and journey to the podcast. 

His story of mastering English and screenwriting skills independently amidst cultural and linguistic challenges is inspiring and relatable for aspiring writers globally. 

By featuring Caruso’s insights, the podcast not only enriches its content with diverse experiences but also highlights the inclusivity and encouragement it aims to foster within the creative community.

  • How Writers Find Their Agents And Managers
  • 7 Quick Tips for Creating Memorable Character Names
  • Billy Wilder’s 10 Crucial Tips To Write A Great Screenplay
Podcasts like these are exactly what I need when I’m taking a writing break. It feels like you’re in the space with them and enjoying the conversation.

Self-Publishing School

Chandler Bolt hosts the Self-Publishing School podcast, which focuses on how to write, publish, and market your books effectively. 

Each episode provides step-by-step guidance on self-publishing, making it a valuable resource for authors at any career stage. 

Chandler and his guests, including successful self-published authors such as Joanna Penn and Derek Murphy, discuss strategies for book launches, marketing, and building an author brand, offering listeners a blueprint for self-publishing success.

  • Mastering Marketing and Book Promotion with Dr. Joe Vitale
  • Portable Stories, Great Case Studies, And Writing Books People Share with Joey Coleman
  • The Story Blender: How I Sold 1 Million Copies Of My Novels with Steven James
This is a good podcast for anyone who wants to write a book, no matter what their situation in life is.

The Writer Files

Kelton Reid studies the habits, habitats, and brains of famous writers to understand what makes them tick. 

The Writer Files covers everything from productivity hacks to the psychological challenges of writing, offering insights into how successful writers overcome common obstacles. 

Guests have included bestselling authors such as David Sedaris and Gretchen Rubin, who share their routines, writing techniques, inspirations, and tips for maintaining creativity and productivity.

  • How to Land a Book Deal with Agent & Author Lucinda Halpern
  • How #1 NY Times Bestselling Author Jim Butcher Writes
  • The Art and Craft of TV Drama with Aaron Tracy
If you’re a writer (and even if you’re not), you’ll find listening to The Writer Files to be time well spent

London Writers' Salon

Hosted by writers and co-founders of the London Writers’ Salon , Matthew Trinetti and Parul Bavishi , this podcast invites listeners into the world of writing workshops and literary discussions. 

Each episode explores the craft of writing through conversations with authors, editors, and literary agents, offering practical advice and inspiration. 

The London Writers’ Salon supports writers in honing their craft and finding their community, with guests discussing topics relevant to both new and experienced authors.

  • Writing Love Stories, Building Strong Characters, Mastering Young Adult Novels, From Musician to Writer with David Arnold
  • Navigating & Succeeding in Self-Publishing, Pros and Cons of Traditional Publishing, Writing Sales Copy, Amazon Categories, Building an Audience, Handling Rights, Hiring Help with Gwyn Bennett
  • Writing & Reading as Tools for a Meaningful Life, Writing Big Idea Nonfiction, Learning from Literary Greats with Benjamin Hutchinson
It’s very thought-provoking. I loved it!

The Power of Storytelling

The Power of Storytelling , hosted by former journalist and PR expert Nicola J. Rowley , explores the art and impact of storytelling across various mediums. 

The different episodes cover how stories are crafted, shared, and received, offering insights into narrative techniques that captivate audiences. 

The podcast explores the question, “How can my story impact my life and other people’s lives?”

Guests, including renowned journalists, authors, and speakers, share their experiences and tips for creating compelling stories, making it a valuable resource for writers looking to enhance their narrative skills. 

  • Onto your next Chapter with Sarah Walker
  • Create a Legacy: Write your Story with Abigail Horne
  • Unlock the Power of Storytelling , Nicola J. Rowley’s Journey
Inspiring conversations about the power of storytelling. Nicola is a great interviewer drawing out the stories of her guests.

Writing Around the Kids

Writing Around the Kids is a podcast designed by Anna Jefferson and Sam Johnson for writers navigating the complexities of parenting alongside their creative endeavors. 

Each episode offers strategies for effective time management, establishing clear boundaries, and enhancing creativity even amid family chaos. 

A highlight of the series is the participation of Elizabeth Haynes, a former police intelligence analyst residing in Norfolk with her husband and son. 

On the podcast, Elizabeth shared her insights on the liberating experience of writing across genres and the creative freedom of drafting without a predefined plan, particularly highlighting her participation in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo). 

Her journey from drafting her first novel in the month-long writing challenge (NaNoWriMo) to becoming a published author in 37 countries is not only motivational but also filled with practical tips for listeners who are striving to balance their passion for writing with their responsibilities as parents.

  • Writing/Life Balance November with Nicola Williams, Jacqueline Roy, and Annie Garthwaite
  • Writing & Motherhood panel discussion with Jo Clegg, Rosie Walker & Nicola Gill
Loved it so much, great ideas.

Creating Happy Writers

Creating Happy Writers focuses on the joy and fulfillment writing can bring. The podcast is for writers of non-fiction and business books. 

Hosted by Steph Caswell , each episode explores ways to maintain the passion for writing, overcome self-doubt, and embrace the creative process. It also aims to educate, inspire, and empower writers with the necessary tools.

Guests, including authors, psychologists, and creativity coaches, offer insights into staying motivated and happy in your writing practice, making it a source of inspiration for writers seeking to reignite their passion.

  • How to Make Time to Write Your Business Book in 2024
  • 10 Lessons I’ve Learned From 10 Years of Writing
  • Irresistible Introductions: Hooking Your Reader From Page On e
Steph Caswell eloquently shares phenomenal value in these bite-sized podcasts. Well, worth a listen if you run your own business, and want to stand out within your niche. Or if you have any other reason to be writing a non-fiction book.

Beautiful Writers Podcast

Linda Sivertsen hosts Beautiful Writers Podcast , featuring intimate conversations with some of the most beloved authors and creative minds. 

Each episode dives into the writing process, publishing industry insights, and the personal journeys of guests like Elizabeth Gilbert and Brené Brown. 

The podcast offers a behind-the-scenes look at the challenges and triumphs of writing, providing listeners with inspiration and practical advice from those who have found significant success in their writing careers.

  • How to Write a Book (& Actually Finish It!) with Marie Forleo
  • Answering the Biggest Questions that Stump Writers with Cheryl Strayed & Nia Vardalos
  • A Top Lit Agent & Writer on Togetherness with Jennifer Rudolph Walsh & Dani Shapiro
Great advice, inspiration, and lessons here. A treasure!!!

The Drunken Odyssey with John King

The Drunken Odyssey , hosted by John King , is a podcast about writing that combines literary discussion, interviews, and the occasional writing workshop. 

John and his guests, including poets, novelists, and essayists, discuss the nuances of writing, the importance of literature, and the joys and struggles of the creative process. 

The podcast stands out for its eclectic mix of content, from in-depth literary analysis to lighthearted conversations about the writer’s journey.

  • A Discussion of Kathleen Alcott’s Emergency , with Samantha Nickerson
  • A Discussion of Myhouse.wad for Doom , with Michael Merriam
The Drunken Odyssey is a brilliant podcast! I love that we get sneak peeks into the minds of authors and what it’s like to live that life.

The Creative Writer's Toolbelt

Andrew J. Chamberlain hosts The Creative Writer’s Toolbelt , offering practical, tangible advice to writers looking to hone their craft. Although he hasn’t released a new episode since October 2022, the nearly 200 earlier episodes are full of helpful knowledge and tips for writers.

Each episode focuses on specific aspects of writing, such as character development, setting, or plot, providing listeners with tools and techniques to enhance their storytelling. 

Guests include authors, editors, and literary agents who share their expertise and experiences, making complex writing concepts accessible and actionable.

  • Getting the marketing basics right with Written Word Media’s Clayton Noblit
  • Trust the process that gives you joy! with Jessie Kwak
  • Make your reader feel smart with Jessica Brody
This is my favorite podcast on creative writing and I’ve listened to every episode. Andrew’s method of explaining concepts and techniques is straightforward and easy to understand.

The Big Gay Fiction Podcast

Hosted by Jeff Adams and Will Knauss , The Big Gay Fiction Podcast celebrates gay romance fiction and offers insights into the writing and publishing of LGBTQ+ stories. 

Each episode features interviews with authors, reviews of recent works, and discussions on trends within the genre. 

Guests, including popular authors like TJ Klune and Gregory Ashe, share their writing experiences, providing inspiration and advice for authors in or supportive of the LGBTQ+ community.

  • Empowering Readers and Storytellers with Subscriptions
  • Timothy Janovsky’s Time Traveling Rom-Com
  • Tales of “Vices” and “Restless Rogues” with Jess Everlee
I have found some wonderful authors & books thanks to these two. Highly recommended!

Writer's Routine

Dan Simpson hosts Writer’s Routine , a podcast that explores the daily routines of successful writers to uncover how they achieve their goals. 

Each episode offers a glimpse into the writing habits that foster productivity and creativity, with guests discussing their schedules, workspaces, and methods for overcoming writer’s block. 

Authors like Ian Rankin and Lisa Jewell have shared their routines, offering useful insights for listeners looking to optimize their writing practices.

  • How to plan and write historical fiction with D.V. Bishop
  • Why the biggest barriers to writing are your own excuses with Denzil Meyrick
  • How to write around a day job with Alex Hay
I love this podcast. Great tips and insights from varying writers that really help inspire and empower.

Well-Read Black Girl

Well-Read Black Girl , hosted by Glory Edim , features conversations with Black women writers, highlighting their work and exploring themes of representation, diversity, and identity in literature. 

Each episode celebrates the contributions of Black female authors to the literary world, with guests discussing their writing processes, inspirations, and the importance of Black voices in storytelling. 

Guests have included luminaries like Jesmyn Ward and Tayari Jones, making it an empowering listen for writers and readers alike.

  • Brit Bennett on Writing Confidently
  • Gabrielle Union on Writing Her Truth
  • Zeba Blay Brings Healing to the Page
This is an inviting space for listeners to hear from influential authors and public figures, but in a way that’s welcoming.

Helping Writers Become Authors

K.M. Weiland hosts Helping Writers Become Authors, a podcast that offers advice on crafting compelling stories. 

Focusing on story structure, character arcs, and themes, Weiland provides listeners with the tools they need to improve their writing. 

Through solo episodes and conversations with guests, the podcast dives into the technical aspects of writing, offering clear, actionable tips that writers can apply to their work to create more engaging and compelling stories.

  • Writing Multiple Plotlines: Everything You Need to Know
  • How to Market a Book: 6 Steps from a Full-Time Author
  • Do’s and Don’ts of Time Management for Writers
Although I work in a completely different writing genre, Helping Writers Become Authors has become my most valued writing guide

Want to listen to podcasts for writers but unable to find the time? Start by scheduling podcast-listening time into your daily routine. 

Starting the day on an inspirational note with a writing podcast during breakfast or your morning routine can set a positive tone for a productive day of writing. 

Your daily commute, whether driving, walking, or using public transport, is a perfect opportunity to absorb new writing ideas and information, turning travel time into a learning session. 

Scheduled breaks are also a prime time to engage with a podcast, providing a relaxing escape that keeps your mind actively involved with writing. 

Besides, you can combine podcast listening with exercise or household chores and transform these routine tasks into enjoyable and educational moments. 

Wind down at the end of your day with a few minutes spent listening to a writing podcast. Select episodes that inspire or relax you and prepare your mind for the next day’s writing tasks. 

For episodes that strike a particular chord, dedicating time to active listening and note-taking can also help you reflect on and apply the insights gained to your writing. 

This structured approach to integrating podcasts into your daily activities not only keeps you connected to the broader writing community but also ensures a continuous stream of motivation and learning.

Jotting down key points, interesting phrases, or writing prompts mentioned in the podcast is a great way to consolidate your learnings. Also, try to incorporate new techniques or vocabulary you learned into your writing.

To boost your writing career, you need more than talent and dedication. The right tools can help streamline your creative process and make you more productive. That’s where ClickUp comes in.

ClickUp is a comprehensive platform that caters to writers who want to refine their workflows and step up their creativity. 

With ClickUp Docs and ClickUp Brain , you can access advanced features to optimize your writing tasks and skills.

Create beautiful docs, wikis, and more

ClickUp Docs 3.0

ClickUp Docs is an all-in-one workspace where writers can draft, edit, and organize their documents. 

If you engage in heavy research and note-taking, consolidate your material in these documents and organize them well. You can also create wikis while working on larger writing projects.

Connect your tasks, docs, people, and all your company’s knowledge with AI  

ClickUp Brain’s AI capabilities act as a writing assistant , offering an innovative solution to overcome writer’s block. It can generate outlines, summaries, or prompts, kickstarting the writing process for any task. 

This feature also functions as an outline generator , helping you structure your ideas and develop a coherent flow for your pieces. 

It enables content teams to deliver blog post ideas or product teams to create product documents and design user-testing studies in seconds!

Use writing and content calendar templates to stay organized and meet deadlines 

Gather leads and achieve your writing goals with ClickUp’s Content Writing Template

ClickUp also provides content writing templates that simplify the creation of various types of content, from blog posts to technical documentation . 

These templates are an excellent resource for writers looking for a structured start to their projects, ensuring consistency and quality across their work.

Additionally, ClickUp includes content calendar templates , making it easier for writers to plan and track their publishing schedules. This organizational tool is crucial for maintaining a consistent output and meeting deadlines.

For writers keen on continuous learning and improvement and time management, integrating productivity podcasts and ClickUp can provide support and inspiration for a flourishing writing career. 

Whether you’re seeking advice, inspiration, or simply the comfort of knowing you’re not alone in your writing challenges, there’s a writing podcast out there for you! Podcasts for writers are not just about information—they’re catalysts for creativity, connecting writers worldwide in a shared journey.  

One way to make the most out of your creativity today is using ClickUp. It’s your go-to platform for boosting productivity and simplifying workflows so you can focus on your craft. 

It offers a unified space to craft, save, and manage creative projects and documents. As one of the best writing tools and creative partners out there, ClickUp shines whether you’re collaborating with a team, sharing feedback, providing content writing services , or working independently on a project.

ClickUp is free to try, so why wait? Sign up today and discover how it can transform your writing process, dial up productivity, and enhance collaboration.

1. What are the best podcasts for writers?

This question has no definitive answer, as different podcasts may appeal to different writers depending on their preferences, goals, and interests. Depending on factors such as topic and genre, format and style, and the hosts and the guests invited, you can search for podcasts that suit your needs and tastes.

2. How do you use podcasts to inspire your writing?

Podcasts can be a great source of inspiration for your writing, as they can expose you to new ideas, perspectives, and stories. 

Listen to podcasts featuring writers you admire and want to learn the art of writing. You can listen to their stories, challenges, and successes and apply their tips and techniques to your work.

3. What’s the best podcast for professional writers?

This question depends on your personal preferences and goals as a professional writer. Some of the podcasts that can be helpful for professional writers include High-Income Business Writing Podcast , The Writers’ Co-op , and The Copywriter Club .

Questions? Comments? Visit our Help Center for support.

Receive the latest WriteClick Newsletter updates.

Thanks for subscribing to our blog!

Please enter a valid email

  • Free training & 24-hour support
  • Serious about security & privacy
  • 99.99% uptime the last 12 months

the creative writers toolbelt podcast

  • Writing, Research & Publishing Guides

Amazon prime logo

Enjoy fast, free delivery, exclusive deals, and award-winning movies & TV shows with Prime Try Prime and start saving today with fast, free delivery

Amazon Prime includes:

Fast, FREE Delivery is available to Prime members. To join, select "Try Amazon Prime and start saving today with Fast, FREE Delivery" below the Add to Cart button.

  • Cardmembers earn 5% Back at Amazon.com with a Prime Credit Card.
  • Unlimited Free Two-Day Delivery
  • Streaming of thousands of movies and TV shows with limited ads on Prime Video.
  • A Kindle book to borrow for free each month - with no due dates
  • Listen to over 2 million songs and hundreds of playlists
  • Unlimited photo storage with anywhere access

Important:  Your credit card will NOT be charged when you start your free trial or if you cancel during the trial period. If you're happy with Amazon Prime, do nothing. At the end of the free trial, your membership will automatically upgrade to a monthly membership.

Buy new: $14.99 $14.99 FREE delivery: Thursday, Feb 22 on orders over $35.00 shipped by Amazon. Ships from: Amazon.com Sold by: Amazon.com

  • Free returns are available for the shipping address you chose. You can return the item for any reason in new and unused condition: no shipping charges
  • Learn more about free returns.
  • Go to your orders and start the return
  • Select the return method

Buy used: $10.25

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required .

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle for Web.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Image Unavailable

The Creative Writer's Toolbelt Handbook: Everything you need to be a better writer and produce great work

  • To view this video download Flash Player

Follow the author

Andrew J Chamberlain

The Creative Writer's Toolbelt Handbook: Everything you need to be a better writer and produce great work Paperback – September 14, 2017

Purchase options and add-ons.

  • Book Description
  • Editorial Reviews

Here in one book are the tools you need to be a better writer and produce great work.

The creative writer’s toolbelt handbook gives you practical, accessible advice for all of the dimensions of the craft, backed up with examples from classic and contemporary literature, together with insights from dozens of professional writers, artists, editors and agents., here’s what others have said about the book:, - "a unique and comprehensive handbook... it lays the foundations and then helps you build.", - "a very useful practical (hands-on rather than theory) guide with many (many) examples...highly recommended.", - "i've found so few advice givers as competent and informative as andrew chamberlain", each chapter covers an aspect of the craft, giving you insights that you can apply immediately to your own writing, and providing you with the confidence to go on to explore and develop your skills., chapter 1: creating a story learn the classic shape of stories and understand why throughout history, one particular approach to story construction has been so successful., chapter 2: characters and characterisation explore the two primary aspects of characterisation: character essence and goal motivation and passion. learn why getting these aspects right is most of the hard work of character development., chapter 3: setting, world-building, and research understand the two critical requirements of a setting - that it be credible and immersive. grounded with examples, we also look at the best way to gather and apply research, with expert insights into the process, and guidance on the important issue of understanding and writing characters who do not reflect our own heritage., chapter 4: tools of the trade understand how to use the most important tools of the craft; from 'showing not telling' to point of view and foreshadowing to exploiting the power of sensory description., chapter 5: the building blocks of writing explore the techniques for harnessing the power of punctuation and structure, understand the power of verbs in driving the pace of a sentence., chapter 6: the sound of your writing unlock the secrets of tone, style, and voice, and wield the sharpest tools available to you: clarity, brevity, and precision., chapter 7: story identity - genre and theme explore the strategies for harnessing genre and trope to reassure and absorb the reader. see how symbol, dilemma, and innovation interweave with theme and moral, and how to apply these aspects to enrich and enhance our work., chapter 8: the writer's life living well is a step towards writing well. from physical health to mental and emotional wellbeing, the handbook offers suggestions for the writer's life. this chapter also explores the author experience with publishers and some thoughts on how to effectively market both ourselves as writers and our work., about the author.

  • Print length 328 pages
  • Language English
  • Publication date September 14, 2017
  • Dimensions 5.98 x 0.69 x 9.02 inches
  • ISBN-10 1976168406
  • ISBN-13 978-1976168406
  • See all details

The Amazon Book Review

Product details

  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform (September 14, 2017)
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • Paperback ‏ : ‎ 328 pages
  • ISBN-10 ‏ : ‎ 1976168406
  • ISBN-13 ‏ : ‎ 978-1976168406
  • Item Weight ‏ : ‎ 15.5 ounces
  • Dimensions ‏ : ‎ 5.98 x 0.69 x 9.02 inches
  • #80 in Lexicography
  • #222 in Science Fiction & Fantasy Writing
  • #583 in Mystery Writing Reference

Important information

To report an issue with this product or seller, click here .

About the author

the creative writers toolbelt podcast

Andrew J Chamberlain

Andrew J Chamberlain is an author and writing mentor. He is a hybrid author, publishing books and short stories via the traditional and indie routes, and is the host of "The Creative Writer's Toolbelt", a podcast that gives writers practical advice and encouragement on the craft. In September 2017, he published “The Creative Writer’s Toolbelt Handbook” a compilation of the very best advice and insight from dozens of professional writers, artists, and editors, from the podcast.

His latest novel, published in July 2019, is "The Centauri Survivors", a first contact adventure set in the Alpha Centauri system.

As an international trainer and speaker, Andrew has supported authors of all ages from eight to eighty-eight, to be better writers and produce great work.

Customer reviews

Customer Reviews, including Product Star Ratings help customers to learn more about the product and decide whether it is the right product for them.

To calculate the overall star rating and percentage breakdown by star, we don’t use a simple average. Instead, our system considers things like how recent a review is and if the reviewer bought the item on Amazon. It also analyzed reviews to verify trustworthiness.

  • Sort reviews by Top reviews Most recent Top reviews

Top reviews from the United States

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. please try again later..

the creative writers toolbelt podcast

Top reviews from other countries

the creative writers toolbelt podcast

  • Amazon Newsletter
  • About Amazon
  • Accessibility
  • Sustainability
  • Press Center
  • Investor Relations
  • Amazon Devices
  • Amazon Science
  • Start Selling with Amazon
  • Sell apps on Amazon
  • Supply to Amazon
  • Protect & Build Your Brand
  • Become an Affiliate
  • Become a Delivery Driver
  • Start a Package Delivery Business
  • Advertise Your Products
  • Self-Publish with Us
  • Host an Amazon Hub
  • › See More Ways to Make Money
  • Amazon Visa
  • Amazon Store Card
  • Amazon Secured Card
  • Amazon Business Card
  • Shop with Points
  • Credit Card Marketplace
  • Reload Your Balance
  • Amazon Currency Converter
  • Your Account
  • Your Orders
  • Shipping Rates & Policies
  • Amazon Prime
  • Returns & Replacements
  • Manage Your Content and Devices
  • Recalls and Product Safety Alerts
  • Conditions of Use
  • Privacy Notice
  • Your Ads Privacy Choices

Ivy.fm logo

The Creative Writer's Toolbelt

Copy link to clipboard

The Creative Writers Toolbelt gives practical accessible advice and encouragement to Creative writers. Each episode explores an aspect of creative writing technique, with examples, allowing you to apply what you learn immediately to your writing. We also throw in the occasional interview with writers and other artists, exploring their wisdom on subjects like story, style, character and the writing process

Andrew Chamberlain

  • Oct 14, 2022 LATEST EPISODE
  • monthly NEW EPISODES
  • 33m AVG DURATION
  • 188 EPISODES

Search for episodes from The Creative Writer's Toolbelt with a specific topic:

Latest episodes from the creative writer's toolbelt.

the creative writers toolbelt podcast

Do you know your dead salmon from your downpipe?

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Oct 14, 2022 35:03

Hello and welcome to one of my occasional episodes of the Creative Writers Toolbelt, this is episode 181, and I want to ask you a question - Do you know your dead salmon from your downpipe? If you know what these phrases mean, well done! But whether you do or don't, please do keep listening. In any event, I hope you found that title amusing, and that would be entirely appropriate as the subject of this episode is comedic writing, the subtle art of writing something funny. And to join me to explore this is my good friend the blogger, speak and author Ruth Leigh. Ruth is the author of the Issy Smugge series, the third installment of which is titled “The Continued Times of Isabella M Smugge.” Has just been released as of September 2022. If you’ve ever thought about comedic writing , or you’ve discovered just how difficult it is to do well, then this episode is for you – enjoy!

Getting the marketing basics right with Written Word Media's Clayton Noblit

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Aug 31, 2022 56:21

This episode is a conversation with Written Word Media's Senior Marketing Manager, Clayton Noblit. In this episode we talk about what basics an author needs to focus on, using our own email lists, Facebook pages, and social media, and web pages, we also talk about how Written Word Media can take away some of the pain that authors at every level of success will feel.

Episode 179: Escaping the submissions treadmill: could a service like Submitit be the way forward?

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Jul 20, 2022 59:25

Erik Harper Klass is the founder of Submitit, a company that directly addresses the stress and uncertainty of the submissions treadmill. Submitting your work, again and again, can be time-consuming and exhaustive, especially if you get more than enough rejection slips to cover the walls of your bathroom. Submitit is a company that takes on the job of reviewing the journals to which writers might submit their work and decides on the best places to make a submission. Submitit will select the journals to submit to, craft the submission, and even make some of the editorial improvements that might be required. Submitit takes the bad dating app reality of trying to find a journal for your work and replaces it with the wise and kindly matchmaker, finding the best match for your work, and approaching the right journals. if you are writing literary fiction or narrative non-fiction this kind of service might be helpful for you. Find out more at www.submititnow.com

Episode 178: Trust the process that gives you joy! With Jessie Kwak

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Jul 1, 2022 48:37

My guest for this episode is the non-fiction and science fiction writer Jessie Kwak. In this episode, we talk about the different writing processes that people use, how to choose the right one, and why some writers have found the pandemic such a difficult time. We discuss the importance of finding a writing process that brings us joy, how essential it is for us to know ourselves as writers, and when and how to hire the right professionals to help you with your writing. I had a great time talking to Jessie I hope you find the conversation useful to listen to, here it is.

Episode 177: The mind of the warrior. A conversation with Nick Narbutovskih of the US Air Force Special Operations Command

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Jun 3, 2022 46:15

Nick Narbutovskih grew up knowing that he wanted to be a pilot in the military, now Assistant Operations Officer Narbutovskih with Air Force Special Operations Command, and he now trains others who are going to be pilots in the US Air Force. On the day of our conversation, Nick was supposed to be able to talk to me from the comfort of his own home but the military being what it is he was required at the base that day so we conducted the conversation with Nick stepping out for a few minutes to his car, so I’m afraid the sound quality is a little off what I would normally hope to bring you. But this is a fascinating conversation, with some great insights for writers into the minds and characters of those in the military, there are some real gems here for anyone who wants to know how a military context would actually work, and how groups of soldiers, sailors, and airforce personnel think and behave with each other, both outside of and in combat situations. In this conversation, we talk about how the habits and disciplines of the military have helped Nick with his writing, the character traits and behaviors of people in the military, both in and out of combat situations, and why the reason people stay in the military might be different from the reason they joined. I hope you find this conversation helpful, here it is.

Episode 176: Making peace with the internet. Practical advice for your digital presence, with Jason Smith of Social Shapes

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later May 13, 2022 31:05

In this episode, my guest is the Digital Marketing expert Jason Smith. In this conversation, we talk about the essentials of setting up a web and managing social media accounts for your brand as a writer. We talk about the best platform to use to design a first website, the importance of design aesthetics, and what the author needs to use their website for. We also talk about social media, how to make it not scary, what the functions of social media engagement are, how to choose the right platforms, and what kind of content to put on it. This was a fascinating conversation, full of the kind of smart insights you need to get to grips with a website and social media as an author, I hope you enjoy it, here it is. If you are listening to this before September 2022 and you are a Christian author please join us for the British Christian Writers Conference, where you can hear Jason speaking and talk to him about your digital needs. We will be at Ridley Hall in Cambridge on Saturday 3rd September, join us for marketing tips, craft insights, and encouragement for you and your writing, just search for The British Christian Writing Conference online, or go to: https://www.tickettailor.com/events/storycraftpress/636912

176. Making peace with the internet. Practical advice for your digital presence, with Jason Smith of Social Shapes

Episode 175: a guest at the reader's table, with veteran publisher and literary agent tony collins.

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Apr 21, 2022 36:36

My guest for this episode is someone who has spent nearly 50 years in publishing. Tony Collins has worked for a number of publishing houses, owned three magazines, published an astonishing 1,400 books, and is now a literary agent. In this conversation, we talk about the lessons he’s learned in his career. We talk about the most common error that writers make when with their work, how the author must remember they are a guest at the reader's table, and there are many other things for readers to do. We talk about the essential power of narrative, why we can’t write in the way Dickens did, the place for anecdote in non-fiction, finding the right publisher, engaging well with them, and why it's essential for your book to get the title and your hook right. Tony speaks with decades of experience and there are some wonderful, fundamental insights here, I hope you find the conversation useful, here it is.

175 A guest at the reader's table, with veteran publisher and literary agent Tony Collins

Episode 174: writing your novel is part of your heart - with lynn hightower.

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Apr 3, 2022 55:28

Welcome to Ep 174, my guest for this episode is the writer and writing coach Lynn Hightower. Lynn writers thriller with a darkly paranormal twist. In this conversation, we discuss why we do need to tell as well as show, especially in terms of plot, why we need to hear the character’s voice in our head rather than try to pick and mix their traits and characteristics. We also talk about why clarity in your prose is so important, what do you do to keep the reader hooked, and why every writer needs to try to limit the number of desks they own! I had a wide-ranging conversation with Lynn, full of humour, insight, and craft advice – I hope you enjoy listening to it.

174. Writing your novel is part of your heart - with Lynn Hightower

Episode 173: make your reader feel smart, with jessica brody.

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Mar 26, 2022 48:15

Suppose you discovered that nearly all of the great stories written conform to a particular structure, a structure that would help to guide you in your writing and that, subconsciously at least, your readers are expecting to see in your work. This is the contention of my guest today, the writer and creative writing tutor, Jessica Brody. Jessica took the classic screenwriting text “Save the cat” and applied it to the process of writing a novel, producing the appropriately titled “Save the cat writes a novel”. In our conversation, Jessica and I explored the key beats in the 15 beat structure, why pacing is so important, how you create a problem, a want, and a need for your protagonist, and why it’s important to make your reader feel smart. This was a fun and informative conversation I hope you enjoy listening to it, here it is.

173. Make your reader feel smart, with Jessica Brody

Episode 172: immersed in the sensorium: how we can enjoy, and learn from poetry, with aaron poochigian..

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Mar 11, 2022 51:58

I have always believed that there are important lessons for prose writers to learn from poetry, and I also think we can always gain something from the joy and discipline of listening to good poetry. To test and prove this belief, in this episode, I am talking to the teacher, poet, and translator Aaron Poochigian. Aaron has a Ph.D. in Classics from the University of Minnesota and an MFA in Poetry from Columbia University. In this episode, we talk about the rise of the prose form over poetry, why anyone might write poetry, why poetry is like music and should be heard as music, how we can push out into the world with our work. We talk about good and bad ambiguity, what novelists can learn from poetry, including the use of rhythm, compression or the economy of language, and using the full range of senses in description and setting. This is an episode of those who love poetry or at least see its potential to teach us something for our craft, I hope you enjoy it, here it is.

172. Immersed in the sensorium: how we can enjoy, and learn from poetry, with Aaron Poochigian.

Episode 171: the layers of character with h. claire taylor.

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Feb 18, 2022 52:39

Welcome to episode 171 of the Creative Writers Toolbelt. My guest today is the author, writing consultant, and presenter Claire Taylor. Claire will be known to many of you as one-half of the team at the Sell More Books Show with her co-presenter, Bryan Cohen. In this episode we talk about what narrative cohesion is and why it matters, the way in which characters operate on a physical, emotional, and philosophical level, and how to use, (and how not to use) tropes, this was a really fun conversation I enjoyed talking to Claire, I hope you enjoy listening to it, here it is.

171. The layers of character with H. Claire Taylor

Episode 170: be the hero of your own story, with donna lichaw.

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Jan 31, 2022 42:16

Those of you who have read the book that accompanies this podcast will know that, in my opinion, one of the best explanations and representations of the way story works comes from the executive coach, speaker, and author Donna Lichaw. Donna is not a creative writing professor, nor is she a best-selling fiction author. She comes from the world of tech, she knows about leadership development, product development, user experience, and how companies can create excellent products for their customers, and she knows how story is bound up with all of this. I’ve been meaning to talk to Donna for years now. I wish we’d had three hours to really unpack this stuff, but we had 40 minutes and so we made the most of that, and so in this episode, Donna talks to us about how classic story structure is still a powerful tool for understanding how humans communicate with each other and have done since the dawn of civilisation; we discuss how this concept applies to the art of showing and telling, and how the most important story for us to work out as writers is our own story, the most important story for each of us is the one in which we are the hero, and if we can understand that story, we can better unlock the power of all the other stories we want to tell. I had a great time talking to Donna, I hope you enjoy listening to our conversation, here it is.

Episode 169: Creating stories that work: content and structure

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Jan 13, 2022 23:37

Welcome to episode 169 of the Creative Writer’s Toolbelt. In the next few episodes, I am going to be exploring the fundamentals of story structure. We’re going to look at different perspectives on story and story structure with the help of a number of guests and I am looking forward to hearing what they have to say and sharing those insights with you. By way of an introduction, in this episode I want to ask a deceptively simple question, and it’s this: what does a really good story look like? And I am going to try to answer this question by first exploring what I mean by the word “story” and then looking at what the content of a good story should be, and what structures we could use to present that story in the best possible way.

Episode 168. Passion Focus and Discipline with Dave Chesson

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Dec 23, 2021 44:29

Welcome to Ep 168 of the Creative Writer’s Toolbelt podcast. My guest for this episode is Dave Chesson. Dave is an author, entrepreneur and something of a famous name in the self-publishing scene. For many years he has been creating free courses and articles as well as applications that help writers to publish and promote their work, applications like publisher rocket and the newly arrived Atticus, which combines editing, sharing, and formatting functionality. I have been using Dave’s publishing tools for a number of years and I was particularly interested in finding out how Atticus might work and how it can help authors, and while we did talk about this Dave also had some wisdom for the attitude, disciplines, and focus that we need to succeed as writers, here’s our conversation.

Episode 167. Building your authority as a writer, with Bryan Collins

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Dec 16, 2021 28:30

Welcome to episode 167 of the Creative Writer’s Toolbelt podcast. My guest for this episode is the writer, journalist and blogger Bryan Collins. Bryan has written for Forbes, the Huffington Post, and Fast Company. He has published 16 books on creativity, non-fiction, and being a productive writer. Bryan loves stories and is especially interested in how the power of story can be applied to non-fiction. In this episode, we talk about how telling a story is much more powerful than talking about features when it comes to persuading people to buy a product or a concept, we also talk about how you can build your authority as a writer, and the power of owning your own work and your own space online. We also talk about some of the tools that we writers can use to improve their productivity and help us present our work to the world. Bryan and I had a good chat that helped me to think about how and where I can use stories in my work, and what tools and services I can use to help me do this, I hope it’s useful for you, here it is.

Episode 166 From Aristotle to Hollywood with Susan Isaacs

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Oct 30, 2021 46:21

Welcome to episode 166 of the creative writer’s toolbelt podcast. My guest for this episode is the actor and writer and Lutheran Susan Isaacs. Susan has worked in TV, and got a Masters degree in screen writing. She moved to New York, and worked in comedy there before moving back to California to be close to her mother, who had dementia. She turned some of the most difficult times of her life into a one-woman stage show and that led to a publishing deal. She is now Professor of Screenwriting at Dodge College of Film and Media Arts. In our conversation we talk about the fact that successful stories need a compelling character, who is relatable but also wounded, and who has a desire or goal. We discuss how story structure goes back to Aristotle, and has been worked out by great storytellers have worked with and worked out this structure since then, from Shakespeare to Tolkien, from St Augustine to Margaret Mitchell. We discuss the fact that great stories have an internal and an external journey for the main characters and how this works within the three-act structure, and how stories live in specificity. We talk about how script writing is the same as the novel but also different in terms of structure, we discuss active verbs, and reflect on how our stories are never going to be as horrible, or wonderful, as we think they are. I learnt a lot from my conversation with Susan, I hope you find it an enjoyable and informative listen.

Episode 165. Flightpath to publication with James Blatch

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Oct 17, 2021 61:42

Welcome to episode 165 of the Creative Writer’s Toolbelt My guest for this episode is the author, James Blatch. Some of you will know James as one half of the team who present the hugely popular Self Publishing Show with Mark Dawson. James is a former radio and television journalist, he has worked for the BBFC, the British Board of Film Classification, so the organisation here in the UK the UK that decides what certificate a film gets. James’ family has a long relationship with the Royal Air Force, his father was a test pilot with the RAF and James has a passion for the planes, which he has carried over into the subject of his first novel, called The Final Flight, which is set on an RAF base in the 1960’s. In this episode we talk about respecting the material you are working with in your novel, the challenge of marketing your first book, and the importance of building an email list. I would also say, I am aware that not all of you listening to this want to self-publish your work, you want to get a traditional publishing contract and that’s a good aim to have, but I would suggest that all of the writing advice and a good part of the marketing advice you here in this episode and on the Creative Writer’s Toolbelt Podcast generally is useful and applicable to you. Even if you do get a traditional publishing contract, and congratulations if you do, you should still be thinking about how you can market your books and your brand, and in particular as it applies to this episode, how important it is for you to build your own email list, however you are published. I had a great conversation with James, I hope you enjoy it and find it useful, here it is

Episode 164. A citizen of two worlds. Juggling writing and life with Sam Mills and Michael J. Harvey

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Oct 1, 2021 41:02

The American writers Joyce Carol Oates famously said: “The biggest obstacle for writers is distraction from other people." And it’s substantially true. But those who say we should exclude these distracting people are offering a solution that is both naïve and selfish, and doesn’t really allow for the reality of our lives. In truth, it’s usually the people that we love who are the most distracting, and we choose to continue to love them and engage with them rather than cut ourselves off from them; our partner, our children, family members, close friends, maybe even vulnerable people to whom we have made some kind of commitment. We have to find a way of acknowledging our responsibilities to those who we have a commitment to, whilst still finding the time and energy to write, and to achieve this balance is an essential skill for the writers life. To help us explore this issue, and to offer practical steps to help us all with this tight rope act, I am joined by two writers, Sam Mills and Michael J Harvey. Sam Mills studied English Language and Literature at Oxford University, and worked as a journalist and publicist before giving it all up to write full time. She has published seven books, the latest of which is “The Fragments of My Father” which explores her personal story of becoming a carer to her father, who has schizophrenia. Michael J. Harvey is a fantasy novelist with degrees in History from the Universities of Leicester and Cambridge. He is a blogger, writer and traveller, and also a husband and father to two young children. Both of my guests have had to learn to create and manage time for their writing, this is their story.

Episode 163. Getting in touch with our own inner champion - with Cami Ostman

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Sep 17, 2021 56:29

So much of how we engage with our writing is bound up with the disciplines, good and bad, we apply to ourselves, and how we feel about ourselves as writers. In this episode I tackle these issues, together with the thorny subject of dealing with our own inner critic, with speaker writer and marathon runner, Cami Ostman.

Episode 162. Keep the faith! With Sarah Moorhead

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Sep 3, 2021 55:53

Yes! The Creative Writer’s Toolbelt is back after a hiatus of about 18 months and it’s a delight to talking to you again. If you haven't subscribed you can do so at: https://the-creative-writers-toolbelt.castos.com/ My guest for this first episode of the relaunched podcast is the author and teacher Sarah Moorhead. Sarah is every inch the the scouser that she sounds, she's funny and honest and determined, all qualities that I think we need to have in big quantities as writers. In our conversation we talk about keeping the faith in our stories and our voice, asking ourselves the question: who are you as a writer? And nurturing the determination to see a writing project through to the end. I had a great time talking to Sarah, I hope you will enjoy listening to our conversation, here it is.

Announcement: The Creative Writer's Toolbelt will return on Friday 3rd September 2021

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Aug 6, 2021 6:31

Hi and welcome to this brief message about the Creative Writer’s Toolbelt podcast. I have news! The Creative Writer’s Toolbelt is relaunching on Friday 3rd September. To catch all the new episodes you can subscribe to the podcast here: https://the-creative-writers-toolbelt.castos.com/ After a hiatus of about 18 months I am restarting the podcast. The core mission of the podcast wont be changing. Like you, I love writing and The Creative Writer’s Toolbelt will continue in its purpose of helping you and me to become better writers and produce great work.

Episode 161 Writing your memoir

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Apr 22, 2020 47:38

Has the Covid-19 virus forced you into being at home with time on your hands? Could now be the time to start that memoir project you've been meaning to get around to for so long? If so, this is the episode for you. My guest for this episode is the journalist, editor, commissioning editor and speaker Ali Hull. Ali is the Deputy Editor of Sorted magazine, and a freelance commissioning editor, who has worked with at least a hundred authors on their books, many of which were memoirs. She has also co-authored a book on grief, and written many press releases, features, interviews and reviews. Since 2003, she has spoken on numerous writing courses, around the UK and in Ireland.

Episode 160 Lockdown for writers

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Apr 2, 2020 63:18

Yes I'm back! I want to do two or three more episodes before I finish, to address the extraordinary times we are living in, and in this episode I am talking to two writer / entrepreneurs, Wendy H Jones and Abidemi Sanusi about how writers can survive and thrive in Lockdown. We discuss motivation, routine, self-care for writers, and just getting started.

Episode 159 Thank you for listening, and goodbye

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Mar 14, 2020 5:31

Sadly, this is the last episode of the podcast, at least for now. From the end of March I am putting The Creative Writer's Toolbelt on hiatus. Listen to this episode for my explanation of why I am finishing (nothing sinister!) and news about a possible writer's event that I'd like to host at some point in the future somewhere in the UK.

Episode 158 Take the advice that works for you. A conversation with freelance editor Ellen Brock

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Mar 4, 2020 59:06

This episode features one of my favourite guests, an editor who manages to combine a formidable expertise with a friendly and accessible manner, you'll most likely know her from her YouTube channel, but she also featured in a two part episode on the podcast in 2018, it's the wonderful Ellen Brock. In this conversation Ellen gives us some recommended reading for mastering the structure of story, provides some insights on how to manage point of view in close third person, and also gives us some great advice on what advice we should actually use and what we should discard.

Episode 157 - Keep your eyes on your own paper! Maintaining your balance as an author - with Barbara Poelle

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Feb 15, 2020 55:19

This episode is a conversation with Barbara Poelle, agent with the Irene Goodman Literary Agency. We talk about the importance of having good critique partners, how to approach an agent at a conference, and that old favourite – showing not telling. Enjoy!

Episode 156 - Observing your characters with compassion. A conversation with Abbigail N. Rosewood

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Feb 7, 2020 59:01

This episode is a conversation with the Vietnamese born writer, Abbigail N. Rosewood, about her first novel 'If I had two lives'. In this conversation we talk about withholding judgement to maintain the story, how to use sensory information to introduce a character, how honesty can lead to empathy, and what it means to be understood as a writer.

Episode 155 Dana Kaye saves the day! Branding Marketing and a Crisis Consultation if you need it. With branding and marketing expert Dana Kaye

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Jan 16, 2020 80:26

Writing is hard, branding and marketing can be even harder! So I was delighted to have the chance to talk to branding and marketing expert Dana Kaye. Dana works with authors to develop a coherent authentic brand, and effective and innovating marketing initiatives.

Episode 154 - From perseverance to publication. A conversation with writer and speaker Joan E Histon

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Jan 10, 2020 39:43

This episode features a friend of mine who has worked hard to overcome the issues so many of us writers face. Joan Histon is a writer, a speaker, and a spiritual director. She has faced the kinds of challenges and obstacles that you and I have faced with our writing, and yet she overcome these, and has now published a number of books, both fiction and non-fiction, and she has a three-book publishing deal. How did she get there? How did she power through to the success she has now had? I invite you to continue listening to find out.

Episode 153 Kandy Kingdom's Most Wanted! A conversation with Greg Millman

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Dec 20, 2019 39:01

This episode is a conversation with Hollywood script writer, ad exec, and YA author Gregg Millman. Gregg has been on the writing teams for documentaries, films and TV series, and more recently has worked with a number of global brands across a range of media and platforms.In this episode we talk about the process by which TV drama's get written, how advertising works, and the power of editing. We also talk about the changing nature of YA writing, the importance of the book cover, and how complementary characters can enhance the story.

Episode 152 - From the page to the stage with Tony Award winning Broadway producer Ken Davenport

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Dec 5, 2019 32:07

Have you ever wanted to write for the theatre but haven't had the incentive or help to get do it? Have you ever wondered what makes a Broadway producer decide to bring a show to the bright lights and the big stage? Well you are about to find out because this episode is a conversation with Tony award winning Broadway producer Ken Davenport. Ken shares his insights for writing and launching your work.

Episode 151 - Do it without having to prove you're good! Encouragement for the writer's life with Cynthia Morris

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Nov 29, 2019 70:04

This episode can be summed up with a single, wonderful word: encouragement! My guest is the author, artist, and coach Cynthia Morris, and in this episode we discuss the fears writer's feel, the need to be kind to ourselves, and how we should sneak up on ourselves to write something great.

Episode 150 - 'Trust the truth; trust your writing.' A conversation with the Pope's Astronomer Brother Guy Consolmagno

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Nov 16, 2019 38:42

Do you trust your work? Do you trust yourself enough to let your work go wherever it wants to go, to be authentic? That's one of the questions, and challenges I explore with my guest in this episode of the podcast. His name is Brother Guy Consolmagno, and he is a Jesuit Brother and also an MIT trained research astronomer and he is currently the Director of the Vatican Observatory, making him in colloquial terms, the Pope's Astronomer.

Episode 149 Cops and Writers! Tips for authoring your police procedural with Wendy H Jones and Sergeant Patrick O'Donnell

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Nov 2, 2019 84:10

One of the most popular genres for fiction writers is the murder mystery or police procedural. But this is also a genre where writers can easily get things wrong. In this episode I'm joined by crime writer Wendy H Jones and we speak to Patrick O'Donnell, a serving officer with 25 years of experience in a large city police department in the US. In this conversation we cover: responding to a homicide, the arrest and court process, hostage situations, and what writers usually get wrong with police work.

Episode 148 - More than Pandas! The renaissance in Chinese Science Fiction and what it means for readers and writers in the West

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Sep 28, 2019 54:27

This is a special episode examining the rise in the popularity and influence of Chinese Science Fiction. In the last twenty years, Chinese Sci Fi has flourished across a range of media, spurred by successes like Liu Cixin's Hugo Award-winning novel The Three-Body Problem, and this year's Chinese funded and created movie The Wandering Earth. In this episode I talk to two writers: Chen Qiufan and Peng Simeng, and an editor, Gabrielle Wei of Science Fiction World, all based in China, to discuss the issues that are important to Chinese writers and to find out what opportunities writers from the West might have in this newly emerging market.

Episode 147 - Perseverance branding and podcasting for writers with Sarah Werner

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Sep 28, 2019 42:43

My guest for this episode is my friend Sarah Werner. Sarah is a creator, producer, and encourager of fellow creatives. She is also the host of the 'Write Now' and 'Girl In Space' podcasts. Sarah always manages to combine warmth and wisdom in what she says, and in this conversation she shares insights and practical tips for developing perseverance and resilience as a creative, developing a brand for ourselves and our work, and the why and how of creating your own podcast as a writer.

Episode 146 - A request to hear about YOUR writing challenges and it's time for a story!

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Sep 18, 2019 22:09

This episode starts with a request. Tell me your writing challenges! What are the technical craft problems you're facing? Give me the challenge of research and presenting a solution for you and all of us here on the podcast. Also, it's story time. Sit back and listen to the original, unpublished opening chapter to 'The Centauri Survivors' my recently published novel.

Episode 145: Own it! How to take charge of your own destiny as a writer with Abidemi Sanusi

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Sep 10, 2019 64:32

My guest for this episode is Abidemi Sanusi. Abidemi is a Nigerian born former human rights worker turned author, and has been writing and publishing books across multiple genres for fifteen years. Her novel, Eyo, about a 10 year old girl trafficked to the UK with promises of a better life, was nominated for the Commonwealth Writers' Prize. She's also the founder of abidemi.tv, the website for ambitious writers', and she provides business success templates for freelance writers. A self-confessed tech geek, she is also the founder of writethemes.com - gorgeous Wordpress themes for writers that turn their Wordpress website visitors into paying fans.

Episode 144 What writers can learn from 'Emeralds of Oz'. A conversation with Peter Guzzardi

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Aug 24, 2019 53:54

My guest for this episode has spent over 40 years in the publishing business, editing everyone from Professor Stephen Hawking to Douglas Adams. And now it's his turn to write a book rather than edit one, and so Peter has written "Emeralds of Oz: Life Lessons from Over the Rainbow" a look at the wisdom we can glean from one of the greatest films ever made, which went out on general release on this date 25th August, exactly 80 years ago.

Episode 143 Disrupted! How self-publishing became the most significant thing to happen to the publishing business for centuries - with Orna Ross

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Aug 16, 2019 19:10

This episode is the second part of my conversation with Orna Ross: poet, author and founder and Director of the Alliance of Independent Authors (ALLi). Here Orna and I discuss the amazing impact of self-publishing, the rise of the indie author, the priorities for indie authors, the challenges that they face, and how they can benefit from being part of ALLi, the largest global non-profit organisation for independent authors.

Episode 142 The renaissance in poetry: new opportunities in poetic expression with Orna Ross

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Aug 13, 2019 19:54

The combination of new social media platforms and the rise of opportunities for self publishing has led to an amazing renaissance in poetry and poetic expression, both digitally and on the page. This is truly an exciting time for poets, and there are lots of new opportunities for poetic expression opening up. In this episode I talk to award winning author, poet, and founder and director of the Alliance of Independent Authors, Orna Ross about her work and the ways in which new and established poets can take advantage of the resources that are available.

Episode 141 So why did it take you 10 years to write this book? And other awkward questions for writers

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Aug 1, 2019 28:32

This episode features a conversation with me about my book "The Centauri Survivors" which is published today, and explores some of the lessons any author can learn as publication day approaches. I'm the guest for this one and the questions are being asked by my friend Wendy H. Jones. In this episode we explore issues like: the biggest mistakes I made along the way, the difficult decisions I had to make in editing, and why every author, however experienced they are, gets nervous just before publication.

Episode 140 How to work with your development editor. With Amanda Rutter and examples from The Centauri Survivors

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Jul 27, 2019 57:03

Writers are becoming more convinced of the need to use professionals to help them with their work, and one of the essential members of the team is the Development Editor. But what do Development Editors do and how can they add value? In this episode I talk to my development editor Amanda Rutter who worked with me on my book The Centauri Survivors. We explore how writers should approach this stage of the edit, and how to get the best out of the relationship with your Development Editor.

Episode 139 When characters go rogue.

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Jul 13, 2019 13:20

This episode is a response to an issue I've been discussing with a listener. We talked about characters who seem to take over the story, who depart from the script and, as the title of this podcast suggests, go rogue. In this episode we look at what a rogue character is, why characters go rogue and what you can do about it.

Episode 138 "The smell of saffron; the shadow of war". Writing and publishing out of a non-Western background with Dr Pamela Fernandes

Play Episode It's free! create a profile !"> Listen Later Jul 1, 2019 54:39

Pamela Fernandes is a writer and doctor. She escaped the first Gulf War with her family, fleeing to India. Since then she has lived in Asia, the US, and the Middle East and writes both fiction and non-fiction, drawing on her personal and professional experience. In this episode we discuss the challenges of writing in less popular genres, how to capture and keep your reader, and never giving up on a project.

Claim The Creative Writer's Toolbelt

In order to claim this podcast we'll send an email to with a verification link. Simply click the link and you will be able to edit tags, request a refresh, and other features to take control of your podcast page!

On the way!

An email is on the way to from [email protected] with a verification link. Simply click the link and you will be able to edit tags, request a refresh, and other features to take control of your podcast page!

Ivy.fm logo

© 2020-2024 Ivy Podcast Discovery LLC

About Ivy | Privacy Policy | Contact | Submit a podcast

Ivy Podcasts on the Apple App Store

All Chapters

the creative writers toolbelt podcast

Writing Lessons Episode 1: Characterization Featuring David Arnold

the creative writers toolbelt podcast

Kentucky Poet Laureate Silas House visits with bestselling writer David Arnold to talk about creating vivid characterizations in the premiere episode of “Writing Lessons”, a podcast that explores the foundations of creative writing.

Dive into the captivating world of mystery, romance, and Gothic intrigue with C.L. Monaghan on TheWritersLathe! Join this literary journey as she unravels the threads of her creative process and shares the alchemy behind her bestselling novels.

The Writer's Lathe C.L. Monaghan

  • JAN 28, 2024

Ep1 -Intro to Gothic Mystery- The Bare Bones

Join C.L. Monaghan as she welcomes listeners to her first podcast and introduces the bare bones of Gothic mystery giving listeners a taste of podcasts to come!

Top Podcasts In Arts

2018 Primetime Emmy & James Beard Award Winner

R&K Insider

Join our newsletter to get exclusives on where our correspondents travel, what they eat, where they stay. Free to sign up.

A History of Moscow in 13 Dishes

Featured city guides.

the creative writers toolbelt podcast

  • Finance & Development
  • Guest Experience
  • Back of the House

LODGING Magazine

  • Buyers Guide
  • Whitepapers
  • Sponsored Content
  • Owner Series
  • Women in Lodging
  • Digital Edition

LODGING Magazine

RELATED ARTICLES

Beyond the tv: hotel in-room entertainment and tech amenities have evolved, tempo by hilton nashville downtown opens, the ritz-carlton dallas, las colinas undergoes renovation, ahla releases statement for bill protecting trafficking victims, costar: u.s. hotel performance increases yet comparisons remain mixed, set up for sales success: best practices to make the most of the return of group business.

ABOUT US LODGING is the Official Publication of the American Hotel & Lodging Association (AHLA)

IMAGES

  1. The Creative Writer’s Toolbelt Podcast

    the creative writers toolbelt podcast

  2. Recommended Resource: The Creative Writer's Toolbelt (Handbook)

    the creative writers toolbelt podcast

  3. The Creative Writer's Toolbelt Handbook in 60 seconds

    the creative writers toolbelt podcast

  4. Five Tips for Creative Writers

    the creative writers toolbelt podcast

  5. My Interview on The Creative Writer's Toolbelt Podcast

    the creative writers toolbelt podcast

  6. The Creative Writer’s Toolbelt Podcast

    the creative writers toolbelt podcast

VIDEO

  1. writers NEED to listen to this to be productive😲 #writer #writing #writersofinstagram

  2. creative writers bi monthly e magazine certificate

  3. creative writers Bi monthly e magazine January 2024 issue 10

  4. creative writers Topics for the month of September 2023

  5. Regular writers, Reviewers of creative writers and sponsors

  6. 21 January 2024 poem what is your choice behind bars food or key creative writers ‎@brinda

COMMENTS

  1. The Creative Writer's Toolbelt

    The Creative Writers Toolbelt gives practical accessible advice and encouragement to Creative writers. Each episode explores an aspect of creative writing technique, with examples, allowing you to apply what you learn immediately to your writing. ...more Apple Podcasts Spotify RSS More Latest Episodes 181 October 14, 2022 • 00:35:03

  2. ‎The Creative Writer's Toolbelt on Apple Podcasts

    The Creative Writers Toolbelt gives practical accessible advice and encouragement to Creative writers. Each episode explores an aspect of creative writing technique, with examples, allowing you to apply what you learn immediately to your writing.

  3. The Creative Writer's Toolbelt

    The Creative Writers Toolbelt gives practical accessible advice and encouragement to Creative writers. Each episode explores an aspect of creative writing technique, with examples, allowing you to apply what you learn immediately to your writing.

  4. The Creative Writer's Toolbelt

    The Creative Writers Toolbelt gives practical accessible advice and encouragement to Creative writers. Each episode explores an aspect of creative writing technique, with examples, allowing you to apply what you learn immediately to your writing. We also throw in the occasional interview with writers and other artists, exploring their wisdom on subjects like story, style, character and the ...

  5. Google Podcasts

    The Creative Writers Toolbelt gives practical accessible advice and encouragement to Creative writers. Each episode explores an aspect of creative writing technique, with examples,...

  6. The Creative Writer's Toolbelt

    The Creative Writers Toolbelt gives practical accessible advice and encouragement to Creative writers. Each episode explores an aspect of creative writing technique, with examples, allowing you to apply what you learn immediately to your writing. We also throw in the occasional interview with writers and other artists, exploring their wisdom on subjects like story, style, character and the ...

  7. The Creative Writer's Toolbelt

    The Creative Writer's Toolbelt podcast on demand - The Creative Writers Toolbelt gives practical accessible advice and encouragement to Creative writers. Each episode explores an aspect of creative writing technique, with examples, allowing you to apply what you learn immediately to your writing. We...

  8. The Creative Writer's Toolbelt

    Andrew Chamberlain 303 episodes Guest Derek Künsken 3 episodes Guest Adrian Tchaikovsky 3 episodes Guest Becky Chambers 1 episode Guest Nancy Kress 2 episodes Recent Episodes Do you know your dead salmon from your downpipe? Oct 14th, 2022 Getting the marketing basics right with Written Word Media's Clayton Noblit Aug 31st, 2022

  9. The Creative Writer's Toolbelt Podcast

    The Creative Writers Toolbelt gives practical accessible advice and encouragement to Creative writers.Each episode explores an aspect of creative writing technique, with examples, allowing you to apply what you learn immediately to your writing. Listen now Ratings & Reviews 4.6 stars from 122 ratings Recent Episodes See all »

  10. The Creative Writer's Toolbelt

    Podcast by Andrew J Chamberlain. The Creative Writers Toolbelt gives practical accessible advice and encouragement to Creative writers. Each episode explores an aspect of creative writing technique, with examples, allowing you to apply what you learn immediately to your writing. We also throw in the occasional intervie

  11. The Creative Writer's Toolbelt (podcast)

    The Creative Writers Toolbelt gives practical accessible advice and encouragement to Creative writers. Each episode explores an aspect of creative writing tech…

  12. The Creative Writer's Toolbelt podcast

    The Creative Writers Toolbelt gives practical accessible advice and encouragement to Creative writers. Each episode explores an aspect of creative writing technique, with examples, allowing you to apply what you learn immediately to your writing.

  13. ‎The Creative Writer's Toolbelt on Apple Podcasts

    ‎The Creative Writers Toolbelt gives practical accessible advice and encouragement to Creative writers. Each episode explores an aspect of creative writing technique, with examples, allowing you to apply what you learn immediately to your writing. We also throw in the occasional interview with writer…

  14. 25 best podcasts for creative writers and aspiring authors

    19. The Creative Penn Podcast for Writers. As one of the most long-standing podcasts on this list, The Creative Penn is a real tried-and-tested resource for indie writers carving their own path ...

  15. The Best Writing Podcasts to Foster Creativity in 2024

    The Creative Writer's Toolbelt. via Creative Writer's Toolbelt. Andrew J. Chamberlain hosts The Creative Writer's Toolbelt, offering practical, tangible advice to writers looking to hone their craft. Although he hasn't released a new episode since October 2022, the nearly 200 earlier episodes are full of helpful knowledge and tips for ...

  16. Recommended Resource: The Creative Writer's Toolbelt (Handbook)

    The Creative Writer's Toolbelt Podcast. Chamberlain is from England and so has a lovely accent to my American ears. He's also a clear speaker with an excellent pace. The podcast episodes themselves are divided into two types. The first type is shorter episodes (around 15-20 minutes) discussing an aspect of writing craft. Chamberlain lays these ...

  17. The Creative Writer's Toolbelt Handbook: Everything you need to be a

    The Creative Writer's Toolbelt Handbook: Everything you need to be a better writer and produce great work: Chamberlain, Andrew J: 9781976168406: Amazon.com: Books Books › Reference › Writing, Research & Publishing Guides Enjoy fast, FREE delivery, exclusive deals and award-winning movies & TV shows with Prime

  18. The Creative Writer's Toolbelt

    Podcast by Andrew Chamberlain. The Creative Writers Toolbelt gives practical accessible advice and encouragement to Creative writers. Each episode explores an aspect of creative writing technique, with examples, allowing you to apply what you learn immediately to your writing. We also throw in the occasional interview

  19. Writing Lessons Episode 1: Characterization Featuring David Arnold

    Kentucky Poet Laureate Silas House visits with bestselling writer David Arnold to talk about creating vivid characterizations in the premiere episode of "Writing Lessons", a podcast that explores the foundations of creative writing.

  20. ‎The Writer's Lathe on Apple Podcasts

    Join this literary journey as she unravels the threads of her creative process and shares the alchemy behind her bestselling novels. The Writer's Lathe C.L. Monaghan ... Join C.L. Monaghan as she welcomes listeners to her first podcast and introduces the bare bones of Gothic mystery giving listeners a taste of podcasts to come!

  21. 21 Things to Know Before You Go to Moscow

    1: Off-kilter genius at Delicatessen: Brain pâté with kefir butter and young radishes served mezze-style, and the caviar and tartare pizza. Head for Food City. You might think that calling Food City (Фуд Сити), an agriculture depot on the outskirts of Moscow, a "city" would be some kind of hyperbole. It is not.

  22. Moscow Hotels. The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow

    The Ritz-Carlton, Moscow offers comfortable accommodation in 334 guestrooms and suites of different categories. Every guestroom is equipped with Frette linens and the Ritz-Carlton signature featherbeds, electronic fingertip panels for controlling lighting and curtains, fully stocked honor bar, CD/DVD player, high-speed Internet access, computer and fax hook-up and data-port, multi-line ...

  23. Mobile Phones & Accessories in Moscow

    Euroset Wide retail chain for mobile phones and accessories, cell communication contracts with authorization to receive subscribers payments. Phone: +7 (495) 771-7312

  24. Accor Opens Novotel Moscow City

    MOSCOW—Accor announced the opening of the Novotel Moscow City, its 5th hotel in Moscow and its 16th in Russia. The hotel is a co-project with Tashir, a