• A+ Resumes for Teachers
  • Resume Samples
  • Prices & Services
  • Email: Candace Alstad-Davies
  • Toll Free: 1-877-738-8052
  • Local/Int’l: 780-513-0010

About Candace Alstad-Davies

  • Resume / Curriculum Vitae Help
  • Application / Cover Letter Help
  • Job Interview Questions & Answers
  • Job Interview Preparation
  • Social Networking & Job Search
  • Education Job Search Tips
  • Philosophy of Education Statement Help
  • Career Changes to/from Education
  • Career Development / Educational Skills
  • International / Overseas Teaching
  • ESL English as a Second Language
  • Classroom Management Strategies
  • Personal Development
  • Higher Education Career Tips
  • School Principal / Administrators Job Search Help

12 Excerpts from Sample Application Letters for Teacher Positions

12 excerpts from sample application letters for teacher positions

How to write a cover letter, a.k.a. letter of application for a teacher, and convince the reader to move on to your resume, ultimately landing a job interview. To help you, I’ve assembled hard-hitting excerpts from application letters for teaching positions.

Use your academic cover letter to introduce yourself as a professional educator, highlight your hands-on teaching experience, demonstrate your talents and skills, and portray your unwavering commitment to education. These various teacher application letters’ selections include individuals focusing on elementary education, special education, substitute teaching, and school administration.

A cover letter for a teaching position should be designed and written to showcase your greatest strengths as an educator. Display concrete examples of how you have actively engaged students, implemented creative lesson plans, and differentiated instruction.

Below you will find excerpts from the various sections that make up the sample application letters for teacher positions: introduction, body, and conclusion (or concluding paragraph). Remember that your letter’s structure is important: it should contain an introductory paragraph, one or two body paragraphs, and a concluding paragraph.

Sample Applicant Letters – Three Introduction Paragraphs

  • It is with great pleasure to present my resume to you for a Special Education Teacher position with ABC School District. I have earned a Bachelor of Education in Elementary Education and Florida Teaching Certification. As a hardworking and dedicated teaching professional, I am confident in my ability to become a valuable member of your academic team.
  • I am excited to present my well-rounded resume to you for the position of Elementary School Teacher. With a Master’s Degree in Education and 12 years of teaching expertise, I am confident in my ability to be an asset to your exceptional teaching team.
  • With over ten years of hands-on teaching experience in the classroom, a Master of Art in Teaching Degree, and an Administrative Credential, I am eager to transition into Assistant Principal’s leadership role . My enclosed resume will demonstrate my commitment to education, excellent leadership skills, and my passion for academics.

Six Examples of Sentences in an Application Letter Body for a Teaching Position

  • The enclosed resume will highlight my career accomplishments and showcase my expertise in education. I have had the opportunity to instruct a diverse student population, including those with ADD/ADHD, autism, developmental delays, learning disabilities, non-compliant behavior, and physical challenges. As a result, I possess the ability to remain calm, patient, and persistent. I administer frequent assessments, communicate regularly with parents, and adapt instructional techniques to facilitate students’ changing goals and needs.
  • Being a versatile educator, I have had the wonderful opportunity to teach an academically and socially diverse group of children from grades one to five. I have developed excellent communication, interpersonal, organization, and problem-solving skills, which enable me to teach any elementary grade level effectively. I have proven my ability to adapt quickly to a changing student population while maintaining a well-behaved and focused learning environment.
  • My teaching style is very flexible and student-focused. I take the time to get to know my students as individuals, which allows me to tailor my instruction according to their unique learning goals. I design adaptable lesson plans, exciting hands-on activities, and engaging thematic units to spark students’ interest, attention, and imagination.
  • I facilitate student learning by developing innovative lessons that students can find relatable, understandable, and memorable. I utilize strategies centered on the latest research-based instruction to incorporate engaging activities effectively and relevant materials that capture my students’ interest.
  • By integrating exciting technology, meaningful manipulatives, and cooperative learning projects, I have provided students with a well-balanced educational experience, which promoted academic, social, cognitive, and physical development.
  • My greatest strength as an educator is my capability to engage the class actively. By incorporating up-to-date technology, appropriate literature, and meaningful thematic units, I can effectively facilitate all learners’ types and levels while sparking their interest in education.

Three Examples of a Conclusion Found in Sample Application Letters for Teacher Postings

  • Being a very innovative and dedicated educator, I welcome the opportunity to meet with you to discuss how my extensive experience and skills will benefit your academic program. Thank you for your time and consideration, and I look forward to hearing from you soon.
  • As a collaborative and student-focused teacher, I welcome the chance to discuss how my expertise, skillset, and passion will be of value to your academic program. Thank you for your time and attention, and I look forward to speaking with you soon.
  • I am a resourceful, dedicated, and determined instructor who is willing to lead extracurricular activities. As such, I am confident you will find me to be a valuable member of your team. I can be reached by either telephone or email and welcome the opportunity to speak with you further.

With these examples, you will now have a great starting point from developing your academic application letter or cover letter. Use these example sentences to help you write a compelling letter that will get school districts’ attention.

Below you can view an application letter sample for an Education Consultant. It will provide you with a full version of how the letter should be written and formatted.  

education consultant application letter sample

Whether you are writing a new teacher resume or an educational leadership resume , make sure the font and design match the application letter.

Do you need assistance with writing your academic resume or application letter?

As a professional resume writer who earned dual certification in resume writing, I know what it takes to grab potential schools’ attention.

When it comes to your future educational career, seeking out a career coach’s help is always a great idea.

We can help you with your teacher cover letter, resume, LinkedIn profile, interviewing skills, and numerous other services . Find out more about Candace Alstad – Davies .

Feel free to contact me  or call 1-877-738-8052 to speak to me directly.

Next post: How to Discover Your Education Accomplishments to Write a Credible Resume

Previous post: 5 Ways an Application Letter for a Teacher Can Communicate Passion

Sign-up to receive free career tips and strategies

Search our site.

Popular Posts

10 School Administrator Interview Questions and Answers

Candace Alstad-Davies    |    Email: [email protected]

Fax: 775-593-3556    |    Toll Free: 1-877-738-8052    |    Local/Int’l: 780-513-0010

Prices & Services    |    Free Newsletter    |    Privacy Policy    |    About Us    |    Contact

© A+ Resumes for Teachers   2001 – 2023

Privacy Overview

  • Grades 6-12
  • School Leaders

Black History Month for Kids: Google Slides, Resources, and More!

These Teacher Cover Letter Examples Will Help You Land Your Next Role

Your guide to a killer cover letter that will get you that interview.

Teacher Cover Letter Examples

Whether you are sending out resumes hoping to land your first teaching job or looking to shift to a new school or district, one fact remains the same: All the best credentials, experience, and passion will go unnoticed without a strong cover letter. The main rule? Sell yourself the way a publicist would. Cover letters aren’t a time for modesty. They’re a time to highlight your accomplishments and make your passion for teaching known. Below you’ll find our tips for creating the best cover letter possible and our top teacher cover letter and CV examples.

3 top tips for crafting a teacher CV or cover letter:

Keep it short and sweet..

You’ve only got about 30 seconds to capture a hiring director’s attention, so start with what we call “the elevator pitch.” Imagine you have the time between the elevators closing on one floor and opening again on another floor to sell yourself. Instead of rehashing everything on your resume, use the space to craft a paragraph or two that will convince them you are a standout candidate and are worth moving on to the next step.

Emphasize why you’re a great match.

Read the job description and find the overlap between the skills you bring to the table with the skills they need. If the job description calls for certain qualities or uses specific language, repeat them in your cover letter! The ultimate goal for your cover letter is to say, “You’ve got a problem? I’m the ideal person to solve it.” Be professional and use concrete examples.

Individualize!

Tailor each and every cover letter to fit the specific school, district, and job for which you’re applying. Research the school and its culture. That way, you can address their expectations and also use specific examples of achievements in your history to show why you’re the right candidate for the position.

Top teacher cover letter examples:

1. first-time teacher.

This letter is friendly and enthusiastic. It uses concrete examples and experiences related to student teaching while showcasing exactly why the applicant wants to become a teacher.

[contextly_auto_sidebar]

2. Another first-time teacher example

This version of a cover letter calls out the specific skills the applicant has and hopes to bring to the table.

3. Experienced elementary teacher

Not every teacher stays in their job until retirement. If you’re looking for a new position, your cover letter should clearly state your experience. This example also makes it obvious that the candidate researched the new district and discusses why she would be excited to join. The candidate also includes references at the bottom of the cover letter.

4. Another experienced elementary teacher

It doesn’t hurt to have additional examples! This teacher cover letter clearly showcases the school’s goals and addresses how this teacher specifically can help. She did her research!

5. Summer school teacher

As school lets out for summer, many teachers still need to earn an income. With competition tight, this cover letter stands out as the candidate states her qualifications as well as her ability to train other staff members.

6. Assistant teacher

With this letter, the applicant took a slightly different approach. The letter breaks down the most relevant accomplishments into bullet points. Those will jump out at the hiring manager, who will likely scan through a ton of applications.

7. Special education teacher

This letter is similar to a standard teacher cover letter, yet it also stresses the specific qualifications and experiences of a special ed teacher. For example, this candidate included how they modified the curriculum to meet the needs of a wide range of learners. In this particular cover letter example, the teacher was looking to move into a leadership role, so this serves as a template for someone looking to transition into management as well.

8. School counselor

This cover letter emphasizes the applicant’s academic achievements, especially with regard to the psychology education required for many counselor positions. It also talks about the characteristics that make this person the ideal candidate for this position.

9. School guidance counselor

We liked this cover letter because it pulls specific metrics that are not in the resume—including the number of students the candidate worked with and the funding obtained for special needs programs.

10. Library media specialist

This cover letter oozes confidence! As with any specialist position, the candidate hones in on how her specific skills and background make her qualified for this role.

11. High school English teacher

This cover letter covers a lot of ground. It points out the candidate’s strengths for teaching and assessing knowledge in the specific subject. It also presents the special techniques the candidate uses to teach students at the high school level.

12. Technology teacher

Taking a very professional approach to writing a cover letter shows that the contender is serious. This letter points out the specific skills that best prove why this candidate is a great fit for the position.

13. Music teacher

A music teacher requires knowledge of multiple instruments and a love of music and music theory. This cover letter showcases the candidate’s background and why they feel music is an important part of the education experience.

14. Drama teacher

Drama teachers often go above and beyond just teaching a class. They host auditions and rehearsals for after-school productions. This cover letter shows the candidate’s knowledge of curriculum, directing a show, and even marketing efforts!

15. Foreign language teacher

Foreign language teachers need to display their knowledge of the particular language as well as showcase how well they can immerse students in the culture. This cover letter discusses the teacher’s plans to incorporate curriculum as well as help facilitate induction of students into the German Honor Society.

16. Sports coach

This cover letter has a terrific opening line that sets the candidate apart from the get-go. It also clearly covers the candidate’s qualifications, from knowledge and experience to attitude and philosophy. This cover letter example also works well for PE teachers.

17. ESL teacher

Teaching English as a second language obviously requires a distinct skill set. This cover letter showcases key communication skills and lets the hiring director know the specific language fluency.

18. Math teacher

Touching on the highlights of their resume without rehashing it completely (who wants to read something twice?), this candidate points out their qualifications and certifications as well as their versatility in teaching different types of students.

19. Pre-K teacher

Teaching pre-K takes patience, creativity, and flexibility. This cover letter effectively highlights the candidate’s communication and problem-solving skills as well as the personal qualities that make them great at their job.

20. Business teacher

This cover letter provides excellent background about the teacher in a way that’s appropriate for business. It shares the necessary information clearly and concisely.

21. International school teacher

Working at an international school requires a certain skill set, and this letter highlights the teacher’s language skills as well as their ability to create effective lessons on relevant topics while providing students with the support they need to succeed.

Do you have more great teacher cover letter examples? Share in the comments below.

Plus, check out tips for teacher job fairs and the most common teacher interview questions., want more articles like this be sure to subscribe to our newsletters .

Looking for teacher cover letter examples? Here are 18 great samples, along with guidelines and advice for writing your cover letter.

You Might Also Like

Closeup of woman holding up examples of her teacher resume.

21 Teacher Resume Examples To Help You Score the Interview

Make a great first impression! Continue Reading

Copyright © 2023. All rights reserved. 5335 Gate Parkway, Jacksonville, FL 32256

teaching application letter sample

Build my resume

teaching application letter sample

  • Resume builder
  • Build a better resume in minutes
  • Resume examples
  • 2,000+ examples that work in 2024
  • Resume templates
  • 184 free templates for all levels
  • Cover letters
  • Cover letter generator
  • It's like magic, we promise
  • Cover letter examples
  • Free downloads in Word & Docs

5 Teacher Cover Letter Examples & Templates for 2024

Stephen Greet

  • Teacher Cover Letter
  • Elementary Teacher
  • Art Teacher
  • Special Education Teacher
  • AP English Teacher
  • Writing Your Teacher Cover Letter 101

Though parents and students don’t always recognize it, teachers work way more than the 8 to 4 school day. Lesson planning, grading, parent communication, faculty meetings, and students’ extracurriculars are just some of what you do beyond classroom instruction. 

If you’re seeking a new teaching position, it’s mind-boggling why a school would ask you for a cover letter along with a resume and application. Your time is already fully committed . 

That’s why we’re here. We’ve got five teacher cover letter samples plus a how-to guide to aid your job hunt. You can’t cover every achievement in your  teacher resume  or cover letter, but with a little help from us, you’ll be on your way to showing principals and departments why they should hire you. 

teaching application letter sample

Teacher Cover Letter Example

USE THIS TEMPLATE

Microsoft Word

Google Docs

Block Format

Teacher cover letter example

Level up your cover letter game

Relax! We’ll do the heavy lifiting to write your cover letter in seconds.

Elementary Teacher Cover Letter Example

Elementary teacher cover letter example

Art Teacher Cover Letter Example

Art teacher cover letter example

Why this resume works

  • Metrics bring your accomplishments to life, painting a vivid picture of your effectiveness for the role. For instance, Kaito reports a 12% increase in foot traffic to his mural projects.

Special Education Teacher Cover Letter Example

Special education teacher cover letter example

  • Passion equals commitment and even success. Not only does this align with the role she seeks, but it’s also an excellent trick to captivate the recruiter reading your piece.

AP English Teacher Cover Letter Example

AP English teacher cover letter example

AP English Teacher Resume

Need a resume to pair with your AP English teacher cover letter?

or download as PDF

AP English teacher resume example

How to Write a Cover Letter for a Teaching Job

Teacher on blue laptop types and questions how to write a teacher cover letter

The key to writing your teacher cover letter can be distilled into two main points: don’t be generic and don’t let it become a repeat of your resume. 

teaching application letter sample

Step 1: Don’t skimp on researching the teaching role

Just as you want to tailor your resume to the school where you want to work and to its accompanying  teacher job description , you should do the same with your cover letter. Sure, this requires extra research, but what’re 20 or 30 minutes when this effort can pay off in dividends? Not only will research ensure your cover letter is relevant—not vague and generic—it’ll also prepare you well for common  teacher interview questions .

Additionally, leverage your research to demonstrate a real interest in the role you’re applying for as well as in the school itself.

  • Discuss how your commitment to standardized testing has improved students’ performance at other schools.
  • Share how Google Classroom has transformed your STEM projects.

teaching application letter sample

Step 2: Go beyond your teaching resume

Addressing the specific needs and concerns mentioned in the job description will have the desired effect  as long as you go beyond what you included in your resume . Mentioning that you’re a rock star at using Google Classroom isn’t enough; principals have  already  gathered that from your resume bullet points and  skills section .  

This is your opportunity to specifically share what you’ve done with Google Classroom. Many teachers set up Google Classroom for their students but don’t get around to using it. What have you done that sets the standard for every teacher following you? This is when quantifying your experience becomes exceptionally valuable. 

  • Demonstrate how this resource has decreased late submissions by 53 percent.
  • What did you do exactly to accomplish such a feat? One-on-one tutoring, an after-school club, unique teaching methodologies?

teaching application letter sample

Step 3: Convey the right message

Beyond specific and descriptive paragraphs in your teacher cover letter, keep your document  at  or less than a page. Eliminate wordiness and avoid pleasantries. Be sincere and gracious, but, really, no one likes a teacher’s pet.   

So, consider your tone of voice. Be professional, avoiding clichés, contractions, colloquialisms, and the like. Remember you’re applying for a teaching position, not a quirky tech startup.

Consider your tone. Remember you’re applying for a teaching role, not a quirky tech startup.

And when you think your cover letter is ready to go, hold up! You’re, indeed, almost at the finish line, but what is it you tell your students to do before they submit an essay (which they inevitably  never  do)? 

Yep—it’s time to practice what you preach. Invite a few people you trust to review your cover letter and offer constructive criticism while your eyes and brain rest. Then, return to your work, consider the feedback, and scour for any last content issues and spelling and grammar errors. Make revisions, save your document, and send your best teacher cover letter to the principal and hiring department with your resume, application, and any other requested materials.

Your Teacher Cover Letter Format & Outline

Teacher in yellow dress outlines cover letter on blackboard with yellow chalk

Now, if you’re staring at a blinking cursor on a blank document, not sure how to make the examples and steps work for you, don’t fret. It’ll come together beautifully like a perfectly executed lesson plan.

You just need a comprehensive outline that breaks the cover letter for a teaching position into distinct sections, making it easy to understand what to include in each part.

teaching application letter sample

How to start a teacher cover letter

Your contact info: If you’re using a template, fill in the letterhead to suit your needs. Just ensure you replace all filler text and don’t accidentally exclude critical information like your name, email, and phone number. 

  • Formatting:  If you write a block business letter rather than use a template, including your address is standard. Additionally, while your name will be prominently displayed on a letterhead on a template, a basic but professional block letter should omit your name (the principal will find your name easily in your signature line).

Date:  If you write your cover letter today but don’t submit it until next week, edit the date, to reflect the day you submit the letter and other career documents for the specific teaching role. 

  • Formatting:  Write out the full date, e.g. January 12, 2023.

Inside address:  This is the contact information for the principal or hiring department at the school. Name the specific person; then, include the school and position title, e.g., Ryan High School Principal. Complete this section with the school’s address.

  • Formatting:  Each piece of the inside address should be on a new line. You’ll want a double space between the inside address and the greeting. 

Kyndra Marque Ryan High School Principal  5101 E McKinney St Denton, TX 76208

Greeting:  Your goal is to start on the right foot with your principal, so avoid issuing a generic greeting, also known as a salutation, like:

  • Dear Principal,
  • Dear Hiring Department,
  • To Whom it May Concern:

While it can take some sleuth skills to track down the name of the hiring manager for some jobs,  most, if not all,  schools have staff listings on their website. You’re already researching the school to help you write an amazing cover letter, so take a couple of extra minutes to put a real name to the greeting:

  • Dear Mr. Thatcher:
  • Dear Ms. Li:
  • Formatting:  Err on the side of caution and use a colon at the end of the greeting. A comma is more casual while a colon denotes professionalism, which will likely serve you best for a teaching role.  

teaching application letter sample

How to write your teacher cover letter

Body:  The body of your teacher cover letter should be three to four brief paragraphs that state your interest, demonstrate your teaching credentials, and convey enthusiasm for further discussion. Let’s break it down further: 

  • Formatting:  The body of your teaching cover letter should be single-spaced although you’ll need to double-space between paragraphs.

Opening paragraph:  The goal is simple—state your interest in the position and your overarching credentials that reflect your research for the specific role. While the goal is simple, the execution often leaves little to be desired. Too many teacher cover letters start the same way.

I found your posting online and am interested in filling the English III position. 

No. Just no. Bore the principal and the English department right out of the gate, and they’ll wonder whether you’ll hold the attention of your students. Instead, try:

With 12 percent of Ryan High’s student population slotted to graduate with honors, I am eager to lead the initiation of the English Advanced Placement program as stated in the job description. With seven years of experience teaching AP courses, I am confident that Ryan High’s students will excel in my classroom and beyond.

Not only does this signal that you’ve done your homework and researched the school’s unique standing and areas for growth, this opening paragraph hooks the reader. Clearly, you’re interested in the role, offer valuable experience, and with phrases like “lead the initiation” and “excel in my classroom,” there’s no doubt you’re confident and capable.

Paragraphs 2-3:  If you can squeeze in the third paragraph, we recommend it as each paragraph is an opportunity to demonstrate indisputable evidence of the credentials and qualifications you boldly state in your opening paragraph. 

Each paragraph should not be a repeat of your resume; rather, each paragraph should hone in on  one  clear accomplishment, be it the results of your teaching methodology, values, or something else. Don’t try to tackle multiple topics in a paragraph. Be detailed, specific, and quantify your results when possible. 

Closing paragraph:  Clench an interview with this final paragraph. Now’s not the time to lay your head on your desk and call it a day. Don’t let this be your closing paragraph:

I believe I am the perfect candidate for this teaching position, and I look forward to hearing back from you soon. 

At best, it exudes laziness. At worst, no one will believe you’re actually interested in the job but just need something to put beans on the table. 

Instead, demonstrate that your unique values and qualifications align with the school’s needs, which will indicate a genuine interest in the role— even if you are  desperate to put beans on the table.

Finally, add a call to action that anticipates a follow-up or interview. With the following closing paragraph, it’s clear that teaching is far more to you than just a job:

Solving students’ pain points is more than acknowledging their existence. To me, pain points are a starting point to discovery. I firmly believe that some of the most challenging endeavors have the power to yield the most fruitful results. If these results speak to you, I am eager to share more of what my non-traditional classroom looks like and what you can expect from Belleville’s students and from me as their geometry instructor.  

teaching application letter sample

How to end a teacher cover letter

Signature:  While you can include your gratitude at the end of the closing paragraph, you can also express thanks when you sign off. Keep it professional, and use your real name here just as you will on your resume and application form. 

  • Formatting:  Typically, you’ll send your cover letter to the principal’s email; however, if you deliver your career docs in person or—gasp—by mail, be sure to quadruple space and sign your name in blue or black ink between your closing line and typed name.

Thank you for your consideration,

Marcus DeWitt 

Enclosure(s):  This is important, and most job seekers, including teachers, fail to include it. “Enclosure(s)” means that more documents follow your cover letter.

What information would that be? Well, hopefully, your  teacher resume , likely the school’s application, potentially your teaching license, also your college transcripts, and maybe even a reference letter or two, depending on the requirements detailed in the  teacher job ad . 

After your signature, you’ll include “Enclosure(s),” followed by the exact documents in order of appearance. 

  • Formatting:  Use the singular form of “enclosure” if you’re only including one document. Also, include each additional document on a new line. 

Enclosures: Resume Application 2 letters of recommendation

See, including this final section is literally easier than writing your own address. Include it, and automatically set yourself apart from other teachers vying for the same role. 

Finish Strong with Your Teacher Resume

Teacher works on purple laptop to finish teacher resume

Now, that you’ve got the tools to confidently wow principals and departmental heads with your teacher cover letter, have you considered the current state of your resume? Maybe you’ve already updated and polished it, and if that’s you, kudos to you—you’re ahead of the game! 

If you’re blowing out an exaggerated breath because you’ve relegated your resume to the nether regions of your mind, we get it. But teacher resumes are judged more harshly than most. Hiring teams don’t cut a lot of slack when they’re looking for talent who will teach their students to communicate, read, and write well.   

So, if it’s time to think seriously about re-writing or, let’s face it,  writing  your resume  from scratch, take a page from us (literally) and get inspired with our  free resume templates  and  teacher resume examples  like the one below.

Elementary Teacher Resume

Need a resume to pair with your elementary teacher cover letter?

Elementary teacher resume example

Your career documents are a pain in the tush, we know, but think of us as your biggest cheerleaders. With our  resume builder ,  Google resume templates ,  Word resume templates , and expert-approved guidance, your teacher resume and cover letter are sure to win you interviews and secure your next role, where you just might earn Teacher of the Year at your next school. 

Every school you apply to will likely have slightly different teaching styles, cultures, and objectives they would like to achieve throughout the year. You can use your cover letter to connect your previous experiences to their mission and goals. For instance, if you volunteered for an early-age reading program, that would be a great experience to connect when applying to a K-5 position where the school wants to improve student reading scores.

Ideally, you want to match your tone to the feel of each school’s job description. Does the school have a very formal and knowledgeable tone in the description? Then being more formal and factual about your knowledge and experiences in different teaching styles they emphasize would be a great idea. For example, citing factual information about how you used hybrid learning to create 75% higher material retention in math subjects would work well in this instance.

Try to address your cover letter to a specific person in the school. Typically, this will be a principal, superintendent, or human resources hiring manager that would be reviewing teacher resumes . Check through the job description to see if a specific name is listed who will be reviewing applications, or review the school’s website for this information. If you can’t find anything, you can simply address it to “[Name of school] hiring staff” or something similar.

Create my free resume now

  • PRO Courses Guides New Tech Help Pro Expert Videos About wikiHow Pro Upgrade Sign In
  • EDIT Edit this Article
  • EXPLORE Tech Help Pro About Us Random Article Quizzes Request a New Article Community Dashboard This Or That Game Popular Categories Arts and Entertainment Artwork Books Movies Computers and Electronics Computers Phone Skills Technology Hacks Health Men's Health Mental Health Women's Health Relationships Dating Love Relationship Issues Hobbies and Crafts Crafts Drawing Games Education & Communication Communication Skills Personal Development Studying Personal Care and Style Fashion Hair Care Personal Hygiene Youth Personal Care School Stuff Dating All Categories Arts and Entertainment Finance and Business Home and Garden Relationship Quizzes Cars & Other Vehicles Food and Entertaining Personal Care and Style Sports and Fitness Computers and Electronics Health Pets and Animals Travel Education & Communication Hobbies and Crafts Philosophy and Religion Work World Family Life Holidays and Traditions Relationships Youth
  • Browse Articles
  • Learn Something New
  • Quizzes Hot
  • This Or That Game New
  • Train Your Brain
  • Explore More
  • Support wikiHow
  • About wikiHow
  • Log in / Sign up
  • Education and Communications

How to Write an Application Letter for a Teaching Job

Last Updated: December 11, 2023 Fact Checked

This article was co-authored by Adrian Klaphaak, CPCC . Adrian Klaphaak is a career coach and founder of A Path That Fits, a mindfulness-based boutique career and life coaching company in the San Francisco Bay Area. He is also is an accredited Co-Active Professional Coach (CPCC). Klaphaak has used his training with the Coaches Training Institute, Hakomi Somatic Psychology and Internal Family Systems Therapy (IFS) to help thousands of people build successful careers and live more purposeful lives. This article has been fact-checked, ensuring the accuracy of any cited facts and confirming the authority of its sources. This article has been viewed 91,038 times.

Applying for teaching positions can be daunting because of all of the materials you need to submit. Your cover letter is an especially important part of the application since it highlights your best skills. Writing an excellent cover letter can set you apart from other applicants, so it’s important to take your time and write a targeted letter for every application. Start by researching the position and getting all of the necessary information before you start writing. Then, use the intro and body paragraphs to emphasize your qualifications for the job. Conclude your letter by emphasizing your interest in the position and requesting an interview, and don’t forget to revise and proofread before you send your letter to the prospective employer.

Application Letter Template

teaching application letter sample

Gathering Information Before Writing

Step 1 Read the job posting carefully and underline or highlight key terms.

  • For example, if the position is for a Kindergarten teacher, then the position may indicate that you need to have undergone a preparatory teaching program.
  • If the job posting is online, you can transfer the text into a word processor and highlight using the highlight tool.

Step 2 Find out the name of the hiring manager.

  • Make sure to find out the person’s preferred prefix. For example, if the hiring manager is a woman named Nancy Cardigan, ask if she goes by Ms., Mrs., or something else.

Warning : Never write “To whom it may concern” to start a cover letter! This is too informal and it makes your letter seem generic from the start.

Step 3 Research the school, district, and position.

  • The school’s student population
  • Special challenges facing the school, such as budgetary issues or overcrowding
  • Extracurricular programs available to students

Step 4 Identify 3 experiences or skills that qualify you for the position.

  • For example, if you’re applying for a Spanish teacher position, you might want to mention your study abroad experience that enhanced your Spanish speaking skills, or your additional certification as a TESOL teacher.

Writing the Introduction and Body Paragraphs

Step 1 Include your address and the date followed by 3 spaces.

  • For example, you might list your address as “100 Main Street, Everytown, ND, 12345.”
  • Then, after adding a space, list today’s date in long form, such as August 8th, 2019.

Step 2 Provide the full name and address of the hiring manager.

  • For example, “Mrs. Sherri Mascarpone, Executive Director of Personnel, Sacramento School District, 1000 Johnson Lane, Sacramento, CA, 12345.”

Step 3 Greet the person with a formal salutation.

  • For example, you might start with “Dear Mr. Rodgers,” and then add a space and begin your introduction.

Step 4 Indicate the job you’re applying for and why you’d be a good fit.

  • For example, you might open with something like, “I’m writing to apply for the Math Teacher position that was advertised in this week’s paper.”
  • It’s also a good idea to give the employer some indication of who you are, such as by mentioning where you attended school and when you graduated or expect to graduate. For example, you might follow your first sentence with something like, “As a recent graduate of Universal University’s teacher education program, I am well-qualified for the position.” [6] X Research source

Step 5 End the first paragraph with 3 reasons you're qualified.

  • For example, you might write something like, “I’ve had a broad range of professional experiences that qualify me for the position, including working in the school district as a teacher’s aide while working on my college education, getting the opportunity to tutor at-risk youth in an after-school program run by a local charity, and completing my student teaching at this school.”

Step 6 Provide evidence of your experiences and skills.

  • For example, if you mention that you completed one of your student teaching rotations at the school you’re applying to work at, then you might expand on what you learned about the school and its teachers during that experience and how that knowledge would make you a good fit for this position.
  • If you mentioned that you hold a special certification, then you might expand on how that could enhance your ability to fulfill the needs of the position to which you’re applying.

Step 7 Emphasize what you’d contribute as a teacher at this school.

  • For example, you might include a line about your persistence and refusal to give up on students who struggle with course material, or you might mention that your professors or former employers have praised you for your ingenuity in designing engaging lessons.

Tip : Try to be as specific as possible whenever you talk about your qualifications. Point to professional experiences, certifications, training, and other evidence to support your claims.

Concluding Your Letter

Step 1 Reemphasize your qualifications and interest in the position.

  • For example, you might write something like, “Because of my professional experiences and special certifications, I’m very interested in the 7-12 French teacher position at Northwestern Central School.”

Step 2 Thank the employer for their time and consideration and look ahead.

  • Try saying something like, “Thank you for considering my application! I hope we can meet soon to discuss my qualifications further.” [14] X Research source
  • You may also indicate when you’re available or suggest a time and date for an even stronger option. For example, you could say something like, “I’m available to meet in person most weekday mornings and on Friday afternoons.” Or, you could say, “I’m available next Friday afternoon between 1:00 and 4:00 pm if you’d like to schedule an interview.”

Step 3 Provide an email address and phone number where you can be reached.

  • For example, you might write something like, “My cell phone number is (123) 555-1234 and my email is [email protected].”

Tip : You can skip this if you have included this information on your resume.

Step 4 End with a simple sign off and your name.

Revising and Proofreading Your Letter

Step 1 Check the content of your letter and revise as needed.

  • For example, if the job posting emphasizes that the ideal candidate should have evidence that their teaching strategies are successful, then you might want to add more detail on the positive feedback you’ve received during teaching observations.

Tip : If you’re a recent graduate or student applying for a teaching position, you might ask your advisor to review your cover letter for you and provide feedback. If they’re unavailable, visit your college’s career development center and ask one of the career counselors to review it for you.

Step 2 Ensure that your letter is brief and to the point.

  • Not making your letter more than 1 page long
  • Describing your skills using action verbs similar to the ones in the job posting
  • Avoiding long, intricate sentences that may be difficult to follow

Step 3 Read through the letter again to check for errors.

  • Try reading the letter out loud to help you spot any errors that you might miss while reading the letter silently.
  • Don’t rely on your word processing software to catch errors. These programs are not foolproof for spotting errors.

Step 4 Print the letter on high-quality bond paper and sign it.

  • If you need to submit the letter electronically, convert it to PDF format.

Expert Q&A

Adrian Klaphaak, CPCC

Video . By using this service, some information may be shared with YouTube.

You Might Also Like

Write a CV (Curriculum Vitae)

  • ↑ https://www.snc.edu/careers/employment/teachereducation/coverletter.html
  • ↑ https://newmanu.edu/nth-degree/what-to-look-for-when-choosing-a-teaching-program
  • ↑ Adrian Klaphaak, CPCC. Career Coach. Expert Interview. 18 December 2018.
  • ↑ https://your.yale.edu/sites/default/files/maximizing_your_coverletter_guide_2016.pdf
  • ↑ https://writing.wisc.edu/handbook/assignments/coverletters/

About This Article

Adrian Klaphaak, CPCC

  • Send fan mail to authors

Did this article help you?

teaching application letter sample

Featured Articles

How to Comfort Someone Physically

Trending Articles

Everything You Need to Know to Rock the Corporate Goth Aesthetic

Watch Articles

Cook Fresh Cauliflower

  • Terms of Use
  • Privacy Policy
  • Do Not Sell or Share My Info
  • Not Selling Info

wikiHow Tech Help Pro:

Develop the tech skills you need for work and life

Request More Info

Fill out the form below and a member of our team will reach out right away!

" * " indicates required fields

How to Write a Teacher Cover Letter [with Template]

teacher-cover-letter-examples

5 Resume Cover Letters for Teachers 

Start with structure: how to format your teacher cover letter, what else to include in your teacher cover letter, teacher cover letter faqs.

If you’re researching teacher cover letter tips and best practices, chances are you are either in the market for a new job or at least beginning to think ahead to your next opportunity.

As you’re well aware, your cover letter is a vitally important messaging document that must be thoughtfully crafted to A) catch the eye of potential employers/recruiters and B) entice them to learn more about you by reviewing your resume.

Well, you’ve come to the right place because — when it comes to teacher resume and cover letter advice — we’ve got you covered.

Designed to apply to both new and seasoned educators alike, this post serves as a guide to writing an effective teacher cover letter that will help you land your next job.

We’ll share key tips and best practices, along with several teacher cover letter examples that you can use for inspiration — plus, a downloadable template you can use to write an A+ cover letter!

Put Your Best Foot Forward

Download our template to start writing your best cover letter yet. 

LOOKING FOR TEACHING JOBS?

Before we get into any how-tos, it helps to know what the end result should look like. Below are five examples of winning teacher cover letters. 

1. This example offers guidance for the first-time teacher, since it can be difficult to write a cover letter without much experience to describe! This letter emphasizes volunteer work, student teaching and college experience. 

teaching application letter sample

2. Here, the applicant listed out some of her experiences into bullet points. This is a wise formatting trick, since it’s likely the hiring manager looks at multiple cover letters a day, so the bulleted list makes it easier — and faster — to read.

teaching application letter sample

3. Though it may not apply to every teaching position, some hiring managers like to see applicants back up their claims with hard data. This history teacher offers quantifiable proof of her abilities in her previous position.

teaching application letter sample

4. What it lacks in volume it makes up for in succinct, to-the-point text. This cover letter says just enough while leaving the reader wanting to know more. Be careful with creating generic cover letter “templates” for yourself though — the content of this letter could apply to a wide range of roles and schools, so you’ll want to customize the details to each new position.

teaching application letter sample

5. For a clearer breakdown of the essential parts of a cover letter, this example from Liveabout.com highlights where the applicant mentions her skill set, her unique value proposition and her desire for the position.

teaching application letter sample

A teacher cover letter is much the same as a cover letter for any other position — the structure is fairly standard, with the content customized to the role and your experience. A cover letter should be one page, no more than four paragraphs, easily scannable and include the best way to reach you. The reader should not have to look very hard to find everything they need to know about you. 

The best teacher cover letters have the following components: 

  • Your contact information: Provide your name, email address, phone number and where you live (just city and state is fine).
  • The school’s contact information: Though you may not be sending your cover letter and resume by mail, this confirms your intention to apply to a specific school. 
  • Date: The date you’re submitting your application materials.
  • Salutation: A professional greeting that addresses the hiring manager by name. It’s customary to preface their name with “Dear.”
  • Introduction: This is a one-or two-sentence statement that introduces you and expresses your intention to apply for the open position.
  • Body paragraph 1: A brief paragraph describing your relevant professional experience, achievements, skills and education. 
  • Body paragraph 2: A brief paragraph explaining your interest in and fitness for the role for which you’re applying.
  • Closing paragraph: Once more, a brief closing statement that expresses your desire for further conversation and invites the hiring manager to contact you with any questions.
  • Your signature: You may simply write your name or, for a more personal touch, you can add a real signature — hand-written or digitally placed. 

Why all the brevity? Hiring managers likely sift through dozens of applications a day, especially at competitive schools. You want your materials to stand out for their scannability, so that the reader can see whether you would be the right fit within just a few seconds. 

If you include all of the components above, you will have an excellent chance of capturing any hiring manager’s attention and (hopefully) starting a conversation with them. 

While most cover letters follow a similar format, with the introduction, body content and conclusion all containing relatively the same kind of information, the body paragraphs are where you can really highlight your uniqueness. The portion of your cover letter where you describe your skills and experience is your oyster — without repeating what’s on your resume, consider including any of the following elements:  

  • Include teaching specialties such as subject expertise , special education curriculum design and even extracurricular responsibilities. 
  • When it comes to your education, you’ll want to note whether you have your master’s degree in education . Having an M.Ed. does not necessarily equate to teaching experience, but many schools will prioritize candidates with graduate degrees over those with only bachelor’s degrees . 
  • Mention soft skills as well as hard teaching skills, such as organization, patience, adaptability, etc.
  • Mention any relevant training or certifications. If you can point to a certificate in a specific teaching method or school leadership training , you may be considered for other open positions.
  • Educational equity and inclusion is critical to school and student success. Even if you don’t have experience teaching units on disability activism or racial justice , expressing a commitment to learning about and teaching students of different backgrounds is a highly valued quality.
  • Include related work you’ve done outside the classroom , such as tutoring, non-teaching work or volunteer experience that involves working with children.
  • However, please note that teachers cannot freely share specific class or student data. It is your responsibility to adhere to school, state and federal restrictions concerning student privacy .
  • Teachers are never done learning. Expressing a commitment to ongoing education and professional development in your cover letter will communicate that you are passionate about developing your craft. 

Each item should only take one to two sentences to explain. For scannability, you may want to format your skills and experience into bullet points.

Some teaching applicants include a postscript in their cover letters following their signature. While this is not necessary, it is a fine place to put something that doesn’t fit naturally into the body of your cover letter. However, only include a postscript if absolutely necessary ( “By the way, I remember competing against Sacred Heart’s epic debate club back in 1998 — if I couldn’t beat them then, joining them now would be the next best thing!” ). 

Your postscript should add value or personality, or be something the hiring manager absolutely needs to know, otherwise it can look extraneous and unprofessional. 

Tips to Make Your Cover Letter Stand Out

Think of your teaching cover letter like an elevator pitch. Pretend you have 30 seconds to “sell” your skills and enthusiasm for the role — how do you “hook” the reader? 

Before you set pen to paper or fingers to keyboard, be sure to research the school you’re applying to. It’s generally good practice to customize your cover letter for every job application, and that means knowing something about the school, department or role you’d be filling. It’s quite easy to tell if an applicant is just copy-and-pasting the same cover letter for multiple job applications. 

For example, is the school known for its competitive mathematics team? Does it have an award-winning drama department? Are its standardized test scores consistently in your state’s 90th percentile? If the role you’re applying for relates in any way to the school’s differentiating factor, be sure to acknowledge it in your introduction. 

Here are some other ways to bump your application to the top of the pile. 

  • Keep it brief: No one wants to read your master’s thesis in a cover letter. Leave the longer explanations of your experience and teaching philosophy for your interview. 
  • Accentuate the positive: Your application materials should not only convey why you want the position, but how your unique abilities and assets could benefit the school and its students. Emphasize why you’d be a great match with specific reasons — but don’t brag.
  • Keep it personal: There are plenty of great cover letter templates and examples out there, but they should only serve as suggestions for what yours will be. This is your story to tell, not anyone else’s. Expressing your passion for teaching will position you as a dedicated, valuable asset to any school.
  • Proofread: As a teacher, this should be a no-brainer — but don’t be the one teacher who forgets to proofread! Take your time, re-read and ask a colleague to give your cover letter a once-over before submitting your application. Many people treat their cover letter as an afterthought, but remember that it’s the cover to the rest of your application. 

To use another teaching comparison, remember that your cover letter counts for a significant portion of your “grade.” As Christian Eilers writes for Zety , “That means treating it like a crucial final exam instead of an inconsequential pop quiz.”

How long should my teacher cover letter be?

As a general rule, keep your cover letter brief — no one wants to read your master’s thesis as part of your application. Your cover letter should have a short intro, an explanation of your experience and skills, any significant accomplishments, awards or certificates, and a short conclusion summarizing your interest in the position. Always end with an invitation for the hiring manager to contact you, and sign your name (a signed letter is always a nice touch, even if it’s a digital signature). Leave the longer explanations of your experience and teaching philosophy for your interview.

How can I add data to my cover letter?

If you’re making any claims about your effectiveness in the classroom, try back them up with numbers. For example, you may want to say that you were responsible for increasing biology testing scores by 30%, or that attendance improved by 65% while you were a teacher. If you’re currently a teacher considering other schools, be sure to keep track of your own class’s performance so you can cite these metrics in future cover letters. Please note, however, that it is your responsibility to adhere to school, state and federal restrictions concerning specific student data and student privacy .

Be Sure To Share This Article

  • Share on Twitter
  • Share on Facebook
  • Share on LinkedIn

MAKE A GREAT FIRST IMPRESSION

A GUIDE FOR WRITING YOUR NEXT TEACHING COVER LETTER

teaching application letter sample

  • Master of Education

Related Posts

teaching application letter sample

OLAS Jobs Logo

  • Cover Letters

New Teacher Cover Letter Sample

Cover Letter Sample for New Teachers

Home » Cover Letters » New Teacher Cover Letter Sample

Before applying for a new teacher position, it is essential to create a cover letter to submit with your resume. This is especially important for teachers looking for their first teaching jobs, since they need to set themselves apart from the competition. A professional, informative new teacher  cover letter , positions you as a strong candidate for the job.

Your  cover letter for teaching position , along with the resume, reiterates your academic and professional qualifications. They also showcase your personal goals and interests. Moreover, they highlight your teaching philosophy and explains what draws you towards this profession .

Teacher Cover Letter Sample

Barbara jones.

6391 Elgin St. Celina, New York 10299 | (123) 456-7890 | [email protected]

Ms. Jessica Gibson

Columbia High School 12345 Sycamore St. Astoria, NY 12345

July 21st, 2020

Dear Ms. Gibson,

It is with great excitement that I submit this letter and resume as my application for the position of Elementary School Teacher. I believe that my skills and passion for teaching would make a positive contribution to your school.

I completed my Master’s in Elementary Education from St. John’s University. And, as an undergraduate, I minored in child psychology. While completing my degree, I had the opportunity to do my training as a student teacher , which has given me hands-on experience in dealing with young children. During my training, I have fulfilled responsibilities that have prepared me for the role of a full-time teacher.

My aim is to help students achieve their goals by creating an inclusive and encouraging learning environment that is full of interaction and positive energy. With strong interpersonal skills, I have the ability to communicate effectively with students, parents, and fellow colleagues.

I am capable of adapting my teaching style according to the specific needs of my students. Also, I make it a point to keep myself updated with the current technologies and latest teaching methods.

I love working with students and creating activities and lesson plans that can engage them. Furthermore, I am passionate about teaching, and understand the importance of shaping young minds and leading them in the right direction.

Please do not hesitate to contact me for more information. Thank you for your consideration, I will eagerly await an opportunity to discuss this role in greater detail.

Barbara Jones [email protected] (123) 456-7890

Hope this cover letter outline will be useful to create your own document for your next  teaching job application . Now that you know how to draft your cover letter, register for OLAS  here ,   and search for your dream job today!

Share This Article:

Related Articles

How to Write an Experienced Teacher Aide Cover Letter

How to Write an Experienced Teacher Aide Cover Letter

Experienced Teacher Aide Cover Letter Example

Experienced Teacher Aide Cover Letter Example

Guide to Writing a Winning New Teacher Cover Letter

Guide to Writing a Winning New Teacher Cover Letter

Cover Letter Tips for New School Sports Coaching Jobs

Cover Letter Tips for New School Sports Coaching Jobs

Cover Letter Example for New School Sports Coach

Cover Letter Example for New School Sports Coach

Write a Winning Cover Letter for a New Teacher Aide Position

Write a Winning Cover Letter for a New Teacher Aide Position

New Teacher Aide Cover Letter Example

New Teacher Aide Cover Letter Example

How to Tailor a Cover Letter to Specific School Jobs

How to Tailor a Cover Letter to Specific School Jobs

Principal Cover Letter Example

Principal Cover Letter Example

Stay up to date.

with the most recent education-related news and developments.

Eastern Suffolk BOCES 2024 Career Fair for Cultural Diverse Educators

Lhcspa diversity teacher job fair, jericho teacher recruitment fair, ready for a new job.

OLAS helps job seekers in getting jobs in school districts in New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Pennsylvania, Vermont, and the surrounding areas. Create an account on OLAS Jobs today to begin your job application.

  • All Past Questions & Answers
  • Download JAMB Past Questions
  • Download WAEC Past Questions
  • Post UTME Past Questions
  • JAMB CBT APP
  • JAMB Past Questions PDF
  • JAMB Syllabus
  • JAMB Brochure
  • JAMB News JAMB latest news: Get all latest News, JAMB registration, JAMB CAPS, post UTME of various schools in Nigeria, JAMB Updates and all information you need regarding JAMB CBT exam and school admission is here.
  • WAEC Latest News
  • Post UTME News

Teaching job application letter examples (+ PDF and MS Word samples)

  • September 24, 2021 September 24, 2021
  • Career , Teaching

This article will show how to write write teacher jobs application letter so you increase your chances of landing the job. We’ll provide samples of teacher job application letter here and also in PDF and MS Word that you can use as a template.

  • Tips for writing teacher job application letter

Sample application letter for teacher

  • Download sample application letters for the post of teacher

Before getting start writing the application letter for teaching job, here are some tips that will help you do it best:

Tips for writing teacher job application cover letter

  • Know about the school you’re applying for and the specific requirements for the job position
  • Emphasise on your academic and extracurricular experience, especially as it applies to the job you’re applying for
  • Highlight your experiences and accomplishments but as much as possible keep those relevant to the job you’re applying for
  • As much as possible, know the name of the person you should address the letter to. It is better to use a name in the recipient’s address than to use some generic “Dear Sir/Madam”
  • Proofread and do proper spelling checks before submitting the letter
  • Use a suitable font such as Times New Roman, Arial or Calibri

Teacher in classroom

Jumoke Lawson 123 Yaba Ugo Street Yaba Lagos [email protected]

September 24, 2021

Mr. Umar Kabiru Green Peak School 123 Main Street Victoria Island Lagos

Dear Mr. Umar,

I am interested in applying for a secondary teaching position in your school. As a graduate of Yaba College of Education, I have required teaching experience on the JSS 1, 2 and 3 level, in both Physics and Mathematics. I believe my years of teaching experience, coupled with my passion for community engagement make me an ideal candidate for this teaching position.

I am currently teaching JSS 2 students at Bright Stars Secondary School and I have experience teaching secondary school students in a variety of settings. Having held the position of education coordinator at my previous roles, I also have experience in management in the school system. Based on my understanding that this position requires a teacher with varied experiences in the school system, I think my varied experiences would make me a valuable asset for your school.

Part of your school’s mission is to engage students from diverse cultures. I have extensive experience incorporating teaching styles that promote cultural diversity and inclusion into my classrooms. For example, as a teacher at Bright Stars Secondary School, I helped the management incorporate Culture Times in the extracurricular activities for the students, which helps students learn about the different cultures of fellow students in a fun way.

My goal is to combine my wide experience and quality of being a compassionate and intelligent teacher to make positive contributions that will benefit your students, school district and community at large.

I hope to hear from you at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely, [signature hard copy letter] Jumoke Lawson

Don’t forget to download Teachers Registration Council Of Nigeria (TRCN) Past Questions and Answers .

Download application letters for the post of teacher in PDF and MS Word

Grab a free sample of Teacher Job Application Letter (MS Word) OR Teacher Job Application Letter (PDF) .

Wishing you all the best in your interview and that you ultimately land the job!

Share this:

  • Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)
  • Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)
  • Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)

3 thoughts on “Teaching job application letter examples (+ PDF and MS Word samples)”

Nice letter

It is quite interesting

Doctor is more important than a teacher

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of new posts by email.

Discover more from EduPadi Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Type your email…

Continue Reading

RequestLetters

Teaching Job Application Letter Sample: Free & Effective

As someone who has not only written their own teaching job application letters but also crafted them for friends, I can attest to the importance of a well-written letter in making a strong impression.

Key Takeaways

  • Understanding the Purpose : Learn why a teaching job application letter is crucial.
  • Getting Started : Key elements to include in your application.
  • Personalization : Tailoring your letter to the school and position.
  • Structure and Content : A step-by-step guide on what to write.
  • Final Touches : Proofreading and professional presentation.
  • Free Template : A customizable template for your convenience.

This guide will walk you through the process, drawing from my personal experiences and proven strategies.

Understanding the Purpose

A teaching job application letter is more than just a formality.

Watercolor painting of a non-binary teacher of South Asian descent conducting a hands-on science experiment.

It’s your chance to showcase your enthusiasm, qualifications, and fit for the role.

It’s not just about stating your experience; it’s about narrating your journey in the education field and how it aligns with the specific needs of the school you’re applying to.

Getting Started

Before you start writing, research the school thoroughly. Understand its culture, values, and educational approach. This insight will help you personalize your letter.

Watercolor painting of a female teacher of Hispanic descent reading a storybook to young children.

Essential Elements to Include:

  • Introduction : Briefly introduce yourself and state the position you’re applying for.
  • Body : Highlight your teaching philosophy, relevant experiences, and achievements.
  • Conclusion : Express your enthusiasm for the role and the school.

Personalization

Personalization is key. For instance, when I applied to a school with a strong emphasis on technology in education, I highlighted my experience with digital learning tools.

This direct correlation showcased my suitability for their specific environment.

Structure and Content: A Step-by-Step Guide

  • Opening : Start with a professional greeting. If possible, address the letter to a specific person.
  • First Paragraph : Introduce yourself. Mention the job you’re applying for and how you found out about it.
  • Second Paragraph : Discuss your teaching philosophy and methodology. Relate it to the school’s ethos.
  • Third Paragraph : Highlight relevant experiences and achievements. Use specific examples.
  • Conclusion : Reiterate your interest in the position and the school. Mention your desire to contribute positively to the school community.

Final Touches

Proofread your letter meticulously. Ensure it’s free of typos and grammatically correct. A professional, clean format is also crucial.

Proofreading Checklist:

  • Spelling and grammar
  • Consistent formatting
  • Clear, concise language

Template for a Teaching Job Application Letter

Dear [School’s Name or Hiring Manager’s Name],

I am writing to express my interest in the [Position Title] at [School’s Name], as advertised [Where You Found the Job Posting].

As a dedicated and experienced educator with [X Years] of experience in [Your Specialization], I am enthusiastic about the opportunity to contribute to your esteemed institution.

In my current role at [Your Current School/Institution], I have successfully [Mention a Key Achievement or Initiative].

My teaching philosophy centers on [Briefly Describe Your Teaching Philosophy], which aligns well with [School’s Name]’s commitment to [Mention School’s Unique Feature or Ethos].

I am particularly impressed by [Mention Something Specific About the School]. I believe my expertise in [Mention Your Skills or Experiences Relevant to the School] would make a valuable addition to your team.

Thank you for considering my application. I am eager to bring my passion for teaching and educational excellence to [School’s Name] and am excited about the prospect of contributing to [Mention a Specific Aspect of the School or Curriculum]. I look forward to the possibility of discussing my application in further detail.

[Your Name]

Tips for Writing an Effective Teaching Job Application Letter

  • Tailor each letter to the specific school and position.
  • Use a professional yet enthusiastic tone.
  • Avoid repeating your resume; instead, complement it with personal insights and experiences.
  • Keep it concise; one page is ideal.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

teaching application letter sample

Q: What Should I Include in My Teaching Job Application Letter?

Answer: My application letter always includes a brief introduction about my passion for teaching and my educational background. I highlight my relevant teaching experiences, including any unique methods I’ve implemented in the classroom. 

Additionally, I mention any specific skills or certifications that make me a suitable candidate for the position. I make sure to tailor each letter to the school’s values and the specific role I’m applying for.

Q: How Do I Make My Application Stand Out?

Answer: To make my application stand out, I focus on showcasing my unique teaching philosophy and how it aligns with the school’s mission. 

I include specific examples of successful projects or initiatives I led in previous roles. Personalizing the letter to the school and the specific job, rather than using a generic template, also helps me stand out.

Q: Should I Mention My Experience With Special Education?

Answer: Absolutely. In my letters, I always mention any experience I have with special education, as it demonstrates my ability to cater to diverse learning needs. I share specific instances where I’ve successfully integrated inclusive teaching practices or adapted curriculum for students with special needs.

Q: How Important Is It to Include Extracurricular Experience?

Answer: Including extracurricular experience is very important, especially if it’s relevant to the job. In my letters, I discuss my involvement in after-school programs or clubs, showcasing my commitment to student development beyond academics. It also highlights my ability to engage students in different contexts.

Q: Can I Share a Challenge I Overcame in Teaching?

Answer: Sharing a challenge I’ve overcome in teaching can be powerful. It not only shows my problem-solving skills but also my resilience and commitment to improving as an educator. I make sure to describe the challenge, how I addressed it, and the positive outcomes that resulted from my actions

Related Articles

Score the teacher assistant job with a strong introduction letter, teaching assistant cover letter no experience: how to draft it right, sample teacher introduction letter to parents: free & effective, letter of intent for renewal of contract in teaching: how to draft it right, writing a resume for teacher assistant with no experience (free sample), writing a teacher moving letter to parents, leave a comment cancel reply.

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

IMAGES

  1. 20+ Job Application Letter for Teacher Templates

    teaching application letter sample

  2. LETTER OF APPLICATION FOR TEACHERS ~ Sample & Templates

    teaching application letter sample

  3. 22+ Application Letter Templates in Doc

    teaching application letter sample

  4. FREE 13+ Sample Letter of Application Templates in PDF

    teaching application letter sample

  5. 12+ Job Application Letter for Teacher Templates

    teaching application letter sample

  6. Elementary Teacher Cover Letter Sample & Guide

    teaching application letter sample

VIDEO

  1. Application Letter for the post of Teacher

  2. LETTER TO EDITOR

  3. Application Letter

  4. Sample of letter

  5. Workload Reduction Request Letter

  6. Employee Retention Request Letter

COMMENTS

  1. 12 Excerpts from Sample Application Letters for Teacher Positions

    Sample Applicant Letters - Three Introduction Paragraphs It is with great pleasure to present my resume to you for a Special Education Teacher position with ABC School District. I have earned a Bachelor of Education in Elementary Education and Florida Teaching Certification.

  2. Teacher Cover Letter Example and Template for 2024

    Eliza Green Alvada, Ohio 771-555-0199 [email protected] March 10, 2023 Mr. Dennis Hill Fairfield Elementary School 7878 Melody Lane Alvada, Ohio 44802 Dear Mr. Dennis Hill, I'm writing to discuss the available second-grade teacher position at Fairfield Elementary School.

  3. Teacher Cover Letter Example & Writing Tips

    Make your application stand out by downloading our teacher cover letter sample and using our writing tips for guidance. January 24, 2024 Build My Cover Letter Now 4.7 AVERAGE RATING 47 people've already rated it View Text Format Download If you want to give your application a unique look, use a fresh template for your cover letter. View Example

  4. Teacher Cover Letter Examples—Real Letters Used To Get Hired

    Top teacher cover letter examples: 1. First-time teacher This letter is friendly and enthusiastic.

  5. 5 Teacher Cover Letter Examples & Templates for 2024

    5 Teacher Cover Letter Examples & Templates for 2024 Stephen Greet January 6, 2024 Though parents and students don't always recognize it, teachers work way more than the 8 to 4 school day. Lesson planning, grading, parent communication, faculty meetings, and students' extracurriculars are just some of what you do beyond classroom instruction.

  6. Teacher Cover Letter Examples + Template [2024]

    And learn how to keep it short and sweet here: Short Cover Letter Examples for a Speedy Job Application. Teacher Cover Letter Example. Maureen Casey. Teacher. 4061 Sun Valley Road. Lewiston, WA 83501. 509-780-8095. ... The sample teacher cover letter introduction is written to the school, specifically (notice the school's name mentioned). ...

  7. Sample Teacher Application Letter

    This teacher application letter sample is written by an experienced teacher who is moving to a new city and wishes to secure a teaching position in the local school district. She expresses her desire to teach a specific discipline at the elementary grade level.

  8. How to Write an Application Letter for a Teaching Job

    Download Article. 1. Read the job posting carefully and underline or highlight key terms. Before you begin writing your cover letter for a teaching position, read through the job posting with a pen or highlighter in hand. Identify the key skills, certifications, and other qualifications that the employer is seeking.

  9. How to Write a Teacher Cover Letter [with Template]

    Below are five examples of winning teacher cover letters. 1. This example offers guidance for the first-time teacher, since it can be difficult to write a cover letter without much experience to describe! This letter emphasizes volunteer work, student teaching and college experience. Source: Liveabout.com 2.

  10. New Teacher Cover Letter: Examples for First Year Teachers

    1. Create the right new teacher cover letter format and layout. To turn a modern cover letter template into a job-getting machine, follow these tips: Cover letter structure: write 3 or 4 paragraphs—no more, no less. Cover letter template: use 1-inch margins to make your first year teacher cover letter look professional.

  11. Teacher Cover Letter Examples for Experienced & New Teachers

    Two teacher cover letter examples: one for an experienced teacher and another sample cover letter for a first-year teacher. Step-by-step tips on how to write a cover letter for teaching positions that will land you more school interviews. A teaching cover letter template you can copy, adjust, and have ready in 15 minutes.

  12. How to Write a Teacher Application Letter (With an Example)

    1. Research the role and organisation Before you write your letter, you can conduct some research to decide what important and relevant details you may include in the document. Review the job posting to get more insight into the role and its responsibilities.

  13. How To Write a Teacher Cover Letter (With Examples)

    How To Write a Teacher Cover Letter (With Examples) Indeed Editorial Team Indeed Editorial Team Updated 5 August 2022 Teaching can be a rewarding career choice with very high job satisfaction. Just like any other job, the application process can be a challenge, and knowing what to include on your CV and cover letter can be difficult to determine.

  14. New Teacher Cover Letter Sample

    July 21st, 2020. Dear Ms. Gibson, It is with great excitement that I submit this letter and resume as my application for the position of Elementary School Teacher. I believe that my skills and passion for teaching would make a positive contribution to your school. I completed my Master's in Elementary Education from St. John's University.

  15. How To Write a Cover Letter for a Student Teacher (With Tips and

    When applying to student teaching jobs, it's likely that you'll have to submit a cover letter as a part of your application materials. Drafting a successful cover letter can sometimes be a challenging task, but there are a few essential guidelines you can follow to ensure you make a great first impression. ... Here is a sample cover letter for ...

  16. How To Write a Letter of Intent for a Teaching Job

    Outline your education. Highlight previous work experience. Describe your teaching style and values. Include a polite and optimistic closing. 1. Address it to a specific person. Your letter of intent should be addressed to a person instead of, " To Whom It May Concern " or " Hiring Manager.

  17. Teaching job application letter examples (+ PDF and MS Word samples

    Lagos Dear Mr. Umar, I am interested in applying for a secondary teaching position in your school. As a graduate of Yaba College of Education, I have required teaching experience on the JSS 1, 2 and 3 level, in both Physics and Mathematics.

  18. Free Student Teacher Cover Letter Example

    Looking at examples is also helpful, such as this free student teacher cover letter sample. Dear Mr. Drake, Ever since I can remember, I've wanted to teach. From playing school as a child, to joining the Future Educators of America club, I've known that I would become a teacher. I would like to take this time to let you know I am interested ...

  19. How To Write an Application for a Teaching Job

    Use this step-by-step guide to write a simple application for a teaching job to appeal to a potential employer: 1. Address it to a specific person. It is important to address your job application to a specific person. Instead of addressing it to "Principal" or "Hiring Manager", search the school website for the name of the principal or ...

  20. Cover Letter for Teaching Jobs: How to Write, Samples & Tips

    Cover Letter for Teaching Job: Checklist. Put your contact info at the top. Follow with the company information. Say hello to the hiring manager (Dear …) Paragraph 1: Introduce yourself with a great accomplishment. Paragraph 2: List the skills that make you a great fit. Paragraph 3: Show your passion for this job.

  21. Teaching Job Application Letter Sample: Free & Effective

    First Paragraph: Introduce yourself. Mention the job you're applying for and how you found out about it. Second Paragraph: Discuss your teaching philosophy and methodology. Relate it to the school's ethos. Third Paragraph: Highlight relevant experiences and achievements. Use specific examples.

  22. Sample Application Letter for Teacher Applicants of DepEd

    Principal 3 Antipolo National High School, Antipolo Dear Maam: With a burning passion to share my knowledge and experiences, I want to apply for the position of Math Teacher for Junior High school in your institution. My resume is enclosed for your review.