Career Sidekick

How to Write a Bartender Cover Letter (3 Examples)

By Ammar Ahmed

Published: January 21, 2024

Cover Letters

Ammar Ahmed

Ammar Ahmed

Writer & Career Coach

In the competitive world of bartending, first impressions matter. A well-crafted Bartender Cover Letter can be the key to standing out in a sea of applications. This article will guide you through crafting the perfect introduction, highlighting your skills and passion effectively. Ensure your cover letter doesn’t just open doors but invites you in for a promising start.

Creating a Winning Bartender Cover Letter

When applying for a Bartender role, your cover letter can be a game-changer. It’s your chance to go beyond the resume and show potential employers why you’re the right fit. To craft that winning cover letter , understanding the company and the specifics of the role is essential. Here are some tips that will help you craft an effective cover letter. 

Researching the Company and Position

Getting insights into the place you’re applying to can set your application apart:

  • Aligning with Company Values and Goals: Each establishment, whether it is a quiet neighborhood tavern or a bustling city bar, has its own unique culture and goals. Maybe they pride themselves on their selection of craft beers or their commitment to customer service. Demonstrating an understanding of these values in your cover letter demonstrates that you are not just looking for any job, but this specific job.
  • Understanding the Specific Bartender Role: Being a Bartender can mean different things in different places. Some might emphasize cocktail crafting, while others focus on efficient service during peak hours. When you demonstrate that you know what they’re specifically looking for and can provide it, your application becomes all the more compelling.

Structuring Your Cover Letter

To ensure your Bartender cover letter effectively communicates your suitability for the role, it’s essential to structure it with precision and clarity.

Here’s a breakdown of how to organize your letter to maximize impact:

  • Heading and Salutation: Start with your name, address, and contact details at the top, followed by the date. Then, address the hiring manager by name if possible. If you’re unsure of the name, “Dear Hiring Manager” for a bar or “Dear [Establishment Name] Team” can work.
  • Opening Paragraph – Grabbing Attention: Your opening should be compelling, setting the stage for why you’re interested in bartending at this particular venue. Perhaps it’s their reputation for unique cocktails or the ambiance they’ve created. Let them know what draws you to them.
  • Middle Paragraph(s) – Showcasing Your Skills and Experience: Highlight your bartending experiences, be it mixing signature cocktails, efficiently serving crowded venues, or building rapport with regulars. Use specific examples to illustrate your adaptability, knowledge, and dedication to the craft.
  • Closing Paragraph – Expressing Enthusiasm and Call to Action: Sum up your keen interest in joining their team and how you can contribute to their success. A gentle nudge, like expressing your eagerness to discuss further in an interview, can make a difference.
  • Signature and Contact Information: Conclude with a formal sign-off, like “Sincerely” or “Best regards,” followed by your handwritten or digital signature, and then your printed name. Below this, list your best contact number and professional email address to ensure they can reach you with ease.

Highlighting Relevant Skills and Experience

For a Bartender, the mix of technical skills and personal attributes creates the perfect blend for success. As you structure your cover letter, emphasizing specific skills and experiences will demonstrate that you are not just a generic applicant, but one who understands and excels at the nuances of the profession.

Here’s how to elaborate on these pivotal areas:

  • Mixology: This isn’t just about knowing how to mix drinks; it’s an art. Highlight any experience or certifications you have in crafting both classic cocktails and unique creations. If you’ve ever curated a drink menu or invented a popular cocktail, be sure to mention it. Demonstrating your expertise here showcases both your technical skill and creativity.
  • Product Knowledge: An impressive Bartender knows their inventory inside out. Discuss your familiarity with various spirits, beers, wines, and mixers. If you’ve ever educated customers on drink options or paired beverages with food items, those experiences can set you apart. This shows potential employers that you’re both knowledgeable and keen on elevating the customer’s experience.
  • Customer Service: In the bustling environment of a bar, the ability to keep customers happy is paramount. Share instances where you’ve gone above and beyond to ensure customer satisfaction. Perhaps you’ve handled challenging situations with grace or have received commendations from patrons. Emphasizing this skill illustrates your dedication to providing excellent customer service.

Tailoring Your Cover Letter

A generic cover letter can get lost in the shuffle, while a tailored one can resonate with potential employers and demonstrate your genuine interest in the role. For Bartenders , this personalization is crucial to show that you have both the specific skills and the right attitude.

Here’s how to customize your cover letter:

  • Addressing the Hiring Manager: Whenever possible, avoid generic salutations like “To whom it may concern.” Instead, do some research to find the name of the hiring manager or the person overseeing the recruitment. Addressing them directly, such as “Dear Ms. Thompson,” creates a personal connection and shows initiative.
  • Matching Job Description Keywords: Employers often use specific keywords in their job descriptions, looking for candidates who fit the bill. For a Bartender role, these might include terms like “craft cocktails,” “high-volume service,” “POS systems,” or “customer engagement.” If you spot these terms, and they apply to your experience, incorporate them naturally into your cover letter. This not only shows that you’ve read and understood the job description, but it also helps in case the establishment uses software to scan applications for specific terms.
  • Demonstrating Cultural Fit: Every bar or restaurant has its own vibe. Whether it’s a laid-back beach shack, a high-end cocktail lounge, or a lively sports bar, it’s crucial to understand and reflect that in your cover letter. If you’re applying to a craft brewery, for instance, emphasize your knowledge and passion for craft beers. For a sophisticated cocktail bar, highlight your finesse in mixology and presentation. Demonstrating that you not only have the skills but also the right personality and ethos for their establishment can significantly strengthen your application.

Providing Evidence of Your Accomplishments

For potential employers, it’s not just about what you say you can do, but what you’ve proven you can achieve. Concrete examples of your accomplishments as a Bartender can paint a vivid picture of your capabilities and dedication.

Here’s how to effectively spotlight these successes:

  • Achievements: Have you ever participated in, or better yet, won a mixology or bartending competition? Mentioning such achievements can underscore your commitment to the craft.

“Secured 1st place in the 2022 Citywide Mixology Challenge, showcasing a signature cocktail inspired by local flavors.”

Moreover, customer commendations or official recognitions at your workplace can serve as strong testimonials. For example

“Recognized as ‘Employee of the Month’ three times in 2022 for consistently receiving positive customer feedback and enhancing the overall guest experience.”

  • Relevant Projects and Outcomes: If you’ve been involved in revamping the drink menu or introducing a new beverage initiative, highlight this. For instance:

“Collaborated with the team to introduce a sustainable cocktail menu, reducing wastage by 30% and increasing sales by 15%.”

Perhaps you took the lead in organizing special event nights or mixology workshops. An example could be:

“Initiated and hosted monthly ‘Craft Cocktail Nights’ which led to a 20% increase in mid-week footfall and strengthened community engagement.”

By offering tangible evidence of your accomplishments, you not only showcase your skills but also demonstrate your positive impact and the value you bring to an establishment.

Avoiding Common Mistakes

Even if you have the perfect set of skills for a Bartender position, certain mistakes in your cover letter can overshadow your strengths and compromise your application.

By steering clear of these pitfalls, you can present yourself in the best light:

  • Lack of Enthusiasm: In the vibrant world of bartending, enthusiasm can be as crucial as expertise. Bars and restaurants want staff who are passionate about their role. Ensure your cover letter radiates genuine excitement for both the profession and the specific establishment you’re applying to.
  • Ignoring the Job Description: Every Bartender position has its nuances, and establishments are keen on candidates who pay attention to these details. Ignoring specifics, like a requirement for craft beer knowledge or experience with large events, can make you seem inattentive or mismatched. Tailor your cover letter by addressing the unique points highlighted in the job description.
  • Overlooking Grammar and Spelling: While bartending might not be a desk job, attention to detail is still crucial. Spelling errors or grammatical mistakes can imply carelessness, which isn’t a trait any bar would want, especially when accuracy is key in mixing drinks or managing cash. Proofread your letter multiple times and consider using grammar-check tools.
  • Not Mentioning Relevant Certifications: Bartending often requires specific certifications, like responsible alcohol service training. If you have certifications that are pertinent to the job, especially if they’re mentioned in the job description, ensure they’re prominently mentioned. This not only showcases your qualifications but also your commitment to safety and professionalism.

By avoiding these common missteps, you can ensure your cover letter makes the right impression and accurately showcases your capabilities and dedication to the role.

Related Article: Explore side hustles that can help you make money as a Bartender .

Bartender Cover Letter Examples

The key to writing a great Bartender cover letter is to effectively combine your professional experience with the specific needs of the establishment you are applying to. Through our discussions, we have established key factors and strategies that can guide the process.

To better illustrate, let’s take a look at some concrete examples that capture the essence of what a standout Bartender cover letter should look like.

Nightclub Bartender Cover Letter

Nightclubs demand Bartenders who not only possess strong mixology skills but also thrive in high-energy environments. When applying to a nightclub, it’s vital to highlight your ability to manage large volumes of orders, interact positively with diverse clientele, and contribute to the overall vibe of the club.

Here’s how you can craft a cover letter that resonates with the nightclub scene:

Lucas Green 389 Pulse Avenue Miami, FL 33132 [email protected] 305-555-0987

October 20, 2023

Sophia Dawson Lunar Vibes Nightclub 1920 Miami Beach Blvd Miami, FL 33139

Dear Ms. Dawson,

I am reaching out to express my enthusiasm for the Nightclub Bartender position at Lunar Vibes Nightclub. With six years of experience working in some of Miami’s most buzzing nightclubs, I have developed a knack for crafting innovative cocktails that align perfectly with the pulsating beats and vibrant atmosphere of such venues.

In my previous role at Neon Nights Club, I was known for introducing the “Miami Magic,” a cocktail that uniquely captured the spirit of the city and became a crowd favorite. My expertise lies in:

  • Mixology: Creating signature cocktails that not only taste exquisite but also resonate with the nightclub’s theme.
  • Efficiency: Seamlessly handling high-volume orders without compromising on quality or presentation.
  • Customer Interaction: Engaging with patrons to ensure they have a memorable experience, which often translates to repeat visits and positive word-of-mouth.

Beyond my bartending skills, I am proficient with modern POS systems and hold a certification in Responsible Beverage Service Training. I am keen to bring my passion for the craft and my understanding of the nightlife clientele to Lunar Vibes Nightclub.

I’m confident that my blend of creativity, speed, and customer service can contribute significantly to the unparalleled experience Lunar Vibes is known for. I am eager to discuss further how I can be a valuable addition to your team. Please find my resume attached for your perusal.

Thank you for considering my application. I am available at 305-555-0987 for any further discussions.

Yours Sincerely, Lucas Green

This cover letter exemplifies how understanding the demands of a specific venue, like a nightclub, and showcasing relevant experience can make a candidate stand out in the competitive bartending scene.

Restaurant Bartender Cover Letter

Restaurants present a unique setting where Bartenders often cater to patrons looking for a more relaxed, intimate, or sophisticated experience compared to the bustling nightclub scene. In a restaurant, Bartenders are not just mixing drinks; they’re complementing meals, understanding the nuances of food pairing, and ensuring a refined dining experience.

Below is an example of a cover letter tailored for a Bartender position in a restaurant setting:

Elena Martinez 452 Vineyard Street San Francisco, CA 94105 [email protected] 415-555-0568

Christopher Lee The Gourmet Bistro 288 Fine Dining Lane San Francisco, CA 94111

Dear Mr. Lee,

I am writing to express my sincere interest in the Restaurant Bartender position at The Gourmet Bistro. With over seven years of experience working in upscale dining establishments, I’ve honed my craft in curating drinks that perfectly complement gourmet meals, ensuring an unparalleled dining experience for patrons.

During my tenure at Bella Cucina, I collaborated closely with the culinary team, understanding the flavor profiles of each dish and creating cocktails or suggesting wines that would enhance those flavors. My dedication to the art of drink-making led me to design a seasonal cocktail menu that mirrored the restaurant’s changing food menu. Key areas of my expertise include:

  • Wine Knowledge: Assisting guests in selecting wines that pair harmoniously with their chosen dishes.
  • Culinary Collaboration: Working alongside chefs to understand and complement their culinary vision with apt beverages.
  • Customer Service: Guiding diners through their beverage options, ensuring they have a holistic dining experience.

Additionally, I have attended multiple wine-tasting courses and hold a certificate in Advanced Mixology, underscoring my commitment to continuous learning and excellence in my field.

I am eager to bring my refined palate, extensive beverage knowledge, and commitment to impeccable service to The Gourmet Bistro. I am confident that my skills and experiences align seamlessly with the sophisticated dining experience your esteemed establishment offers.

Thank you for considering my application. I have attached my resume for your review and am available at 415-555-0568 for further discussions.

Your Faithfully,

Elena Martinez

Elena’s cover letter is a testament to how a Bartender’s role in a restaurant goes beyond just mixing drinks. It’s about creating a complete and memorable dining experience for every guest.

Bartender Cover Letter With No Experience

Entering the bartending field without direct experience can be intimidating. However, if approached correctly, it’s an opportunity to showcase your transferable skills, willingness to learn, and genuine passion for the industry.

For those new to bartending but armed with other relevant experiences and attributes, here’s how you can make a compelling case:

Jordan Taylor 173 Fresh Start Avenue Austin, TX 78701 [email protected] 512-555-0129

Dylan Richards Craft & Pour Bar 456 Modern Lane Austin, TX 78705

Dear Mr. Richards,

While I may not have direct bartending experience, my strong background in customer service, combined with my genuine passion for the world of beverages, makes me confident in my ability to excel as a Bartender at Craft & Pour Bar. I’m eager to bring my enthusiasm, dedication, and willingness to learn to your esteemed establishment.

In my previous role as a server at The Urban Eatery, I developed a knack for:

  • Customer Interaction: Building rapport with guests, ensuring they always feel welcomed and attended to.
  • Time Management: Juggling multiple tasks efficiently during busy shifts, always prioritizing customer needs.
  • Quick Learning: I frequently familiarized myself with new menu items and specials, allowing me to make suitable recommendations to patrons.

While I may not have formal bartending experience, I have undertaken a bartending course at the Austin Beverage Academy, which has provided me with foundational knowledge in mixology and drink preparation. My drive to continuously learn and improve is evident from:

Passion for the Craft: Regularly experimenting with drink recipes at home, deepening my understanding of flavor profiles.

Adaptability: Quickly adjusting to new environments, rules, and protocols, as evidenced by my track record in past roles.

I am genuinely excited about the prospect of joining Craft & Pour Bar, where I believe my passion for beverages, coupled with my customer service skills, can be channeled effectively. I am committed to undergoing any additional training necessary and absorbing as much as I can from the seasoned professionals at your bar.

Thank you for considering my application. I have attached my resume for your convenience and am available at 512-555-0129 for any further discussions.

Kind regards,

Jordan Taylor

Jordan’s cover letter is a great example of how to pivot from a lack of direct experience by highlighting transferable skills and showcasing a genuine eagerness to enter the bartending world. For further guidance, you can check out our article on how to write killer cover letters when you have no experience in the field . 

Ammar Ahmed

About the Author

Read more articles by Ammar Ahmed

Continue Reading

How to Write a Graphic Designer Cover Letter (3 Examples)

How to write a paralegal cover letter (2 examples), how to write a medical assistant cover letter (3 examples), how to write a research assistant cover letter (3 examples), how to write a software engineer cover letter (3 examples), how to write a hr cover letter (4 examples), how to write a data analyst cover letter (3 examples), create a professional resume for free.

No-sign up or payment required.

ResumeCoach

Bartender Cover Letter Example

Find out how to get the blend right with your Bartender cover letter today. Use ResumeCoach’s expert guidance and example cove a cover letter can make a positive impact letter now to give your application an edge over the competition.

RC Team

Resume and Cover Letter Experts

CV template Classic

Bartender Cover Letter

Are you worried your application will get easily rejected? Unfortunately, many bartending applicants send in a resume only to be ignored or turned down before even getting an interview.

That’s where a detailed cover tailored to a bar’s needs and expectations comes in.

It can add emphasis to the skills and expertise on your resume. By adding those qualities you can prove to a hiring manager that you are truly motivated to work in their bar.

But are you unsure of how to write it, or if it’s even worth it? 

We can tell you that it can make a positive impact , and if you aren’t certain how to draft a letter, we’ll explain the following aspects of a job-winning letter in this guide:

  • How to tailor your letter to specific bars
  • How to impress employers with your customer service skills
  • Which bartending equipment you should mention
  • Why getting feedback is always important before submitting a cover letter

It’s also essential to keep in mind that any cover letter needs to be submitted with a well-crafted resume . Use our easy-to-use resume builder to give your application a further boost.

Cover Letter Example for Bartender

Looking over a sample letter before diving into your own is essential to understanding how you should structure your cover letter . 

The following Bartender Cover Letter sample can give you the recipe for creating the perfect application. 

Smith Johnson

Company name

Company address

Dear Mr. Smith,

I’m reaching out regarding the Bartender position at The Cover Letter Lounge. As a recent graduate of the American Bartending School, I’m eager to merge my training with your bar’s esteemed reputation.

My course familiarized me with key tools like cocktail shakers, strainers, and point-of-sale systems. Though new to bartending, my past retail role refined my customer service, where listening and personalizing service were critical, and I achieved a 99% customer service approval rating.

The Cover Letter Lounge’s upscale ambiance matches my training in classic cocktails. I’m confident that my skills, particularly my mixology expertise and vast knowledge of beers and wine, will resonate with your clientele.

I believe I can seamlessly fit into The Elite Lounge’s atmosphere and am eager to discuss this potential match.

Kind regards, John Doe

Address Phone number Email address

How to Tailor Your Letter to a Specific Bar

One of the main objectives when writing a cover letter is to show how motivated you are to become a certain bar’s new Bartender. 

That means you’ll need to tailor your letter to each bar you want to apply to. Here’s why:

  • A customized cover displays genuine interest and initiative from your end, qualities that employers value.
  • You immediately differentiate yourself from any other candidates who wrote a generic letter .
  • You could be seen as valuable addition to the team who can align with the bar’s style and ideals.

Now that you’ve found out why you should go through the trouble of researching where you want to work, it’s time to understand how to make your letter speak specifically to the bar’s values .

Here are a few tips to show that you’ve gone the extra mile and demonstrate that you know what the bar is all about.

  • Address the manager or owner by name : Personalizing your letter by addressing it to the actual hiring manager or owner of the bar can make a lasting impression. This information can often be found on the bar’s website or through a quick phone call.
  • Tailor your skills to the bar’s clientele : Mention skills and knowledge that are in line with the bar’s customers. For instance, if it’s a bar frequented by business professionals, emphasizing your ability to make classic cocktails might be beneficial.
  • Go with the bar’s culture : Explain how you understand the bar’s customers and vibes and that you will comfortably fit in. 

Here’s an example of a small section that works these tips into the cover letter: 

Having honed my craft at The Gatsby, a vintage speakeasy, I’ve mastered classic cocktails popular among business professionals, aligning seamlessly with Thompson’s Lounge’s upscale ambiance. Your establishment’s culture feels familiar, and I’m eager to bring my tailored experience to your esteemed bar.

One way to ensure that you add all of these aspects into your letter is to use our cover letter guide and builder . Ensure you create a high-quality letter with no mistakes. 

Bring Attention to Your Customer Service Skills

When we put bartending and skills together in the same sentence, we often imagine a Bartender with a mixer in hand, shaking it up and pouring a martini. 

While being able to mix drinks is obvious if you want to land a job, employers want to know if you can create a good vibe with clients and even earn bigger tips . 

It’s not as simple as writing “I have great people skills”. You’ll need to add a bit more, here’s how:

  • Draw from experience : Mention times you’ve turned a customer’s night around, through a personalized drink or hearing them out.

Once, on a particularly busy night, I noticed a patron looking quite down. Taking a moment to create a personalized drink and lend an ear, I transformed their evening into a memorable one.

  • Talk about your training : If you’re an entry-level bartender this can be especially helpful. Highlight what you learned in training and the courses you have completed. 

Although new to bartending, my intensive training at the XYZ Bartending Academy taught me the nuances of mixology and the significance of the customer experience. I’ve successfully completed courses in cocktail creation and customer engagement.

  • Reference unrelated jobs : If you’ve worked in retail or other service-type roles you can explain how your transferable customer service skills helped you then and can help you now. 

During my time in retail at ABC Store, I honed my customer service skills by attentively listening to client needs and resolving issues promptly. These skills will be invaluable behind the bar, ensuring every patron feels valued and satisfied.

Other Skills You’ll Need as a Bartender

Of course, customer service skills aren’t the only qualities a Bartender should have. We recommend finding ways to include some of the following skills throughout your cover letter: 

  • Mixology expertise
  • Salesmanship
  • Multitasking
  • Cash handling
  • Alcohol law knowledge
  • Conflict resolution
  • Wine and beer expertise 

If you touch on those skills, you’ll prove you can handle the duties of a Bartender at just about any bar in the country. 

Mention Your Expertise With Bartending Equipment

There are even more ways to quickly grab an employer’s attention and avoid having your application ignored. 

One of the best things you can do to impress a bar owner or manager is to mention that you are an expert with different bartending equipment .

Some typical equipment that you can mention includes:

  • Cocktail shakers
  • Speed pourers
  • Point of sale systems

Describing your experience with any of these will boost your chances of getting an interview . Below is an example of how you can mention your expertise with these pieces of equipment.

In my previous role at Job Search Bar, I sharpened my skills with essential bartending tools such as cocktail shakers, bar spoons, strainers, and muddlers. My proficiency with beer taps ensured swift service, and my familiarity with point-of-sale systems ensured accurate billing and seamless customer transactions.

What Equipment to Bring Up if You’re a Newbie Bartender

Have you never worked full-time with any bartending equipment before? 

There’s still a recipe for success. Emphasizing your familiarity , even if it’s from self-study or bartending school, can show potential employers your commitment and enthusiasm. 

Here are a few pointers for entry-level bartenders on what equipment-related topics to mention:

  • Bartending school tools : If you’ve attended a bartending course, highlight the tools you’ve been introduced to, even if it was in a controlled, academic setting. 
  • Personal practice : Stressing your initiative, like using a cocktail shaker to make drinks for friends or family, can communicate your passion for bartending.

It’s also not the end of the world to admit what you don’t know. Express a genuine eagerness to learn as if it were a motivation letter , and you can still earn points with a hiring manager.

Get Feedback Before Handing in Your Letter

Before you begin submitting your applications to all the bars in your area, don’t be afraid to seek some feedback . 

Here’s how it can help you out:

  • Gives expert insight : Experienced bartenders know what hiring managers are looking for. Their experience can help your cover letter come across with the right tone and details.
  • Boosts confidence : Submitting your letter after a professional once-over ensures you’re showcasing the best of what you offer.

Feedback can provide you with a few extra ideas or allow you to correct any errors on your application. 

Writing a cover letter that includes your knowledge, motivation, and skills may be a difficult cocktail to stir up. 

However, with our online tools and advice, it can be simple to do if you remember to:

  • Match your letter to the bar’s culture and clients
  • Mention how well you use your customer service skills
  • Discuss your knowledge of bartending equipment
  • Highlight the skills that will ensure you’re a successful Bartender 

With these tips in mind, you can mix up the perfect cover letter and application that will satisfy any employer’s thirst and help you land interviews right away.

CV template Modern

Trouble getting your Cover Letter started?

Beat the blank page with expert help.

StandOut CV

Bartender cover letter examples

Andrew Fennell photo

If you’re hoping to secure a role as a bartender, then you need to serve up a strong cover letter.

It needs to be the perfect mix of your top skills and experience, and it must grab the recruiter’s attention.

For tips and advice on how to do this, check out our step-by-step guide below, complete with detailed bartender cover letter examples to help you.

CV templates 

Bartender cover letter example 1

Bartender cover letter 1

Bartender cover letter example 2

Bartender cover letter 2

Bartender cover letter example 3

Bartender cover letter 3

The Bartender cover letter examples above should give you a good idea of the type of content you need to include in your own cover letter, and how it should be structured.

But if you’re really looking to wow recruiters and get your CV in front of the very best employers, then check out our guidance on how to write your own effective cover letter below.

How to write a Bartender cover letter

A simple step-by-step guide to writing your very own winning cover letter.

How to write a cover letter

Write your cover letter in the body of an email/message

You should write your cover letter in the body of the email (or messaging system if sending via a job board) and never attach it as a document.

The reason for this?

You want your cover letter to start connecting with the recruiter from the moment they open your application.

If they have to open a document to read it, it will slow things down and they may not even bother to open it.

Write cover letter in body of email

Start with a friendly greeting

Cover letter address

Start you cover letter with a greeting that is professional but friendly.

This will build rapport with the recruiter whilst showing your professionalism.

  • Hi, hope you’re well
  • Hi [insert recruiter name]
  • Hi [insert department/team name]

Avoid overly formal greetings like “Dear sir/madam ” unless applying to very traditional companies.

How to find the contact’s name?

Addressing the recruitment contact by name is an excellent way to start building a strong relationship. If it is not listed in the job advert, try these methods to find it.

  • Check out the company website and look at their  About page. If you see a hiring manager, HR person or internal recruiter, use their name. You could also try to figure out who would be your manager in the role and use their name.
  • Head to LinkedIn , search for the company and scan through the list of employees. Most professionals are on LinkedIn these days, so this is a good bet.

Identify the role you are applying for

After you have greeted the recruiter, it’s important to state the job you are applying to.

Recruiters are often managing multiple vacancies, so they need to know exactly which job you are referring to.

Be as specific as possible and use a reference number if you can find one.

Here are some examples you can use;

  • I am interested in applying for the role of admin assistant with your organisation.
  • I would like to apply for the role of Sales assistant (Ref: 4057393)
  • I would like to express my interest in the customer service vacancy within your retail department
  • I saw your advertisement for a trainee project manager on Reed and would like to apply for the role.

See also: CV examples – how to write a CV – CV profiles

Highlight your suitability

The main purpose of your cover letter is to excite recruiters and make them eager to open your CV. And you achieve this by quickly demonstrating your suitability to the job you are applying for.

Take a look at the job adverts you are applying for, and make note of the most important skills being asked for.

Then, when you write your cover letter, make your suitability the focal point.

Explain how you meet the candidate requirements fully, and why you are so well suited to carry out the job.

This will give recruiters all the encouragement they need to open your CV and consider your application.

Cover letter tips

Keep it short and sharp

A good cover letter is short and sharp, getting to the point quickly with just enough information to grab the attention of recruiters.

Ideally your cover letter should be around 4-8 sentences long – anything longer will risk losing the attention of time-strapped recruiters and hiring managers .

Essentially you need to include just enough information to persuade the reader to open up your CV, where the in-depth details will sit.

Sign off professionally

To finish off your cover note, add a professional signature to the bottom, stating your important contact details and information.

This not only provides recruiters with multiple means of contacting you, but it also adds a nice professional appearance to the cover letter, which shows that you know how to conduct yourself in the workplace.

Include the following points;

  • A friendly sign off – e.g. “Warm regards”
  • Your full name
  • Phone number (one you can answer quickly)
  • Email address
  • Profession title
  • Professional social network – e.g. LinkedIn

Here is an example signature;

Warm regards,

Aaron Smith Customer service professional 075557437373 [email protected] LinkedIn

Quick tip : To save yourself from having to write your signature every time you send a job application, you can save it within your email drafts, or on a separate document that you could copy in.

Email signatures

What to include in your Bartender cover letter

So, what type of information should you write about in your Bartender cover letter?

The specifics will obviously depend on your profession and the jobs you are applying to, but these are the key areas you should be covering.

  • Your industry experience – Tell recruiters the types of companies you have been working for and the roles you have held in the past.
  • Your qualifications – Highlight your most important relevant qualifications to show employers you are qualified to do the roles you are applying for.
  • The impact you have made – Demonstrate the positive impact you have made for employers in previous jobs. Have you saved money? Improved processes? Made customers happy?
  • Your reasons for moving – Employers will want to know why you are leaving your current/previous role, so provide them with a brief explanation here.
  • Your availability – When will you be able to start a new job ? Check your current contract to find out your notice period if you are in a position already.

Bartender cover letter templates

Copy and paste these Bartender cover letter templates to get a head start on your own.

Good day Rory

I hope you’re well.

I am thrilled to apply for the Head Bartender role at Sessions, as advertised on Career Jet. With a commitment to exceptional customer service, I am eager to bring my leadership and bartending expertise to your establishment, which is known as a premier destination for outstanding cocktails and hospitality.

As a Bartender at The Ned for the past 12 years, I have gained numerous opportunities to showcase my abilities in mixology mastery including introducing signature drinks which increased beverage sales by 20%, and customer engagement where I maintained a 97% CSAT rating measured by feedback surveys. I am also passionate about boosting customer engagement to drive business success, with a proven history of boosting brand awareness by 40% through utilising social media marketing to promote speciality offerings and themed events.

Please feel free to reach out to me to schedule an interview at your earliest convenience. Thank you for considering my application.

Kind regards

Kyle Joseph ¦ 07777777777 ¦ [email protected]

Good day Caleb

I am seeking a new challenge, which is my reason for applying for the Bartender position advertised by Treehouse London on LinkedIn. As a Bartender with 6 years of experience, a flair for mixology, and a dedication to delivering outstanding customer service, I am excited to bring my creativity to your establishment.

I have a profound understanding of crafting unique cocktails, fostering a lively atmosphere, and building lasting relationships with patrons in my current role at Soho House & Co, which is regarded as one of the most upscale venues across the UK.

During this role, I had the privilege of recommending inventory management strategies that reduced beverage waste by 25%, as well as introducing a loyalty programme that resulted in a 30% increase in repeat business. I also lowered average service time by 15% through implementing enhanced bartending processes.

I welcome the opportunity to discuss how my skills and experience align with the needs of your organisation during an interview and I am available at your convenience.

Mark Walters ¦ 07777777777 ¦ [email protected]

Good morning, Lewis

I am thrilled to apply for the position of Junior Bartender at Edwardian Hotels London. As an enthusiastic and aspiring bartender with a strong passion for mixology and delivering first-rate service, I am eager to bring my dedication, creativity, and positive attitude to your organisation.

Although I am new to the professional bartending scene, I have gained valuable knowledge and practical experience through mixology courses and hands-on training. I have also previously engaged in part-time opportunities at Heartwood Inns during 10 local hospitality events, where I enjoyed working alongside high-performing colleagues and contributing towards improving guest experiences by 20% through ensuring prompt drink delivery, as well as assisting with minimising costs by 15% due to efficient stick control.

I am confident in my ability to quickly learn and adapt to the fast-paced environment of a bustling bar, while consistently maintaining a friendly and welcoming demeanour, and I am keen to attend an interview to discuss my passion and training in more detail. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Chris Milton ¦ 07777777777 ¦ [email protected]

Writing an impressive cover letter is a crucial step in landing a Bartender job, so taking the time to perfect it is well worth while.

By following the tips and examples above you will be able to create an eye-catching cover letter that will wow recruiters and ensure your CV gets read – leading to more job interviews for you.

Good luck with your job search!

bartender intern cover letter

Build my resume

bartender intern cover letter

  • Resume builder
  • Build a better resume in minutes
  • Resume examples
  • 2,000+ examples that work in 2024
  • Resume templates
  • 184 free templates for all levels
  • Cover letters
  • Cover letter generator
  • It's like magic, we promise
  • Cover letter examples
  • Free downloads in Word & Docs

3 Bartender Cover Letter Examples Made for You in 2024

Stephen Greet

  • Bartender Cover Letter
  • Server Bartender Cover Letter
  • Entry-Level Bartender Cover Letter
  • Writing Your Bartender Cover Letter

You’re a mixology pro who knows how to create an excellent experience when customers want to unwind and enjoy their favorite drinks. Drinks are mixed, ages are verified, and the bar is kept organized with you on staff. 

Now it’s time to create a cover letter , a fine-tuned cocktail representing your top skills and experiences that will complement your bartender resume and fit in with any company’s needs. 

When you have such a well-versed skill set , it can feel tough to get the right mixture of abilities down in a one-page cover letter. You can use our bartender cover letter examples and AI cover letter generator as guides to success.

bartender intern cover letter

Bartender Cover Letter Example

USE THIS TEMPLATE

Microsoft Word

Google Docs

Block Format

Bartender cover letter template

Copy this text for your bartender cover letter!

123 Fictional Avenue Phoenix, AZ 85142 (123) 456-7890

August 20, 2023

Amelia Moore The Duce 123 Fictional Avenue Phoenix, AZ 85142

Dear Ms. Moore,

As an aficionado of all things vintage and a skilled craft bartender, The Duce’s unique blending of a Prohibition-era vibe with a modern touch has always caught my attention. Your venue strikes a chord with my ideation of an engaging bartender role, where my ability in flair bartending, familiarity with bar equipment, and creativeness with garnishes can be appreciated and utilized.

I recently served as a flair bartender at Little Rituals, a charming lounge known for an extensive cocktail list and small plates menu. My flair bartending skills with acrobatic maneuvers got people talking and boosted guest engagements by up to 42% in the evening rush hours. With the added spotlight, the venue’s nightly sales leaped by 27%.

At The Breadfruit & Rum Bar, a classy joint offering a wide range of seafood, rum, and rum-focused cocktails, I operated and maintained bar equipment—taps, shakers, blenders, you name it. My prompt and efficient handling of the bar operations cut down service times by 32%, enhancing customer satisfaction benchmarks by 29%.

Over to the Whining Pig, where bartending doubles as art—I got to put an innovative flair to garnishing techniques. I developed unique garnishing styles for over 60 cocktails on our menu, making each drink a visual delight that wowed our guests. This extra touch led to an increase in repeat customers by 37% in six months.

My career path has provided me with a unique blend of skills that perfectly aligns with The Duce’s flair for unique entertainment and refreshing experiences. My expertise and passion for the craft will complement your exceptional team by a great measure. I’m excited about the prospect of joining your team and the opportunity to discuss my candidacy further. Thank you for your time and consideration.

Leila Azizi

Enclosures: Resume Application 2 letters of recommendation

Why this cover letter works

  • Being a “people’s role,” emphasize how your proficiency in people and sales skills, mixology, teamwork, relevant equipment, and time management impacted previous workplaces.

Level up your cover letter game

Relax! We’ll do the heavy lifiting to write your cover letter in seconds.

Server Bartender Cover Letter Example

Server bartender cover letter template

Copy this text for your server bartender cover letter!

123 Fictional Avenue Chicago, IL 60601 (123) 456-7890

Sophia Scott The Aviary 123 Fictional Avenue Chicago, IL 60601

Dear Ms. Scott,

Upon discovering the server bartender role at The Aviary, I was compelled to apply, given your reputation for crafting multisensory experiences. An impressive Google rating of 4.8/5 from over 1100 customer reviews attests to The Aviary’s incredible success and impact, and I am keen to contribute to your team and offerings.

My last endeavor was at the esteemed Metropolitan Brewing, where my extensive knowledge of wine varietals, beer brews, and cocktail constructions contributed to a 33% improvement in customer satisfaction and increased beverage-focused reviews. Recommending pairings for complex dishes based on patrons’ preferences resulted in a 19% increase in beverage sales.

At Barrelhouse Flat, my expertise in and enthusiasm for beer service helped increase return patronage by 22%. Regular customers valued my informative narratives about specific brews, building a richer appreciation and further intrigue in our varied offerings. In the spirit of creating the unexpected, I introduced a cocktail of the month program at Eden. Powered by my skills in mixology and understanding of flavor profiles, the initiative boosted social media engagement by 37%.

The Aviary’s commitment to challenging and redefining a night out resonates with my desire to push the boundaries of hospitality. I seek to contribute to shaping exceptional experiences for patrons while adhering to your establishment’s innovative spirit. Thank you for considering my application. I’m eager to discuss how I can bring good vibes and value to The Aviary.

Emelia Mazur

  • Don’t just talk about your knowledge of and ability to serve food and beverages with confidence. Show how your personality (think enthusiasm and communication skills) helped generate quantifiable impact in your previous roles.

Entry-Level Bartender Cover Letter Example

Entry-level bartender cover letter template

Copy this text for your entry-level bartender cover letter!

123 Fictional Avenue Austin, TX 73301 (123) 456-7890

Harper Brown Lavaca Street Bar 123 Fictional Lane Austin, TX 73301

Dear Ms. Brown,

Pursuing a career at Lavaca Street Bar as an entry-level bartender in a city ranked among America’s booziest locations sounds like a blast. I bring skills in mixology, garnishing, and more honed through various opportunities. Given your bar’s impressive average rating of 4.3/5 from 799+ customer reviews, count on me to help bump that satisfied-customer ratio even higher.

A stint as a barback at Half Step equipped me with the hands-on experience I can bring to Lavaca Street Bar. Over the course of 18 months, I facilitated the preparation of 243 unique drink recipes. Not only did I polish my garnishing skill, but I also maintained a supremely tidy and organized workspace. These experiences have ingrained in me a solid handle on the craft of mixology.

At Midnight Cowboy, a connection with and excellent service to returning customers culminated in a 23% increase in repeat patronage. Engaging chats and thoughtful drink recommendations were all part of the game. Additionally, implementing a novel system for organizing and cleaning equipment at The Dogwood Rock Rose led to a 17% reduction in setup time and a 28% improvement in closing time.

One thing that catches my eye is Lavaca Street Bar’s relentless drive to offer an unbeatable drinking experience. That, combined with the fact that sports enthusiasts can catch a game on numerous TVs, is pretty awesome. Relatedly, I’m stoked to align this ethos with my unique skill set and zest for all things bar-related to make the newcomers’ and regular patrons’ experiences at Lavaca Street Bar memorable.

Thank you for considering my application. I’d love to have a chat about how my skills and passion match your vision and can contribute to your establishment’s continued success.

Niamh Doyle

  • But again, don’t hold back from narrating experiences relevant to the role. For maximum impact, infuse the outcomes of past work stints (complemented by real figures) into your entry-level bartender cover letter.

Related cover letter examples

  • Customer Service
  • Entry Level
  • Career Change

Crafting an Effective Bartender Cover Letter

Salesperson pops out of computer screen to depict outselling the competition with sales cover letter

Every bar has unique aspects that draw customers in. You have everything from sports bars to experimental cocktail bars. Therefore, the requirements for each job will differ. 

When crafting your bartender cover letter, you want to review the job description to pick out key aspects of the company’s mission and the abilities they’re looking for in a bartender. That way, you can write a strong letter presenting essential skills like garnishing or free pouring to help you stand out amongst the other applicants. 

bartender intern cover letter

Preparing a strong intro and greeting for your bartending cover letter

The intro and greeting of your bartending cover letter are the same as how you’d want to make the bar feel well-branded and inviting the moment customers walk through the door. You should aim to connect with each specific company right away here. 

The first step is the greeting. Ideally, you want to address a specific contact person if you can find a hiring manager’s name in the job description or on the company website. Otherwise, simply saying “Dear [name of the bar] hiring staff” will work well too. It’s the same as learning customers’ names to give them a personalized experience. 

Next, it’s time to hook the company’s attention. The intro paragraph should relate to the bar’s mission and how your top skills fit in. For instance, how you want to use your customer service and drink pairing skills to help the company create a friendly environment with no such thing as a poorly mixed drink. 

The opener below is a nice start, but it doesn’t address anyone in specific and feels like it could be copied and pasted to any bar the applicant is applying to.

A bit too standard!

I saw your company’s job posting, and I think it would be a great opportunity to utilize my bartending skills. I’ve been in the industry for over ten years, so I should be able to handle all your needs.

Instead, aim for an opener like the one below that truly feels like the applicant is passionate about the company’s prohibition-era vibe and shows how their flair bartending skills will fit in with the company’s needs. 

A uniquely blended opener for the win!

bartender intern cover letter

Formulating the body of your bartender cover letter

Once you get into the body of your cover letter, you want to detail how your skills and achievements align with the bar’s goals. 

For example, if the bar wants to create a multisensory experience, you could write about how your flavor pairing skills and narratives about different brews helped boost customer engagement by 35% in another position.  

Using metrics whenever possible to illustrate your success in aspects like customer satisfaction or improving beverage sales will make your cover letter’s body successful.

An excellent body paragraph with a nice mix of metrics! 

bartender intern cover letter

Bringing a well-planned conclusion to your bartender cover letter

When customers prepare to leave the bar, you probably ensure all their needs are met, thank them for stopping by, and use a light call to action like “I look forward to seeing you again.” You want to craft a similarly well-planned closing for your bartending cover letter. 

Ideally, your closing paragraph should relate back to your passion for the bar’s mission and how your skills fit in, such as your passion for creating unique drinks that make an unforgettable customer experience. 

Take a look at the closing paragraph below, which could use some work. You’ll notice it doesn’t relate back to anything specific about the company, their bartending skills, or use a call to action.

Yikes, too bland!

Thanks for considering me for the bartending position. I truly believe my skills will fit in with all your needs. 

Santiago Fernandez

Instead, aim for a closer like the one below that directly relates to the Aviary’s mission to redefine a night out and how they seek to help create a great customer experience. 

A well-connected closer for the win! 

The Aviary’s commitment to challenging and redefining a night out resonates with my desire to push the boundaries of hospitality. I seek to contribute to shaping exceptional experiences for patrons while adhering to your establishment’s innovative spirit. Thank you for considering my application. I’m eager to discuss how I can bring good vibes and value to The Aviary.

You should avoid having your bartending cover letter go over one page. If you’re trying to narrow it down, focus on key skills the company is seeking, like upselling or free pouring. 

A cover letter template is helpful to properly structure your bartending experiences and speed up the application process. Just make sure you tailor the skills and how you fit in with the bar’s mission for each job you apply to, such as focusing on skills in garnishing and drink layering for a company that offers specialty cocktails. 

Ideally, try to match the company’s tone in the job description since every bar tries to achieve a unique atmosphere. For instance, a bar presenting a friendly and upbeat tone would probably look for candidates who match that, and you could also optimize by showcasing how you create an engaging and friendly atmosphere for customers. 

Create my free resume now

  • Preparation Tips
  • Interview Checklist
  • Questions&Answers
  • Difficult Questions
  • Questions to Ask

Interview Tips

  • Dress for Success
  • Job Interview Advice
  • Behavioral Interview
  • Entry Level Interview
  • Information Interview
  • Panel Interviews
  • Group Interviews
  • Phone Interviews
  • Skype Interviews
  • Second Interviews
  • Zoom Interviews
  • Job Interview Guides
  • Administrative
  • Call Center
  • Clerical Interview
  • Customer Service
  • Human Resources
  • Office Manager
  • Project Manager
  • Restaurant Jobs
  • Social Work
  • Interview Follow Up
  • Thank You Letters
  • Job References
  • Employment Tests
  • Background Checks
  • Character References
  • Accepting a Job Offer
  • Decline a Job Offer
  • Verbal Job Offer
  • Negotiate Salary
  • How to Resign
  • Job Search Strategy
  • Job Search Tips
  • Respond to Interview Request
  • Letters of Recommendation
  • Surviving a Layoff
  • Sample Resumes
  • Resume Objectives

Cover Letters

Job Descriptions

  • Job Interview Blog
  • Best Articles

Privacy Policy

  • Bartender Cover Letter

Sample Bartender Cover Letter

Knock out the competition with a winning bartender cover letter. An effective cover letter grabs the employer's attention and helps you land the job you want.

bartender intern cover letter

Before adapting this sample cover letter, read the job posting carefully in order to include the relevant details that target your application to the specific bartender job opportunity.

Make sure your cover letter clearly articulates why your skills and strengths are a good match for the position.

BARTENDER COVER LETTER EXAMPLE

Your Name Your Address Your Contact details (phone and email)

Mr Fred Ballito Hiring Manager Bradleys Bars 16 South Parkway Long Island, NY 11551

Dear Mr Ballito

I believe that I am well qualified for your bartender position, recently advertised on ABC website, and I am submitting my resume for your kind consideration.

My experience as an energetic and customer-driven bartender closely meets your needs. Key points that are relevant to your position include:

  • Expansive knowledge of spirits, wine, beer, cocktails, non-alcoholic beverages, drink preparation, presentation and pricing.
  • Successful introduction of new products including craft beers and specialty liquor via well-attended promotions and events.
  • Outstanding customer service skills resulting in a X% increase in regular customers during the last 6 months.
  • Excellent track record of effectively up-selling food and beverages.
  • Proven record of accurately and efficiently handling all cashiering duties. 

My outgoing personality and can-do approach to any task make me a valued team member and ensure that each customer enjoys the best bar experience possible. 

I would welcome the chance to meet with you to further share my skills and interest for the job.

Thank you for your time and consideration.

Winning bartender cover letter phrases

You can use these phrases to develop and build your own persuasive cover letter for the bartender job.

Select skills that are relevant to the requirements of the specific job opportunity.

  • Verifiable history of meeting and exceeding customer expectations with prompt and helpful service.
  • A professional bartender with the ability to maintain 5 star service in a high volume and demanding environment.
  • Accurately maintain inventory to avoid over-stocking and depleted supplies.
  • Demonstrated ability to make a connection with each customer resulting in increased number of "regulars".
  • Successful in using up-selling and suggestive techniques to increase sales.
  • Works with a sense of urgency to provide friendly and efficient service to teammates and customers.
  • Track record of controlling customers' alcohol intake in a professional and non-confrontational manner.
  • History of maintaining the bar, bar service areas and storerooms in a secure, tidy and organized manner.

Bartender job duties and responsibilities

The bartender job description will further help you with developing a great cover letter.

A good understanding of the key bartender duties and skills will help you write a relevant and persuasive cover letter.

Bartender resumes

Customize this bartender resume template for your own use.

bartender intern cover letter

BARTENDER RESUMES

Sample Bartender Resume

bartender intern cover letter

Bartender Job Description

bartender intern cover letter

Bar Manager Resume Example

How to write a bartender cover letter with no experience

Applying for a bartender job with little or no bar work experience can be a challenge. It is best to focus on the transferable skills and competencies that you have that are applicable to this type of work. Examples include:

  • customer service skills
  • communication skills
  • the ability to work as part of a team
  • high energy levels and enthusiasm
  • the ability  to handle a fast-paced work environment and competing demands
  • reliability and honesty

This list of bartender duties and skills will help you with your job application.

List of workplace strengths

These entry level job application resources will help you with your bartender application letter with little or no experience.

bartender intern cover letter

ENTRY LEVEL APPLICATIONS

Entry Level Cover Letters

bartender intern cover letter

Entry Level Sample Resumes

bartender intern cover letter

Entry Level Resume Objectives

Readers also liked..

Restaurant Job Descriptions

Bartender Cover Letter Tips

Waiter Cover Letter

Waiter Resume

Top 10 Interview Questions

To Top of Page

Don't Miss These Latest Updates

Problem-solving is a key skill for today's workplace. Problem-solving behavioral interview questions

Compelling sample interview answers to "Why do you want to work for this company?"

11 essential supervisor interview questions and answers plus industry specific supervisor Q&A .

How to ask for a letter of recommendation with this sample email requesting letter of recommendation .

What are the top 10 reasons for leaving your job? Find out acceptable reasons for leaving a job.

Sample employment acceptance letter and email to properly confirm your acceptance of the job offer and employment contract.

What are your strengths? Find out the 11 essential workplace strengths at list of strengths and weaknesses

Interview Preparation

Interview Questions & Answers

Interview Guides

After the Interview

The Job Offer

Latest News

© Copyright 2023  |   Best-Job-Interview.com    |   All Rights Reserved.

Home / Cover Letter Examples / Bartender Cover Letter Sample

Bartender Cover Letter Example and Guide

bartender intern cover letter

You’ve come across a bartender job opportunity, and you want to try your luck. The only problem is that y? You don’t know how to create a catchy cover letter that will land you the job.

Don’t fret.

We’ve prepared a guide that will help make the process a breeze. The cover letter will accompany your bartender resume and shed more light on your work experience and skills.

bartender intern cover letter

Bartender Job Description

To be a bartender, you don’t need to have a formal education. Often, a high school diploma should suffice although certification in bartending courses will give you an advantage.

Great social skills are a must-have for this job since it’s a service job. Therefore, a bartender needs to have people skills, be a good listener, and be friendly. No wonder, when you walk into a bar, you’ll be met with a genuine smile from the bartender.

So, what does a bartender do?

Their main role is to serve beverages and food as per customers’ requests. They mix and garnish alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages and cocktails. But that’s not all. Apart from serving delicious drinks, they are loved for being good listeners and good talkers.

Bartender positions are always in demand, and according to the U.S Bureau of Labor Statistics , bartender jobs are expected to grow by 18 percent by 2031. It’s also well-paying, with data showing that bartenders earn a median wage of $12.67 an hour.

Some of the key responsibilities of a bartender include:

  • Providing high-quality service to customers
  • Understanding and adhering to the local and national liquor laws
  • Mixing classic and creative cocktails
  • Offering suggestions based on customers' tastes and preferences
  • Opening and maintaining tabs throughout their shifts
  • Greeting and welcoming customers
  • Listening to customers to determine their preferences and taking orders
  • Maintaining a clean work area

Let's say you have all these skills, and then some. How do you highlight them and your bartending experience in a way that will impress your prospective employer? The first step is to create a compelling cover letter. Once you manage that, check out how you can create a magnificent resume

So, let’s get right to it!

How to Write a Bartender Cover Letter

Did you know that employers would pay more attention to a resume if it was accompanied by a cover letter? This means that the cover letter is an important document to include when applying for jobs.

A cover letter is useful for various reasons, including:

  • Explaining your motivation to join the prospective company
  • Describing your career objectives
  • Explaining why you changed careers
  • Explaining career gaps in your resume (if any)
  • Highlighting your professional achievements in your previous employment

Below, we share an example of a bartender cover letter and explore its sections.

A cover letter usually consists of several sections:

  • The header or letterhead
  • Introductory paragraph
  • Call to action

Let’s take a closer look at each of these sections.

Cover Letter Header

The header or letterhead comprises your personal contact information and must be placed at the top of your cover letter. It offers your employer a way of getting in touch with you if they liked your pitch.

Generally, the letterhead will contain:

  • Phone number
  • Email, LinkedIn, and Twitter profile (where applicable)
  • City/state, country, and postal code

If you know the hiring manager’s details, you should include them in the header.

Cover Letter Opening Greeting

Start with Dear + the hiring manager’s name. It's advisable to address your recipient by name. It makes your letter more personal and increases your chances of getting a response.

Cover Letter Opening/Introduction

After the pleasantries, it's time to get down to the meaty part. In a few sentences, provide an attention-grabbing preview of your qualifications.

Here, you’ll mention the position you want to apply for, where it was advertised, and show your enthusiasm to land the opportunity.

Cover Letter Body

Use this section to write about your work experience, how you trained as a bartender, job skills, and anything else that demonstrates your passion for the job. Drop several major achievements and use facts and figures to quantify those wins.

For example, describe how many customers you served per shift, how much cash you handled, and so on. Highlight some of the challenges you faced and how you resolved issues. Problem-solving is a highly sought-after skill in almost all job applications.

Show why you're the perfect match and what makes you stand out from the rest of the candidates.

Add any other relevant information here, such as gaps in your employment history since you can't explain this in your resume.

Cover Letter Conclusion

After neatly laying out what you bring to the company, thank the recipient for their time. This is the time to request an interview with a call to action. Here’s an example:

Cover Letter Closing or Sign Off

End your cover letter with your full name and provide your basic contact information. Close with a simple “Sincerely” or “Thank you” or “All my best.” You can add a digital copy of your handwritten signature below your name.

Cover Letter Writing Basics

Here are some useful tips to apply when writing your bartender cover letter:

Keep your narrative concise and brief

One study showed that recruiters only spend 7.4 seconds on your resume. So, avoid a long cover letter’s narrative and keep it short. Ideally, a cover letter should be a one-page document with a maximum of 400 hundred words.

Unless explicitly stated, keep your cover letter short. Break it into sections of around four to five paragraphs. This makes it easier to read through the content.

Craft it to be attention-grabbing

You need to create a lasting impression with your potential employer or hiring manager. Therefore, use storytelling to take the hiring manager on a journey through some of your key achievements.

To do that, you must:

  • Understand your target, hiring manager’s requirements, and tailor your narrative to match what they are looking for.
  • Write a story that demonstrates a personal example of how you’ve used your skills to manage your roles and achieve great results.
  • Try to strike a balance between being genuine and professional by avoiding being too factitious.

Avoid generic cover letters

Hiring managers and employers hate generic cover letters and resumes. They will toss yours aside if they notice it's not tailored to the job requirements.

Therefore, before applying for the position, understand the demands of your prospective employer and create a cover letter that addresses those demands.

Demonstrate your passion and motivation for the job

Motivation drives job satisfaction, happiness, and productivity, and is one of the key attributes employers look for when hiring. They want to know if you're motivated for the target job.

For instance, if you’ve decided to change careers in 2022, the cover letter offers the perfect channel to convey your motivation, passion, and commitment to the new path.

Use the right tone of voice

The tone of voice in your cover letter can influence your prospective employer’s decision-making. Therefore, along with striking the right tone of voice, you should also write in the target company’s language.

That’s why it's crucial to research your target company’s culture and expectations. That way, you’ll understand the narrative language and style to use in your cover letter.

The tone you use will vary depending on the industry. For example, in the service industry, use a tone and language that strikes a balance between formality and flexibility.

Cover Letter Mistakes to Avoid

Employers will be put off by mistakes in your cover letter as it shows a lack of attention to detail, which is a top skill for bartender jobs. Therefore, before submitting your cover letter, go through the job ad once again and make sure that the letter aligns with the specific job requirements.

Remember to:

  • Proofread to remove typos.
  • Use ordinary fonts and font sizes. There’s no reason to use splashy and exotic fonts. Furthermore, use a font size that’s legible, usually 12.
  • Keep your paragraphs short and add a space between them.
  • Avoid fluff and cliches. Use a unique language that is sincere, genuine, and respectful, yet simple to understand.
  • Leave out any irrelevant information. You only need to highlight what makes you a good bartender, not how you're good at hiking.

Closing Remarks

A powerful cover letter can give you an edge over your competition. Remember, the sole purpose of your cover letter is to get the recipient to read your resume. So, make it concise, easy to read, and fit it on one page. Avoid sending generic cover letters and create one for every job.

bartender intern cover letter

Privacy preference center

We care about your privacy

When you visit our website, we will use cookies to make sure you enjoy your stay. We respect your privacy and we’ll never share your resumes and cover letters with recruiters or job sites. On the other hand, we’re using several third party tools to help us run our website with all its functionality.

But what exactly are cookies? Cookies are small bits of information which get stored on your computer. This information usually isn’t enough to directly identify you, but it allows us to deliver a page tailored to your particular needs and preferences.

Because we really care about your right to privacy, we give you a lot of control over which cookies we use in your sessions. Click on the different category headings on the left to find out more, and change our default settings.

However, remember that blocking some types of cookies may impact your experience of our website. Finally, note that we’ll need to use a cookie to remember your cookie preferences.

Without these cookies our website wouldn’t function and they cannot be switched off. We need them to provide services that you’ve asked for.

Want an example? We use these cookies when you sign in to Kickresume. We also use them to remember things you’ve already done, like text you’ve entered into a registration form so it’ll be there when you go back to the page in the same session.

Thanks to these cookies, we can count visits and traffic sources to our pages. This allows us to measure and improve the performance of our website and provide you with content you’ll find interesting.

Performance cookies let us see which pages are the most and least popular, and how you and other visitors move around the site.

All information these cookies collect is aggregated (it’s a statistic) and therefore completely anonymous. If you don’t let us use these cookies, you’ll leave us in the dark a bit, as we won’t be able to give you the content you may like.

We use these cookies to uniquely identify your browser and internet device. Thanks to them, we and our partners can build a profile of your interests, and target you with discounts to our service and specialized content.

On the other hand, these cookies allow some companies target you with advertising on other sites. This is to provide you with advertising that you might find interesting, rather than with a series of irrelevant ads you don’t care about.

Bartender Cover Letter Example

Enhance your career prospects and find ideas for your new cover letter with this modifiable Bartender cover letter example. Copy-paste this cover letter example at no cost or modify it in any way using our proven and tested cover letter builder.

Milan Šaržík — Certified Professional Résumé Writer

Related resume guides and samples

How to craft a compelling hotel animator resume

The professional bartender’s guide to writing a perfect resume

How to build a perfect chef resume

Resume guide for landing the concierge job of your dreams

Write the ideal food preparation resume with this quick guide

Write the ideal hotel manager resume with this quick guide

Write the ideal housekeeping resume with this quick guide

How to build a job-winning restaurant manager resume

How to craft a stand-out waitress or waiter resume

Bartender Cover Letter Example (Full Text Version)

Yves reverdin.

Dear Sir/Madam,

This letter is in regard to the job advertisement posted on LinkedIn.com for the Bartender position at Marriott International hotel in Canada. I feel that my previous experience and a proven track record of achievements make me a great candidate for this role and that it would be an excellent opportunity for me to apply my knowledge and expertise.

With over four years of extensive bartending experience at the best hotels in the world, I am skilled and excel in all aspects of this role. Possessing a strong customer-oriented approach, I am especially adept at mixing beverages, preparing various world-famous cocktails, providing excellent bar service, and pro-actively participating in the development of new products. At Four Seasons hotel, where I worked for 3 years, I was also responsible for the creation of new processes which would improve the customer experience as much as possible. With the help of my colleagues, we were able to increase the customer satisfaction with provided bar services significantly from 82% to 97% within just one year.

Moreover, I am a holder of a well-recognized International Bartending Certification from the MIXOLOGY Academy, where I had a chance to gain valuable knowledge of alcoholic and non-alcohol drinks, such as beer, wine, and liquor, improve my guest services skills, and learn and practice new drink mixing techniques. On top of that, I am a detail-oriented professional with an entertaining personality, who is not afraid of new challenges and is determined to constantly learn new things and get better. I am a native French speaker with proficiency in English and Spanish. I am also confident in my teamwork and communication skills and the important ability to perform well under pressure.

I am eager to begin contributing to your team and cannot wait to hear back from you soon.

Kind regards,

Yves Reverdin 

Milan Šaržík — Certified Professional Résumé Writer

Milan Šaržík, CPRW

Milan’s work-life has been centered around job search for the past three years. He is a Certified Professional Résumé Writer (CPRW™) as well as an active member of the Professional Association of Résumé Writers & Careers Coaches (PARWCC™). Milan holds a record for creating the most career document samples for our help center – until today, he has written more than 500 resumes and cover letters for positions across various industries. On top of that, Milan has completed studies at multiple well-known institutions, including Harvard University, University of Glasgow, and Frankfurt School of Finance and Management.

Edit this sample using our resume builder.

Don’t struggle with your cover letter. artificial intelligence can write it for you..

Don’t struggle with your cover letter. Artificial intelligence can write it for you.

Similar job positions

Call Center Operator Animator Concierge Housekeeping Chef Bartender Food Preparation Hotel Manager Sales Associate Customer Support Restaurant Manager Client / Customer Relationship Manager

Related customer service resume samples

Sales Trainee Resume Example

Related customer service cover letter samples

Telemarketer Cover Letter Example

Let your resume do the work.

Join 3,600,000 job seekers worldwide and get hired faster with your best resume yet.

english template

IMAGES

  1. Bartender Cover Letter (Sample & Writing Tips)

    bartender intern cover letter

  2. Bartender Cover Letter

    bartender intern cover letter

  3. Server Bartender Cover Letter

    bartender intern cover letter

  4. Cover Letter Examples Bartender

    bartender intern cover letter

  5. Bartender Cover Letter Sample & Tips

    bartender intern cover letter

  6. Bartender Cover Letter

    bartender intern cover letter

COMMENTS

  1. Bartender Cover Letter Example and Template for 2024

    555-544-0135 [email protected] April 25, 2023 Dear Hiring Manager, My name is Brittany Menard, and I am writing to apply for the position of Bartender at Ghost Brewery. I have seven years of experience in various hospitality positions, with four years specifically in bartending.

  2. Bartender Cover Letter Examples & Expert Tips [2024]

    Bartender 7304 South Campfire Lane Greensburg, PA 15601 684-781-9468 [email protected] linkedin.com/in/florencesmith78 New York, 5/31/2019 Mr. Daniel Ragland Head of Human Resources The Phoenix Inn, Inc. 2249 Franklin Street New York City, NY 10923 Dear Daniel,

  3. Bartender Cover Letter (Sample & Writing Tips)

    Written By The Resume Genius Team Reviewed By Conrad Benz Getting hired as a bartender requires showing your knowledge of mixed drinks and exceptional customer service. Use our bartender cover letter sample below to find out how best to showcase these skills. December 28, 2023 Build My Cover Letter Now 4.6 AVERAGE RATING

  4. How to Write a Bartender Cover Letter (3 Examples)

    Published: January 21, 2024 Cover Letters Ammar Ahmed Writer & Career Coach Ammar, with his seasoned writing finesse, crafts standout content focused on careers. Boasting four years of industry experience, he melds his depth of knowledge to give readers practical tips.

  5. Bartender Cover Letter Examples & Expert Tips · Resume.io

    Written by Karl Kahler Bartender Cover Letter Example Use this Bartender cover letter example to finish your application and get hired fast - no frustration, no guesswork. This cover letter example is specifically designed for Bartender positions in 2024.

  6. Best Bartender Cover Letter Example

    Bartender cover letter (text) Jessi Watson Miami, FL 33016 (555) 555-5555 [email protected] May 03, 2023 Emily Taylor, Cougar Cruise Lines Miami, FL 33101 Phone: 555-555-5555 E-Mail: [email protected] Dear , Upon learning about the bartender posting with Cougar Cruise Lines, I was eager to contact you with my interest.

  7. Bartender Cover Letter Examples and Templates for 2024

    Use a professional template to enhance the style and presentation of your cover letter. Be sure your heading includes: Your name, title, and contact info. The current date. The addressee's details. Greet the hiring manager by name — Mr. or Ms. [Last Name]. If you can't find the hiring manager's name, use a of "Dear Hiring Manager.".

  8. How to Write a Bartender Cover Letter ( + an Example Bartender Cover

    Learn how to craft an effective bartender cover letter that highlights your skills, experiences, and passion for the industry.

  9. Bartender Cover Letter—Sample & Templates to Fill

    11/08/2023 Bartender Cover Letter—Sample & Templates to Fill You're a mixology master and a well-rounded artiste who understands the balance of flavors, aroma, and character. Use our tips and samples to prove that on your bartender resume. Aleksandra Makal Career Expert Your superpower? Existing just fine with a vitamin D deficiency.

  10. Bartender Cover Letter Example and Tips

    The following Bartender Cover Letter sample can give you the recipe for creating the perfect application. Cover Letter. Smith Johnson. Company name. Company address. Date. Dear Mr. Smith, I'm reaching out regarding the Bartender position at The Cover Letter Lounge.

  11. How to write a killer cover letter as a bartender

    To earn a position as a bartender, you need to write a cover letter that showcases both your social skills and your technical talents within the role. In this guide, we will teach you 5 essential steps for writing a job-winning cover letter as a bartender. Keep reading to learn all about:

  12. Bartender Cover Letter: How To Write + Example

    Alex Martin 123 Cocktail Lane, BarCity, BC 12345 (123) 456-7890 [email protected] October 10, 2023 Dear Hiring Manager, I am writing to express my interest in the bartender position at "Sunset Lounge." With three years of experience in dynamic bar environments, I have mastered the art of mixology and customer service.

  13. 3 Bartender cover letter examples [Get noticed]

    Hi [insert recruiter name] Hi [insert department/team name] Avoid overly formal greetings like "Dear sir/madam " unless applying to very traditional companies. How to find the contact's name? Addressing the recruitment contact by name is an excellent way to start building a strong relationship.

  14. 3 Bartender Cover Letter Examples Made for You in 2024

    (123) 456-7890 August 20, 2023 Amelia Moore The Duce 123 Fictional Avenue Phoenix, AZ 85142 Dear Ms. Moore, As an aficionado of all things vintage and a skilled craft bartender, The Duce's unique blending of a Prohibition-era vibe with a modern touch has always caught my attention.

  15. Bartender Cover Letter Sample & Tips

    Hiring Manager's Name. 123 Company Address. City, State, Zip Code. (xxx)xxx-xxxx. [email protected]. Dear [Hiring Manager's Name], My name is [Your Name], and I heard from my friend Jack Daley (a [TARGET COMPANY] regular) that a bartender position opened up recently at your establishment. I've enjoyed a few drinks myself at [TARGET ...

  16. Sample Bartender Cover Letter

    Bradleys Bars. 16 South Parkway. Long Island, NY 11551. Dear Mr Ballito. I believe that I am well qualified for your bartender position, recently advertised on ABC website, and I am submitting my resume for your kind consideration. My experience as an energetic and customer-driven bartender closely meets your needs.

  17. How to Write an Effective Bartender Cover Letter in 5 Steps

    Open your letter by providing your name, the position, the name of the company and why you're applying. In your next paragraphs, expand on your relevant skills and abilities and explain how they make you a good match for the bartender position. End your letter by thanking the reader and writing your signature. 5.

  18. Bartender Cover Letter Examples & Samples for 2024

    Free Bartender cover letter example. Dear Mr. Simlich: Upon learning of your search for a personable, customer-centric professional to fill your opening for a Bartender, I was eager to submit my resume for your review. With more than 6 years of experience providing superior bartending service in reputable dining establishments—as well as my ...

  19. Bartender Cover Letter Example and Guide

    Here are some useful tips to apply when writing your bartender cover letter: Keep your narrative concise and brief. One study showed that recruiters only spend 7.4 seconds on your resume. So, avoid a long cover letter's narrative and keep it short. Ideally, a cover letter should be a one-page document with a maximum of 400 hundred words.

  20. Bartender Cover Letter Example

    555-555-5555. [email protected]. Marriott International, Inc. Whistler, BC, Canada. 19/10/2019. Application for the position of Bartender. Dear Sir/Madam, This letter is in regard to the job advertisement posted on LinkedIn.com for the Bartender position at Marriott International hotel in Canada.

  21. How to Write a Bartender Cover Letter

    A good bartender cover letter is very important because it explains and helps grant you the chance of being interviewed by the employer. When writing a bartender application letter, you should always research the company/business beforehand to get a hold of their goals and write accordingly while demonstrating your experiences. Emphasizing other main points to cover up the lack of experience ...

  22. Bartender Cover Letter Examples

    Example 2 -Unadvertised Opening. This bartender cover letter example is from an individual who just graduated from a top bartending school in California and is looking for her first permanent job as a bartender. She is sending out resumes to lounges, clubs, restaurants and hotels all over California as she is willing to relocate.

  23. Bartender Cover Letter Examples

    Let our bartender cover letter example and writing tips help you create a strong application that will present you as a competent and competitive candidate. Do let your personality shine through when writing your letter. Honest, genuine writing will help your application stand out from a sea of canned words. Don't recycle cover letters.