Sample Cover Letter for a School Position

  • Cover Letters
  • Skills & Keywords
  • Salary & Benefits
  • Letters & Emails
  • Job Listings
  • Job Interviews
  • Career Advice
  • Work-From-Home Jobs
  • Internships

Before You Write Your Cover Letter

How to write a cover letter for a school job, what to include in the letter, sample cover letter for an education position, sending an email cover letter.

Your cover letter will be the first—and most important—impression you give to the hiring manager.  Don’t presume your resume will speak for itself, especially if you are applying for a competitive job in education.

The goal of your cover letter is to make you stand out from the rest of the applicants, and there are several ways to draft a letter that will do just that.

There is some preparation work you should do before you write your letter.

Research the school or organization that is hiring. The more you know about the organization, the easier it will be to make the best impression.

Personalize Your Letter

You can use information gathered from the research you did on the employer to personalize your letter. This will show that you wrote the cover letter specifically for the position they are looking to fill, and that you are interested enough in the job to learn about the educational institution ahead of time.

Try to Find a Contact Person

Try to find out who will be reviewing your resume. Often, it will be the head of human resources or a hiring manager, or it could be the principal of the school. Sometimes this information can be found online within the job listing. You may be able to contact the school using the phone number or email address provided in the posting.

If you can't find a contact person, it's fine to use "To Whom It May Concern" or to simply start your letter with the first paragraph.

Use a writing style that is less formal than your resume when writing your cover letter; try to show your personality. The mission of your cover letter is to highlight you, your skills, and your accomplishments and to show your sincere interest in filling the position.

Your cover letter should include the following elements:

Salutation: If you can find a contact person, address the person by name in the greeting of your letter.

First Paragraph: Following the salutation, the first paragraph should thank this person for taking the time to review your resume. Also, it should explain why you are hoping to land the position. Be sure to specifically name the job title for which you are applying.

Second Paragraph: Explain why you're a good fit. Think of one or two notable reasons you feel you would be a good fit for the position. Do not be bashful.Be honest; you want to come across as confident and earnest. In the second paragraph, talk about your education and previous experiences that make you the ideal candidate for the position they are trying to fill.

Third Paragraph: Finally, the third paragraph should includea few closing statements. Express your enthusiasm for the job and how you feel you are the ideal fit for the role. It is also okay to be assertive and say something like, “I look forward to being contacted for an interview.”

Closing and Signature: End your letter with a formal closing, followed by your signature. If you are sending a hard copy cover letter with your resume, don’t forget to sign it.

This is an example of a cover letter for a school position. Download the school position cover letter template (compatible with Google Docs and Word Online) or see below for more examples.

Sample Cover Letter for an Education Position (Text Version)

Gloria Lau 87 Washington Street Smithfield, CA 08055 555-555-5555 gloria.lau@email.com

May 10, 2021

Ms. Rachel Lee Smithfield Elementary School 123 Main Street Smithfield, CA 08055

Dear Mr. Doe,

Thank you for taking the time to review my resume. I am applying for the Prevention Educator position because I am looking to use my degree in Elementary Education, in combination with my Concentration in Sociology, in an alternative way to a traditional teaching position.

I have had the opportunities to work with children and adults of all ages and abilities while I was student teaching for Acme College, substitute teaching in local districts, working as a Museum Educator, and as the assistant trainer at a local riding stable.

I am seeking a career that will allow me to continue working with people in many different ways. I hope you will find that I am qualified for the position you are trying to fill. 

If I can provide you with any further information on my background and qualifications, please let me know. I look forward to hearing from you. I can be reached at 555-555-5555 or via email at gloria.lau@email.com.

Again, I appreciate you taking the time to review my resume.

Gloria Lau (signature hard copy letter) 

If you're sending your cover letter via email, list your name and the job title in the subject line of the email message. Include your contact information in your email signature, and don't list the employer contact information. Start your email message with the salutation. 

  • How to Address a Business or Professional Letter
  • Sample Professional Letter Formats
  • Marketing Cover Letter Example and Writing Tips
  • Sample Cover Letters for a Career Office Job Posting
  • Email Etiquette Tips for Job Seekers
  • Thank-You Letter to Send After an Interview Sample
  • Professional Letter and Email Examples
  • Welcome Aboard Letter and Email Examples
  • Cover Letter With a Referral From an Employee Example
  • Job Interview Thank-You Letter Template
  • Thank-You and Appreciation Quotes for Letters and Emails
  • Business Letter Salutation Examples
  • How to Write and Send Professional Emails
  • Special Education Cover Letter: Example and Writing Tips
  • Teacher Cover Letter Example and Writing Tips
  • Teaching Assistant Cover Letter Samples
  • Letter Writing
  • Formal Letter Writing In English
  • Application For School Teacher Job

Application for School Teacher Job | Check Format and Samples

An application for school teacher job is written by candidates applying for a teaching post in a school. It should contain information about the experience they hold  in the respective field and the reason behind joining the school as well as leaving the previous institution.

Table of Contents

How to write an application for a school teaching job, application for the post of primary teacher, sample application for the post of high school teacher, frequently asked questions on application for school teacher job.

A job application is basically like a formal letter  which reflects your entire career journey and attracts the attention of the recruiters. An application for the post of the primary teacher should be written to the principal of the school. While writing an application for the post of primary teacher, you will have to mention the years of experience you hold and the post you are applying for, along with the required documents like your CV, experience certificate, previous employment letter, certificates, Aadhar card, etc.

Samples of Application for a School Teacher Job

For a clear understanding of the format of writing an application for the post of primary teacher, you can refer to the below-provided sample letters.

12/56, LG Street

The Principal,

UI Montessori School

Old Airport Road, Mumbai

Subject: Application for the post of primary teacher

Respected Sir/Madam

I am writing in response to the advertisement in the Times of Mumbai newspaper about an opening for a Kindergarten Teacher in your esteemed institution. I am writing to express my interest in this position, and I am submitting this job application letter in support of my qualification.

After completing my graduate studies in English, I completed a Diploma in Nursery Teacher Training four years ago. Since receiving my diploma, I have worked as a pre-primary teacher at XV International School in Mumbai, and I am now looking for better career opportunities. With the necessary qualifications and experience, I am confident in my ability to educate young learners with enthusiasm. My experience in the  field has taught me a lot about dealing with children with compassion and kindness, which I believe qualifies me for this position.

I am presenting this application with the hope that you will consider it. I have enclosed my resume and my degree certificates for your kind perusal. For any additional information, please contact me by email or phone.

Yours faithfully,

Amrit Dwibedi

Mail address- [email protected]

Contact No. 9999999

Attachments:

  • Educational Certificates
  • Experience letter
  • Three months Salary Slip
  • Aadhar Card

15, Anugraha Apartments

February 16, 2022

The Principal

KHG Matriculation High School

Subject: Application for the post of high school teacher

Dear Sir/ Madam,

With reference to the advertisement on your institution’s official website, I would like to let you know that I am interested in the mentioned job role. I have recently completed my M.Ed and have worked as an intern for a period of 3 months at GRD Matriculation Higher Secondary School. With the experience I have gathered in teaching high school students, I believe I can do justice to the role at your esteemed institution. I also consider this opportunity to be a great chance to offer my services and grow professionally.

In view of this, I would like to request you to consider my application. You can take a look at the attached documents for all information regarding my educational and professional qualifications. You can contact me in case of any further queries.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Amritha Jain

Email address- [email protected]

Contact- 99999

  • Relieving Letter
  • Three months salary slip

How to write an application for the post of a teacher?

You can write the application for the post of teacher in the formal letter format expressing your interest in the job. Explain about your past experiences; make sure you do not sound overconfident.

Why do we need an application for a school teacher job?

An application letter for a school teacher job is needed to show your interest in the job and also explain your qualifications.

What are the documents required to be submitted along with the application?

For applying to the teacher’s post, you need to attach the proof of your qualifications like CV and other educational certificates. Along with that, you must provide the proof of your previous employment and salary slips. You must also enclose an identity proof.

Leave a Comment Cancel reply

Your Mobile number and Email id will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Request OTP on Voice Call

Post My Comment

application for a job in school

  • Share Share

Register with BYJU'S & Download Free PDFs

Register with byju's & watch live videos.

Live Support

  • Our Mission

Illustration concept of woman going through the hiring process

How to Get a Teaching Job in 2021

We surveyed administrators, instructional coaches, and career counselors around the country for their insights on applying for teaching jobs this year.

Every spring, educators, unlike people in most professions, enter a peak window for job applying and hiring. But this year’s hiring season has some added challenges: major shifts in student enrollment, different hiring priorities and practices, and new required skills from applicants—all fueled by the pandemic.

We surveyed administrators, instructional coaches, and career counselors from all over the country to hear what hiring looks like for teachers in an unprecedented school year and share their insights below.

The Lay of the Land

For starters, many schools still don’t fully know what positions they’ll need this coming fall and may not know until late summer.

The economic recession catalyzed by Covid-19 pushed many families to move, directly impacting school enrollment and staffing this year. These changing circumstances have had a ripple effect, resulting in job cuts along with vacancies that need to be filled, we heard. In some cases, teachers have stepped into vacant leadership roles and their former positions are now available.

Adam Johnson, a middle and high school principal in Murtaugh, Idaho, says he’s desperately looking for more teachers in his area. “We are seeing significant increases in enrollment with families migrating here, but we are not seeing an increase in teachers,” he said. Meanwhile, Delia Racines, principal of a pre-K through 8 school in Los Angeles, shared, “I lost four teachers this year, and I will lose two more next year. I also no longer have a full-time assistant principal—the position across the district has been cut.”

Given the instability of the past year, others say potential applicants seem cautious about applying for new positions or transferring schools, even though school jobs are available. “So many folks seem to just feel uncertain, reactive, hesitant to take a risk,” said Sara Baker, an executive director of human resources in a district in Burien, Washington. “That affects attrition numbers, career changers, folks who may have been open to teaching, but now the ‘timing isn’t right.’”

According to Sonja Cassella, an instructional coach and teacher in Greely, Colorado, teachers may just need to be more open-minded: “There’s a teacher shortage in most parts of the country,” she said. “That doesn’t mean you can shop for jobs as if they were in boxes at a supermarket, but it does mean that teachers may want to up their hopes and expectations for what kinds of jobs may be available.”

Given the fluidity, “flexibility is the name of the game,” said Racines, who encourages applicants to be open to trying something new to fill a vacancy, such as a different grade or content area.

Ramp Up the Applications

For this year’s job applications, educators can add a new skill to their toolbox—teaching someone else’s class remotely. Like schooling generally, hiring processes shifted to (and have remained) mostly virtual during the pandemic, including the infamous demo lesson with a class at the hiring school.

With the buffer of a screen—and a slew of digital materials coming at administrators—applicants have to work harder than ever to set themselves apart this year, said Matthew X. Joseph, a director of curriculum, instruction, and assessment in Leicester, Massachusetts.

“Standing out during this time is a challenge—especially when interviews will be all online,” said Joseph, who recommends that teachers submit easily accessible video lessons and digital portfolios showcasing their interactions with and impact on students. “Your résumé opens the door, your interview draws interest, but teaching a class shows how you would impact the school.”

Photo of woman updating resumé

According to Baker, these digital materials are often submitted by younger teachers and can fill out a more detailed picture of the applicant, including their personal story, philosophy, and perspective. “They want to be seen as people first,” she said. “Yes, with qualifications and credentials, but people who feel called to this work and/or want to make an impact on the world—their ‘why’ matters.”

If you’re on the job hunt, be prepared for schools to check out your social media accounts as part of your application process—or even recruit you there to apply. Some teachers are even using tools like TikTok and Instagram as part of their materials that show they embrace digital communication tools, reports Jorge Valenzuela, an education coach in Chesterfield County, Virginia.

Still, many schools don’t like too much flash and value the traditional résumé and a personalized cover letter, said Devereaux McClatchey, the president of Carney, Sandoe & Associates, an employment recruiting firm that works with schools. “Candidates should always remember that the more they can demonstrate a personal interest in a job and a school, the more successful they’re going to be,” he said.

Prioritizing New Skills

If nothing else, schooling during the pandemic has been in constant flux, shifting between remote, hybrid, and in-school environments. These stressful transitions have shined a light on the need for educators who are flexible and resilient, say administrators and coaches.

“Candidates seeking employment this year understand the fluidity of the school year and the challenges associated with it,” said Connor Cook, a middle school principal in Houston, Texas.

Computers in a row

Cook and others say they’ve been impressed most by teachers, even veterans, who are willing to try new things and are always learning—and can showcase this mentality in the hiring process. This approach is especially pertinent when it comes to incorporating tech tools like Nearpod and Flipgrid and using them to address students’ differing needs.

“Virtual students returning to in-person schooling have to rebuild their stamina in the classroom,” said Matt Saferite, a middle school principal in Bentonville, Arkansas. “Knowing how to differentiate effectively, and with patience, is going to be a key skill for teachers to have.”

Overall, there’s an increased interest in educators who can be more experimental, creative, and student centered, rather than those who follow a more structured approach encouraged by teacher preparation programs, said Joel Coleman, a superintendent in Ogden, Utah. This includes having a proclivity toward approaches like competency-based and project-based learning.

“We are looking for educators who know how to create effective content for anytime, anywhere learning, in addition to their classroom work,” he said.

Making an Offer

While a number of school leaders commented that virtual hiring has its perks, such as being able to cast a wider net, it can be harder to get a true sense of whether the applicant is a good fit for the job.

As a result, some schools are upgrading their hiring practices, such as asking different interview questions that go beyond the canned ones that are easily searchable via Google, said Todd Bloomer, a high school principal in San Antonio, Texas.

Bloomer said that he and colleagues—including teachers—brainstorm questions based on the specific job and include role-playing scenarios that a teacher might encounter, such as addressing a conflict with a parent. They try to ask questions that probe into the candidate’s personality and passions too, like educational books they’ve read or their favorite teacher as a child, to get a better sense of who they are. Additionally, he requires applicants to record a one-to-two-minute video introducing themselves in advance of the interview.

Illustration concept of examining job candidates to hire

More than ever, administrators and instructional coaches say they are extensively checking references and bringing a cross-section of staff members into the hiring process to gauge whether the applicant will fit into their existing professional learning community. In interviews, applicants should be able to make a strong case for why the job is a match, showing they know the school’s mission, vision, and community.

“Every school and district have unique cultures, messages, and goals,” said Johnson in Murtaugh, Idaho. “I think it is essential for candidates to do their homework and find school communities that align with their philosophies and ideologies.”

More Responsive Classrooms

The pandemic has shined a light on long-standing inequities tied to poverty and race, and administrators say that this year they are increasingly seeking educators with culturally responsive teaching practices and an eye for improving equity in schools.

“I can no longer tolerate a teacher who does not have compassion for children living in poverty that are unable to change their circumstances,” said Racines in Los Angeles, who says she’s interested in teachers who are solutions oriented and can work collaboratively with families.

Joe Mazza, a middle school principal in Chappaqua, New York, says his school has made a push to hire more educators of color while changing the culture and mentality of their staff. “You have to be committed to anti-racism and be actively on the road to becoming an anti-racist ally,” he said of priorities for educators in 2021. “The journey does not have a summit, and you will never become an expert, but you should always be listening, learning, reflecting."

.css-bzc30p{display:inline;}.css-bzc30p > *{font-family:'canada-type-gibson','Arial','Verdana','sans-serif';font-weight:200;line-height:36px;color:#333333;font-size:28px;-webkit-letter-spacing:1.4px;-moz-letter-spacing:1.4px;-ms-letter-spacing:1.4px;letter-spacing:1.4px;font-style:normal;} We need an empathetic teacher as much as we need one who can break down the Constitution.

Overall, administrators emphasized the need for teacher candidates to value social and emotional learning, given the stress of the past year and the remediation that is likely required this fall. Being able to build relationships with students and motivate them in the classroom came up repeatedly as a top priority for hires.

“I think more than ever, the teacher’s heart needs to be measured to work with kids,” said Bloomer in San Antonio, Texas. “Every kid deserves a caring adult that they feel comfortable going to on campus. We need an empathetic teacher as much as we need one who can break down the Constitution.”

  • All Past Questions & Answers
  • Download JAMB Past Questions
  • Download WAEC Past Questions
  • Post UTME Past Questions
  • JAMB CBT APP
  • JAMB Past Questions PDF
  • JAMB Syllabus
  • JAMB Brochure
  • JAMB News JAMB latest news: Get all latest News, JAMB registration, JAMB CAPS, post UTME of various schools in Nigeria, JAMB Updates and all information you need regarding JAMB CBT exam and school admission is here.
  • WAEC Latest News
  • Post UTME News

Teaching job application letter examples (+ PDF and MS Word samples)

  • September 24, 2021 September 24, 2021
  • Career , Teaching

This article will show how to write write teacher jobs application letter so you increase your chances of landing the job. We’ll provide samples of teacher job application letter here and also in PDF and MS Word that you can use as a template.

  • Tips for writing teacher job application letter

Sample application letter for teacher

  • Download sample application letters for the post of teacher

Before getting start writing the application letter for teaching job, here are some tips that will help you do it best:

Tips for writing teacher job application cover letter

  • Know about the school you’re applying for and the specific requirements for the job position
  • Emphasise on your academic and extracurricular experience, especially as it applies to the job you’re applying for
  • Highlight your experiences and accomplishments but as much as possible keep those relevant to the job you’re applying for
  • As much as possible, know the name of the person you should address the letter to. It is better to use a name in the recipient’s address than to use some generic “Dear Sir/Madam”
  • Proofread and do proper spelling checks before submitting the letter
  • Use a suitable font such as Times New Roman, Arial or Calibri

Teacher in classroom

Jumoke Lawson 123 Yaba Ugo Street Yaba Lagos [email protected]

September 24, 2021

Mr. Umar Kabiru Green Peak School 123 Main Street Victoria Island Lagos

Dear Mr. Umar,

I am interested in applying for a secondary teaching position in your school. As a graduate of Yaba College of Education, I have required teaching experience on the JSS 1, 2 and 3 level, in both Physics and Mathematics. I believe my years of teaching experience, coupled with my passion for community engagement make me an ideal candidate for this teaching position.

I am currently teaching JSS 2 students at Bright Stars Secondary School and I have experience teaching secondary school students in a variety of settings. Having held the position of education coordinator at my previous roles, I also have experience in management in the school system. Based on my understanding that this position requires a teacher with varied experiences in the school system, I think my varied experiences would make me a valuable asset for your school.

Part of your school’s mission is to engage students from diverse cultures. I have extensive experience incorporating teaching styles that promote cultural diversity and inclusion into my classrooms. For example, as a teacher at Bright Stars Secondary School, I helped the management incorporate Culture Times in the extracurricular activities for the students, which helps students learn about the different cultures of fellow students in a fun way.

My goal is to combine my wide experience and quality of being a compassionate and intelligent teacher to make positive contributions that will benefit your students, school district and community at large.

I hope to hear from you at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely, [signature hard copy letter] Jumoke Lawson

Don’t forget to download Teachers Registration Council Of Nigeria (TRCN) Past Questions and Answers .

Download application letters for the post of teacher in PDF and MS Word

Grab a free sample of Teacher Job Application Letter (MS Word) OR Teacher Job Application Letter (PDF) .

Wishing you all the best in your interview and that you ultimately land the job!

Share this:

  • Click to share on Facebook (Opens in new window)
  • Click to share on WhatsApp (Opens in new window)
  • Click to share on Twitter (Opens in new window)

3 thoughts on “Teaching job application letter examples (+ PDF and MS Word samples)”

Nice letter

It is quite interesting

Doctor is more important than a teacher

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Notify me of new posts by email.

Discover more from EduPadi Blog

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Type your email…

Continue Reading

  • Application for School Teacher Job

Are you looking for a better teaching job opportunity in your career? Or maybe if you are thinking of working again after a gap of some years for some reason, or if you have recently completed your Bachelors in Education or Masters in some field and are looking for a job in a school, you will have to write an application for school teacher job to the principal of the school.

application for school teacher job

What is an Application for  School Teacher Job?

An application is a request letter sent by someone interested in the job opportunity available at the school campus. Application for school teacher job are addressed to the principal or the headmaster of the schools in which the person may be applying for the job.

An application for a school teacher job should include all relevant information, such as why you left your previous education job, why you want to join this school, or, if you are a newcomer, how you can be a suitable choice for this job. While writing an application, you have to attach all the relevant documents with the application letter. A fresher has to make sure that his qualifications match the job profile required to get a revert from the school.

Format of Application for School Teacher Job

Always remember, while writing an application for a school teacher job, you always have to be respectful and write the letter in the exact format as shown below.

  • The letter always starts with the address of the sender, i.e., From
  • Next comes the date on which the letter is sent.
  • Then comes the receiver’s address. i.e. To
  • Next is the subject of the letter. The subject is the main part of the formal letter as it states the reason for which the person has written the letter.
  • Then the salutation is done. E.g. Dear Sir or Madam,
  • Then comes the main body of the letter. As it is a formal letter, you should try to keep it as short as possible. Introduce yourself first, then move on to the reason for writing the letter, express how you are perfect for this job, and lastly, end the letter with your expectations regarding the same. Express your gratitude.
  • End the letter with Yours faithfully, truly, sincerely.
  • As it is a formal letter, it should include the signature of the sender and his full name in block letters.
  • Attach all the relevant documents which will be required, like your CV, mark sheet, experience letter, reliving letter, aadhar card, etc.

Sample Letter for School Teacher Job

A school teacher job application letter is written to the principal or the headmaster of the school and has to be written in a formal format. Read the sample letters given below to get an understanding of the same.

Sample Letter 1. Application for Secondary School Teacher Job

Omkar Darshan, 34

Adarsh Nagar

Kashmir-416371

Date-9 December 2022

The Principal

Don Bosco School

Kashmir-416374

Sub: Application for secondary school teacher job

Respected Ma’am,

I am Neha Patil, from Kashmir. I am MSC B.Ed. qualified. I would like to apply for the job of the secondary school teacher in your esteemed school.

I had left my last job to complete my B. Ed as I needed growth in my career. I have recently completed my B. Ed degree and I am eagerly waiting to join an institution as a secondary teacher. I have had experience teaching for three years in my previous institution. I am a very dedicated teacher and I complete all my teaching tasks on time. I am good at managing students and making them complete their work on time.

I will be a perfect fit for this job. I have attached all the relevant documents required with the letter. I am hoping for a positive response from your end.

Thank you in anticipation.

Yours truly,

(Signature)

Contact number – 998163××××

email [email protected]

Attachments-

Mark sheets of MSC and B.Ed.

Experience Certificate

Reliving Letter

Aadhar Card

Explore More Sample Letters

  • Leave Letter
  • Letter to Uncle Thanking him for Birthday Gift
  • Joining Letter After Leave
  • Invitation Letter for Chief Guest
  • Letter to Editor Format
  • Consent Letter
  • Complaint Letter Format
  • Authorization Letter
  • Application for Bank Statement
  • Apology Letter Format
  • Paternity Leave Application
  • Salary Increment Letter
  • Permission Letter Format
  • Enquiry Letter
  • Cheque Book Request Letter
  • Application For Character Certificate
  • Name Change Request Letter Sample
  • Internship Request Letter
  • Application For Migration Certificate
  • NOC Application Format
  • Application For ATM Card
  • DD Cancellation Letter

Sample Letter 2. Application for a Primary School Teacher Job

A-21, Tara Castle

Masoli Naka

Gujarat-315261

Date- 15 February 2022

The Headmaster,

Fabian Allen Primary School

Gujarat-315728

Subject: Application for primary school teacher job

Respected Sir,

I am Vinod Save, a resident of Gujarat. I have completed my bachelor’s in finance and I am looking forward to working as a primary school teacher in your prestigious school.

As mentioned in your news article, I have just completed my bachelor’s degree and I am a fresher. I also take lessons at home, and I know how to handle small kids and make them learn. I have a lot of patience and I understand that young kids take time to grasp the teaching and they need to be taught the same things many times.

I am very punctual and determined about my work. I assure you I will give my best if given an opportunity to serve your school.

I have attached all the relevant documents which may be required for an interview. I am hoping for a positive response from your end.

Thank you in advance.

Yours faithfully,

Phone number: 0909090909

Email address – [email protected]

Mark sheets of SSC, HSC, and BFM

Leaving Certificate College

FAQs about Applying for a Job as a School Teacher

Question 1. What are the qualifications required to apply for a job as a school teacher?

Answer. A person who has completed his graduation can apply for a job as a primary school teacher. To get a job in a secondary school, you are required to have a master’s degree at least or a Bachelor’s in Education degree. A person who has qualified for the HSC can also apply as a pre-primary teacher in the school.

Question 2. Can I get a job as a teacher without a B.Ed. degree?

Answer. Yes. You can surely get a job as a primary teacher with a minimum qualification requirement of a Bachelor’s degree in any field. But for secondary school teachers, you will require a B.Ed. degree along with your bachelor’s degree.

Customize your course in 30 seconds

Which class are you in.

tutor

Letter Writing

  • Letter to School Principal from Parent
  • ATM Card Missing Letter Format
  • Application for Quarter Allotment
  • Change of Address Letter to Bank
  • Name Change Letter to Bank
  • Parents Teacher Meeting Format
  • Application to Branch Manager
  • Request Letter for School Admission
  • No Due Certificate From Bank

Leave a Reply Cancel reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Download the App

Google Play

Home » Career Guidance » How to Write a Remarkable Application for a Teaching Job

How to Write a Remarkable Application for a Teaching Job

application for teaching job

Quick Summary

  • The general eligibility criteria for becoming a teacher is a bachelor of education (B.Ed) degree.
  • The average annual salary for a teacher increases with experience, from ₹6.65 L for 1–4 years, ₹8.11 L for 5–9 years, ₹10.02 L for more than 10 years, and ₹11.06 L and above for 20 years and above.
  • The CTET and TET exams are the two major entrance exams that must be cleared by the applicants in order to become government teachers.

Table of Contents

For ages, teaching has been considered one of the noblest professions in the world. Currently, India has around 97 lakh teachers.

If you want to be a teacher, your application for a teaching job is the first interaction you make with the recruiter. Hence, your application must clearly convey your appropriateness for the position. It must contain the relevant details and create a positive impression on the recruiters.

Writing an application for a teacher job is a crucial step. In this article, we will be presenting some samples of a simple application for a teaching job and the best tips for writing a job application.

The average annual salary for a teacher increases with experience, from ₹6.65 L for 1–4 years, ₹8.11 L for 5–9 years, ₹10.02 L for more than 10 years, and ₹11.06 L and above for 20 years and above. : CollegeDunia

Format of Application for Teaching Jobs

Subject Line: An application for a teaching job should include keywords and position details you are applying for. Salutation: The salutation in a professional application should be formal and polite, such as Dear Mr. /Ms. Last name. Application Body: The body of a professional application should include all relevant information that the employer needs to know to assess the applicant’s qualifications and suitability for the position. Closing Salutation: The closing salutation of a professional application should be professional and polite. Examples include “Sincerely,” “Best regards,” or “Thank you for your time Finally, the applicant should thank the recipient for their consideration and reiterate their interest in the position. Name: It is advisable to write your full name at the end of the job application letter to establish professional relationships. Contact Details: Contact details should be given for accessible communication over the telephone, or email.

Sample Applications for All Teaching Jobs

A job application is a very crucial step toward getting hired. It must be capable of fetching you the job opportunity. For a teaching job, you should mention all the relevant educational qualifications and work experience, if any, in your application. Your application must be well crafted to make you stand out from other candidates.

We have included some sample application letters for a teaching job below. These sample letters can help you understand how an application for a teaching job should be.

Sample 1: Application for Teaching Job in the Kindergarten

The candidates can follow the below-mentioned sample to write an application for the post of teacher in kindergarten.

Date ____ To The Principal, (Name of the School) (School’s Address) Subject: Application letter for teacher in the Kindergarten Dear Sir/Madam, I came across your advertisement for the post of Kindergarten Teacher in your school. I am writing this application to express my interest in the post, as I have been teaching kindergarten classes for the last ten years. Due to the onset of the pandemic, I had to resign from my previous school, ____ , but I am keen to start teaching again. Also, I have done a Diploma in Nursery Teacher Training from __________ University. I strongly believe that I am the right candidate for the job. I love interacting with and teaching kindergarten children, as they are highly interactive in class and receptive to new ideas. It is a pleasure to witness the world through their eyes. I have presented my resume and testimonials with this application below. Hope to hear from you soon. Thanking you Yours truly (Name & Signature)

Sample 2: Application for Teaching Job in the Primary School

The candidates can follow the below-mentioned sample to write an application for the post of teacher in a primary school.

Date ____ The Principal, (Name of the School) (Address) Subject: Application letter for teacher in the Primary School Dear Sir/Madam, I am writing this application for the post of Primary School Teacher, as I have heard a great deal about your school __________ . I have a post-graduate degree in English with 1st division. Also, I have completed a Diploma in __________ from __________ University. I am comfortable with teaching Social Science and Environmental Science along with English. In my previous employment with __________ School, I worked as a Class Teacher for Grade 4. I firmly believe that I would be appropriate for the post, as I meet the required educational requirements and would be a welcome addition to your prestigious institute. Please find my resume and certificates enclosed in this application. Thanks & Regards, (Name & Signature)

Sample 3: Application for Teaching Job in High School

The candidates can follow the below-mentioned sample to write an  a pplication for the post of teacher in a high school.

Date ____ The Principal, (Name of the School) (Place) Subject: Application for Teaching Job in the High School Dear Sir/Madam, This email is in response to the advertisement posted by your educational institute in (Name of the publication) dated _ . This is an application for a teacher’s job in your reputed institute. I completed my Master’s degree in Arts in 2003, and my main subjects were English and Economics. I have also completed my B. Ed. and have secured 1st Division in the same. Previously, I worked as an English and Economics teacher for Grades 8, 9, and 10. I have sufficient teaching experience in the higher secondary curriculum for the board classes. My resume and degree certificates are attached to the application. Thanks & Regards, (Name & Signature)

Sample 4: Application for Teaching Job for Specific Subjects

The candidates can follow the below-mentioned sample to write an application for the post of teacher for specific subjects.

Date ____ The Principal, (Name of the School) (Address) Subject: Application for a teaching job at the High School Dear Sir/Madam, I am writing this email in response to the job advertisement posted by your institute on the (Name of the Portal) dated___________. I am writing this application for the teaching job of English trainer as I have been teaching English Language Development to children for the last 15 years. Also, I have conducted several language development workshops for Primary and Higher Secondary students and co-authored an English grammar workbook. Ultimately, I believe that I would be a valuable addition to your reputed institution and would be able to encourage students to learn English and become confident speakers in the future. Please find my enclosed documents in this letter. Thanking you Yours Sincerely, (Name & Signature)

Sample 5: Application for Teaching Job for Extracurricular Subjects

The candidates can follow the below-mentioned sample to write a job application letter for a teacher of extra-curricular subjects.

Date ____ The Principal, (Name of the School) (Address) Subject: Application letter for teacher for Extracurricular Subjects Dear Sir/Madam, I came across an advertisement posted by your reputed institute in (Name of the publication/job portal) for a teacher specializing in teaching extracurricular subjects. Hence, I wish to apply for the position, as I have worked as a freelance English Dramatics and Performing Arts Teacher for the past 15 years with several well-known institutes in (Name of City/Area/State). Ultimately, I believe that performing arts and public speaking should be included in the school curriculum from the primary school itself. The children become more confident and overcome their fear of the English language if they are exposed to it in a fun and non-conventional way. I have also been associated with The Dramatics Club of (Name of the city/state/area), and we recently screened the adaptation of Shakespeare’s famous play “Hamlet” that was also covered by (Name of the publication) on (dated). My educational and professional qualifications are mentioned below. Please consider the enclosed documents as a part of this letter. Thanks & Regards, (Name & Signature)

Sample 6: Application for a Part-time Teaching Job

The candidates can follow the below-mentioned sample to write a job application for a teacher.

Date ____ The Principal, (Name of the School) (Address) Subject: Application letter for a teacher as a Part-time Profession Dear Sir/Madam, I came across a job advertisement posted by your prestigious institution (Name of the school) published in (Name of the publication) dated _ . Hence, I wish to apply for the position of Part-time Teacher. Firstly, I have five years of experience as a part-time Social Science teacher for students in Grades 6, 7, and 8. Also, I have a Master of Arts with a specialization in Social Sciences. Apart from teaching, I also work as a part-time counsellor and conduct periodic parent-child sessions on adolescent issues. I am an appropriate candidate for the part-time teaching position at your institute, as I am well-equipped to handle the educational and psychological problems a child faces. I have attached my CV and educational certificates with this application below. Please peruse it as a part of my application. Thanks & Regards, (Name & Signature)

Read further: Part-Time Teaching Platforms in India

Sample 7: Application for Teaching Job for Special Education Purpose

Date ____ The Principal, (Name of the School) (Address of School) Subject: Application for teaching job in special education Dear Sir/Madam, This email is about the job advertisement posted on (Name of the Publication/Website) dated ___________wherein you mentioned a job vacancy for a Special Educator at your prestigious institute (Name of the school). I have been working as a Special Educator for the last ten years. I have adequate experience in teaching children with ADD/ADHD, learning disabilities, autism, speech impairment, and non-compliant behavior. Also, I take special care to understand the individual needs of each student and try to work out a unique teaching plan that suits them. Children with special needs require an empathetic teacher that makes them feel included and part of the crowd. I have a Masters’s degree in Child Psychology and have also done a Diploma Certificate Course in Special Needs Education. I have enclosed my resume and certificates with this application. Looking forward to hearing from you. Thanking you Warmly, (Name & Signature)

Sample 8: Application for Teaching Job for Tuitions

The candidates can follow the below-mentioned sample to write a job application for a teacher:

Date ____ (Job address) Subject: Application for teaching job for Tuitions Dear Sir/Madam, I came across a job advertisement requiring a Science and Mathematics Tutor for Grades 3, 4, and 5 and wish to apply for the same. Firstly, I have a Master’s degree in Science and experience in tutoring students for the last 15 years. Apart from this, I have experience in teaching students of different age groups. Also, I have a website wherein I provide online coaching for competitive exams like bank entrances. Furthermore, I try to include innovative technology in my teaching methodology to make difficult and complex topics more accessible for students, making learning enjoyable. I firmly believe that my teaching methods would benefit students and help them get better grades in school. My updated CV is attached to this application. Thanks & Regards, (Name & Signature)

Related Article: Teach Online with Chegg

Sample 9: Application for Teaching Job in Colleges

The candidates can follow the below-mentioned sample to write a simple application for a teaching job in India:

Date ____ The Principal, (Name of the College) (Place) Subject: Application for a teaching job in your College Dear Sir/Madam, This email is in response to the job advertisement posted by your prestigious college (College Name) for an English College Professor vacancy. I came across the advertisement on (Name of the website/job portal) dated __ and wish to apply for the same. I have a Master’s Degree in English and cleared the UGC-NET examination in 2017. Also, I have four years of experience and have handled various other responsibilities like organizing dramatics club feast, inter-college debates, and extempore. Moreover, I have written research papers on several topics relating to the English Language and Literature, like American Literature and Poetry and Post-Colonial Studies on English Literature. My belief is I am the right candidate for the vacancy, as I fulfill all the requirements mentioned in the advertisement. All the relevant documents are attached to this email. Thanking you Yours truly, (Name & Signature)

Sample 10: Application for Teaching Job as a Teaching Assistant

The candidates can follow the below-mentioned sample to write a simple application for a teaching job in India as a teacher’s assistant.

Date ____ The Principal, (Name of the College) (Address) Subject: Application letter for the post of Teaching Assistant Dear Sir/Madam, I am writing this letter in response to the job advertisement posted by your reputed institute (Name of the School/College) for the vacancy of Assistant Teacher for middle school and wish to submit my application for the same. I have an experience of 8+ years as an Assistant Teacher in (Name of the School/College). As a teacher, I try to make my classroom interactive and fun for students. I understand the need to involve parents in the child’s class performance through proper communication. Also, I am well experienced in maintaining records and administrative tasks, which help in the effective functioning of the classroom. Lastly, I believe I am the right candidate for the vacancy, as I fulfill all the requirements mentioned in the advertisement. My educational certificates are attached in the same email. Kindly let me know if you need further documents to support my candidature. Thanking you Sincerely, (Name & Signature)

Sample 11: Application Letter for Teaching Job in School (for Freshers)

This sample can be used as a job application for fresher teaching jobs. As a fresher teacher, your application should focus on your qualifications and the zeal to enter the teaching industry.

Date ____ The Principal, (Name of the School) (Address) Subject: Job Application for the post of a teacher Dear Sir/Madam, I am writing this letter in response to the job advertisement posted by your esteemed institution (Name of the School/College) for the vacancy of a teacher for the —— subject. Hence, I wish to submit my application for the same. Recently, I have completed M.A. in English Literature from ABC university. I also possess a B.Ed. degree. I am highly passionate about teaching kids in this age group and have previously taught at various coaching centres. This makes me aware of the challenges faced by students. Also, I am adept in maintaining records and administrative tasks to improve the effective functioning of the classroom. I believe I am the right candidate for the vacancy, as I fulfill all the requirements mentioned in the advertisement. My educational certificates are attached in the same email. Kindly let me know if you need further documents to support my candidature. Thanking you Sincerely, (Name & Signature)

Earn more to Help Students Learn More

Tips for a Good Job Application for Teaching

Writing an intriguing and effective job application is an essential step for getting a teaching job. Your application must outline your potential and capabilities vividly in order to make you outstand others.

Here are some tips for writing a good and simple application for teaching job:

Ensure Proper Formatting

The very first element of an application is its format. An application must be written in a proper format. You should pay vital importance to the formatting of your application.

Formatting your application efficiently helps in presenting your details more effectively. It enables the hiring manager to peruse your application better. Formatting your application properly also prevents the recruiter from missing out any details.

Even if you possess the best skills, failing to mention them correctly may deteriorate your application’s potential of getting shortlisted. A properly organized application is more likely to get selected than one which contains random information. Hence, you should accordingly format your application.

Be Professional

Recruiters expect candidates to be professional. Avoid using abbreviations or short forms for words. It puts a negative impact on your candidature.

Also, don’t use any jargon in your application. Your application must be easily understandable by everyone. Try to avoid the usage of complex words, keep it simple.

Make sure you maintain professionalism even while sending the final email to the recruiter. Proofread your application thoroughly before beginning to apply for jobs. Ensure there are no errors like grammatical errors, spelling mistakes, informal language, improper formatting, etc.

Some best practices include writing a captivating subject line , a professional summary of your achievements, and a thoughtful conclusion.

Also, do not add any fake accomplishments. Even if you add them to your application or resume, they can be crosschecked during the background check.

A very common mistake that candidates make while writing their job application is that they copy-paste their entire resume and CV. They add all those details that are mentioned in their resume. This ultimately makes their job application too long. Their application becomes lengthy, decreasing the hiring manager’s interest in your application.

Recruiters have a pile of job applications on their desks. It is impossible for them to read the applications line-by-line. Therefore, they search for the most important skills that are required, they look for the keywords that suit the job requirements.

You should mention your top skills and achievements in your application. Don’t go for describing all your degrees and certificates in your application. The recruiter will not be looking for long at it.

Try to Align your Skills with the Job Role

Make a mention of the skills and knowledge you possess and try to correlate it with the duties and activities of the job role. Add work experience if any. Try to align the skills and experience you gained, with the job requirements. State how your presence can add value to the recruiter’s workplace and mention how your performance can help in running the work efficiently.

Conforming your skills with the job role can help the hiring manager decide your suitability for the position. It can help the recruiter conclude your suitability for the job and how you can benefit the workplace.

Also, mentioning your skills, qualifications and experience and relating them to the job description can help you stay ahead of other candidates. It can make you stand out from the crowd and increase your chances of employability.

Make the Ending Positive and Optimistic

Your application should end on a positive and enthusiastic note. Show your gratefulness to the hiring manager for reading your application. Make the conclusion of your application optimistic but keep it professional.

You can end your application by mentioning “Hoping to hear from you” or “Looking forward to an interview”, etc. Also, add proper “Sign off” terms like “Yours truly, sincerely”, etc, followed by your signature.

Similar Read: 6 Simple Steps for Teachers to Earn Money

Perfect Opportunity for Teachers

In the last decade, there has been a tremendous surge in technological advancements and innovations in the education sector.

More and more students require online assistance for their studies. Chegg is one of the platforms that help in resolving students’ queries.

Therefore, if you’re interested in teaching, we have a great opportunity for you. Join Chegg as a Q&A Expert and earn money for every question you answer. You get:

  • Completely flexible timings
  • Work-from-anywhere
  • Limitless income
  • Network with fellow experts

Start by registering on our website. Once you clear the screening process, you will officially become a Chegg Expert!

Get Paid to Help Students Across the World - Earn With Chegg

Read more: Resume and Cover Letter tips.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

A candidate should bear certain things in mind: – The application should be addressed to a specific person like a Principal or Dean. – Mention your interest in the job and how it can be valuable. – It should indicate your educational qualifications and professional experience. – State your teaching ideology and how it aligns with the school or college. – The application should end on an optimistic note.

The candidates can expect a package of around 2.2 lakh per annum as a primary teacher in India. The salary package increases with the gaining experience of a primary teacher. This salary may also vary depending on whether the candidate works in a government or private school. Government schools generally offer a higher salary package compared to private schools.

If the candidates wish to start their career as a government teacher, they are required to qualify for the Central Teacher Eligibility Test (CTET) or Teacher Eligibility Test (TET). They must have fulfilled the required eligibility criteria to sit for these exams. However, the general eligibility criteria for becoming a teacher is a bachelor of education (B.Ed) degree.

No Resume Required

To read more related articles, click here.

Got a question on this topic?

Related Articles

  • Privacy Policy
  • Chegg Study
  • Learn a language
  • Writing Support
  • Expert Hiring and Payment Dashboard
  • पैसे कैसे कमाए? Earn Online
  • Career Guidance

Chegg India does not ask for money to offer any opportunity with the company. We request you to be vigilant before sharing your personal and financial information with any third party. Beware of fraudulent activities claiming affiliation with our company and promising monetary rewards or benefits. Chegg India shall not be responsible for any losses resulting from such activities.

  • Chegg Inc. Compliance

© 2024 Chegg Inc. All rights reserved.

  • Communities
  • Monday Business
  • Police Logs
  • Court News and Tickets
  • Agribusiness
  • MN State News
  • National News
  • International News
  • Public Records
  • Local Sports
  • MN State Sports
  • National Sports
  • Lifestyle Columns
  • Lifestyle Feature
  • Engagements
  • CORONAVIRUS
  • Classifieds
  • Garage Sales
  • New Ulm Community Guide
  • Open Routes
  • Terms of Service
  • Submit News
  • Browse Notices
  • Place Notice

homepage logo

  • Today's Paper

Subscribe Today

Nuaf accepting application for teaching, school counseling & admin scholarship.

New Ulm Area Foundation is accepting applications for the $5,000 Charlotte Raymond Anderson Scholarship. The application deadline is March 15th.

This scholarship is available to 2024 high school graduates AND PAST graduates from ISD 88, Minnesota Valley Lutheran High School, and Cathedral High School pursuing a college or graduate degree in education. NEW FOR 2024: the scope of this scholarship program is being broadened to also include the pursuit of a degree in school counseling or administration.

This $5,000 scholarship will be awarded to at least one student pledging their intent to attain the highest level of proficiency in education, or to an established educator pursuing a graduate degree to increase their expertise in teaching, counseling, or administration.

The scholarship also carries potential of renewal for the recipient each year of college, up to three renewals, after being awarded the scholarship.

For more details on the Charlotte Raymond Anderson Scholarship or to download the guidelines and application, please visit NewUlmAreaFoundation.org/scholarships.

Questions may be directed to John Illikman at [email protected] or by calling the Foundation at 507-354-3337.

Today's breaking news and more in your inbox

  • Daily Newsletter
  • Breaking News

application for a job in school

NUHS Knowledge Bowl teams dominate in final regular season meet

New Ulm Area Foundation is accepting applications for the $5,000 Charlotte Raymond Anderson Scholarship. The ...

The Jolly Pops: family friendly fun

State Street Theater (SST) in New Ulm, Minnesota invites all grandparents, parents, aunts and uncles, State Street ...

Lions Club to host Dad’s Belgian Waffle Brunch

The Lions Club of New Ulm will host a Dad’s Belgian Waffle Brunch at New Ulm’s Turner Hall, 102 South State ...

4 Pillars Gallery Opening Area Youth Art Exhibit

This Friday, Feb. 23, The Grand Center for Arts & Culture welcomes area youth artists, grades PreK-6th, to the ...

application for a job in school

Two Regions Stars for Sleepy Eye FFA

Starting at $4.38/week..

How to Decide Where to Apply for Law School

Use both your head and your heart to build a list of schools to target.

Deciding Where to Apply for Law School

Unleash the power of innovation as an African-American visionary brings ideas to life on his computer in a modern office, embodying the spirit of creativity and progress.

Getty Images

There are many factors to consider when deciding where to go to law school like size, setting and atmosphere.

America has roughly 200 law schools accredited by the American Bar Association. They range widely in geography, size, reputation, tuition, culture and specific offerings. As an applicant, determining which of these schools to apply to can feel daunting.

To start, thorough research can reveal a lot about what distinguishes one school from another. Talk to peers and mentors, attend admissions events, visit campuses, dig into different schools’ websites and read news sources online – like the Law Admissions Lowdown !

Factors to Consider

Think carefully about what you’re looking for in a law school, beyond a prestigious name.

Are you looking for a full-time, part-time or online program ?

Are there particular programs or legal clinics that would serve your professional goals? Are you aiming for a particular location where you hope to launch your career?

Do you do better at a smaller or larger school? A rural or urban setting? A school that emphasizes academic research or practical skills?

Are you looking for other factors, like a community that is amenable to your religious or political views, or one that emphasizes diversity or social justice ?

Consider which of these factors are most important to you. Your criteria should help you narrow down your options without ruling too many out! 

Making a List

I recommend applying to at least a dozen law schools, unless you have very specific needs. For example, you may have a shorter list if you are limited to one city or region for personal reasons.

It may make sense to start with a larger list, perhaps 20 or 30 schools. Use law school rankings and statistics to determine a realistic range of schools based on important factors like your grades and LSAT or GRE score. These numbers aren’t the only things that matter in law school admissions, but they shape your rough odds at each school.

Next, break down your list into three relative categories: reach, midrange and safety schools. 

Reach Law Schools

While it is risky to get too emotionally attached to your dream schools, it is good to identify them early. They will provide you with the motivation to persist through a long process.

It is OK to aim high with law school school applications, with more than a third of your list composed of reach schools. Still, be selective. Don’t just write down the most famous law schools you can think of.

Research which reach schools would be most likely to select you based on your strengths. Confirm that your numbers aren’t too far from the school’s medians, even if you are a “ splitter ” with low grades or LSAT scores.

If your heart is set on one of these schools in particular, see if it offers an early decision option. 

Mid-Range Law Schools

At least half of your list should be composed of schools where your grades and LSAT scores are roughly in line with their medians. This means that your odds are realistic, if far from guaranteed.

These target or midrange law schools form the core of your list, so select them carefully. Make sure that they are in locations where you’d like to live and that they have clinics or elective classes in the fields you hope to study.

Ideally, you’ll be admitted to multiple target schools. Then, you can look at each one more closely and compare or even negotiate financial aid offers between them. 

Safety Law Schools

Finally, add a couple of safety schools where your grades and LSAT score give you a high chance of admission.

For college, you may have padded your list with extra safety schools to avoid ending up empty-handed. Law school is a bit different, because you always have other life options. If you don’t get into a law school you are happy with, you could reapply the following cycle, perhaps with a higher LSAT score and stronger essays.

A good safety school should provide something that excites you, like a great location or special opportunities related to your career goals. A law school that truly supports you and your professional goals is worth the investment, and you may receive a generous scholarship that eases your decision.

The research you put into shaping your list of schools will pay off when it comes time to choose between multiple great options. Moreover, it will also help you articulate this interest in your application essays and interviews . Schools want candidates who feel invested in joining their community.

10 Law Schools That Lead to Big Law Jobs

Business professionals hosting a meeting in a conference room

Tags: law school , graduate schools , education , students

About Law Admissions Lowdown

Law Admissions Lowdown provides advice to prospective students about the law school application process, LSAT prep and potential career paths. Previously authored by contributors from Stratus Admissions Counseling, the blog is currently authored by Gabriel Kuris, founder of Top Law Coach , an admissions consultancy. Kuris is a graduate of Harvard Law School and has helped hundreds of applicants navigate the law school application process since 2003. Got a question? Email [email protected] .

Popular Stories

Medical School Admissions Doctor

application for a job in school

Best Graduate Schools

application for a job in school

High Schools

application for a job in school

Law Admissions Lowdown

application for a job in school

You May Also Like

Premeds and extracurricular activities.

Zach Grimmett Feb. 21, 2024

Public Admin vs. Public Policy Degree

Miki Tanikawa Feb. 20, 2024

6 Traits of Successful MBA Candidates

Anayat Durrani Feb. 15, 2024

application for a job in school

Med Schools With Low Acceptance Rates

Sarah Wood Feb. 14, 2024

application for a job in school

Deciding Where to Attend Med School

Kathleen Franco, M.D., M.S. Feb. 13, 2024

application for a job in school

Law School and a STEM Background

Gabriel Kuris Feb. 12, 2024

application for a job in school

Law School Applicant Personal Qualities

Sammy Allen Feb. 9, 2024

application for a job in school

Top Online MBAs With No GMAT, GRE

Cole Claybourn Feb. 8, 2024

application for a job in school

How to Select an Online College

Cole Claybourn Feb. 7, 2024

application for a job in school

U.S. News Ranks Best Online Programs

Sarah Wood Feb. 7, 2024

application for a job in school

Apply to Teach in New York City Public Schools

Thank you for your interest in teaching at NYC Public Schools

Success: Your message was sent. We appreciate your email, and work to respond promptly to all inquiries.

* I'm emailing about:

Subscribe to receive periodic updates from the Office of Teacher Recruitment and Quality.

Success: You have been subscribed to our email newsletter and will be hearing from us soon.

How to Apply

  • Application & Hiring Process
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Out-of-State Certified Teachers

Application & Hiring Process

The NYC Online Teacher Application for the 2024- 2025 school year is now open!

The NYC Online Teacher Application is required for all candidates who are interested in securing a full-time teaching position with New York City Public Schools.

The Application Process

We take hiring seriously because we take our teachers seriously. There are two parts to our rigorous hiring process. First, apply to become a teacher at New York City Public Schools by completing a thorough online application. Then if your application is accepted, you can begin connecting with principals at schools that interest you.

  • STEP 1: GATHER YOUR APPLICATION MATERIALS
  • STEP 2: SUBMIT YOUR ONLINE APPLICATION
  • STEP 3: FIND AND APPLY FOR OPEN POSITIONS
  • STEP 4: PREPARE FOR YOUR START DATE

Step 1: Gather your application materials

You will be able to save and return to your started application, but we recommend gathering all application materials first. The NYC Online Teacher Application Guide  reviews everything you’ll need. 

Step 2: Submit your online teacher application

If you are new to the NYC Online Teacher Application, the first step is to create an account by clicking on "New User". Once you complete your Common Profile, you will have access to start your teacher application.  The NYC Online Teacher Application Guide  walks you step-by-step through the application and provides links to helpful resources for your application journey. You can also find answers to commonly asked questions in our Online Support Center .

Apply early for greater access to job search supports! See  here  for application deadlines and associated supports.

Step 3: Find and apply for open positions

If your application is accepted, you will be able to search for open teaching positions and express interest in those that appeal to you and match your skills and background. Please keep in mind that an accepted application does not guarantee a teaching position. You must directly apply to schools for positions that interest you. Read on for the best ways to approach your job search.

The New Teacher Finder If your application is accepted, you can review open positions and connect with hiring principals through the New Teacher Finder, which principals use to browse candidate applications, post job openings, and reach out to promising applicants. In addition to help with your job search, New Teacher Finder members have access to hiring resources and exclusive networking events.  

Recruitment Events Some candidates may be eligible to attend recruitment fairs and other networking events, where they will connect directly with hiring principals. Invitations are reserved for the strongest candidates in select subject areas. Direct Outreach Principals and other school-level staff make hiring decisions, so we encourage you to contact schools directly. Just make sure to tailor your resume and cover letter to each school and position so your application stands out.

Step 4: Prepare for Your Start Date

Once hired, you’ll need to complete several tasks before your first day, including getting fingerprinted. You will receive specific instructions for everything required, and can use the  HR Checklist for New Pedagogical Employees  as a guide. 

Teachers who have found a position at a New York City Public School should also complete an application

A complete and submitted online teacher application is an important and  required  component of New York City Public School’s teacher staffing process. If you have received an offer from a New York City public school, please complete your online application as soon as possible in order to avoid processing delays.

Teach NYC

2024 Teacher Application Guide

Proof of on track certificate letter.

If you are on track to be certified by September 1, 2024, please have your college fill out an on track letter as proof Learn more

Upcoming Events

Nyc public schools teacher hiring trends, nyc public schools teacher candidate information session, out-of-state teacher candidate information session.

  • Visit Our Online Support Center

theHub

Support Personnel Staffing

The site navigation utilizes arrow, enter, escape, and space bar key commands. Left and right arrows move across top level links and expand / close menus in sub levels. Up and Down arrows will open main level menus and toggle through sub tier links. Enter and space open menus and escape closes them as well. Tab will move on to the next part of the site rather than go through menu items.

NYC Public Schools stacked logo

Working at the DOE

Substitute teaching, principals and assistant principals, administration and central offices, social workers, guidance counselors, and psychologists, other jobs in schools.

Building, Architecture, Outdoors, City, Aerial View, Urban, Office Building, Cityscape

Clinical Instructor Soft Tissue Surgery/Orthopedics Combined

  • Madison, Wisconsin
  • SCHOOL OF VETERINARY MEDICINE/SURGICAL SCIENCES-GEN
  • Instructional Category
  • Staff-Full Time
  • Staff-Part Time
  • Opening at: Feb 14 2024 at 12:15 CST

Job Summary:

The Department of Surgical Sciences of the University of Wisconsin-Madison, School of Veterinary Medicine invites applications for a full-time or part-time Instructor in Small Animal Surgery in the areas of soft tissue and orthopedics. The successful candidate will join the Small Animal Surgery Section, which is comprised 6 full-time ACVS Diplomates, 6 residents/interns, and a dynamic group of certified veterinary technicians. The UW Veterinary Care teaching hospital is equipped with state-of-the-art equipment for arthroscopy, 3T MRI, CT, ultrasound, 3D printing, and force-platform gait analysis. The Department and School are interested in developing our innovative programs, including translational clinical research studies in orthopedic genetics, musculoskeletal imaging, arthroscopic surgery, integrated trauma care, 3D printing, limb deformity correction, total joint arthroplasty, and virtual mechanical testing using finite element modeling.

Responsibilities:

Responsibilities will include providing clinical service in the teaching hospital, participation in clinical and didactic teaching of veterinary students, residents and interns, and pursuit of clinical research. Clinical duties include leading resident-based or student-based rounds that involve approximately 5 hours per week. Student case-based rounds are conducted by faculty in conjunction with residents when the faculty are assigned to clinic duties. Approximately 50-80% in Clinical Practice of Small Animal Surgery (including 30-40 weeks/year of clinic duty) and Teaching (5-10 lectures/year and 8-12 laboratories/year), 10-35% in Research, and 10-15% in Service.

Institutional Statement on Diversity:

Diversity is a source of strength, creativity, and innovation for UW-Madison. We value the contributions of each person and respect the profound ways their identity, culture, background, experience, status, abilities, and opinion enrich the university community. We commit ourselves to the pursuit of excellence in teaching, research, outreach, and diversity as inextricably linked goals. The University of Wisconsin-Madison fulfills its public mission by creating a welcoming and inclusive community for people from every background - people who as students, faculty, and staff serve Wisconsin and the world. For more information on diversity and inclusion on campus, please visit: Diversity and Inclusion

Required Terminal Degree DVM or equivalent

Qualifications:

DVM or equivalent. American College of Veterinary Surgeons or European College of Veterinary Surgeons Board certified or Board Eligibility with completion of residency in small animal surgery at the time of start date.

License/Certification:

Required Wisconsin Veterinary License Must be eligible to obtain and maintain licensure to practice veterinary medicine in the State of Wisconsin by start date.

Full or Part Time: 25% - 100% It is anticipated this position requires work be performed in-person, onsite, at a designated campus work location.

Appointment Type, Duration:

Ongoing/Renewable

Anticipated Begin Date:

JULY 01, 2024

Negotiable ANNUAL (12 months) Actual pay will depend on experience and qualifications. This position offers a comprehensive benefits package, including generous paid time off, competitively priced health/dental/vision/life insurance, tax-advantaged savings accounts, and participation in the nationally recognized Wisconsin Retirement System (WRS) pension fund. For a summary of benefits, please see: https://www.wisconsin.edu/ohrwd/benefits/download/fasl.pdf  

Additional Information:

UW School of Veterinary Medicine (SVM) is a wonderful workplace with enthusiastic students, technologists, residents, and other faculty specialists who work together to provide excellent veterinary medical care. The SVM team provides outstanding programs in veterinary medical education, research, clinical practice, and service that enhances the health and welfare of both animals and people and contribute to the economic well-being of the state of Wisconsin. SVM is nearing the end of construction on the new facility that will improve instruction space for students, double the size of the school's small animal hospital and significantly enhance the large animal hospital, expand labs for studying naturally occurring animal and human diseases, and increase and modernize infectious disease research space. Future upgrades via remodeling of current hospital include an Imaging Center with large animal-capable 3T MRI, 16-slice CT, and future PET-CT. Completion of the addition is projected for Spring of 2024. UW-Madison campus provides an excellent environment which encourages research. The School of Medicine and Public Health and the Wisconsin Institute of Medical Research are within walking distance. Madison consistently ranks as a top community in which to live, work and play. Please see the following link for more information: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y_2zJuSYbpg  

How to Apply:

To apply for this position, please click APPLY ONLINE to begin the process. You will be required to upload a cover letter, current CV, and a document listing the contact information for three professional references. For questions regarding the application process, please contact Jody Silva at [email protected]  or 608-263-5633. Questions about the position or about the Small Animal Orthopedic caseload directed to Dr. Peter Muir, [email protected] .  The deadline for assuring full consideration is April 1, 2024 however the position will remain open and applications may be considered until the position is filled.

Jody Silva [email protected] 608-262-0923 Relay Access (WTRS): 7-1-1. See RELAY_SERVICE for further information.

Official Title:

Clinical Instructor(IC012)

Department(s):

A87-SCHOOL OF VET MEDICINE/SURGICAL SCIENCES

Employment Class:

Academic Staff-Renewable

Job Number:

The university of wisconsin-madison is an equal opportunity and affirmative action employer..

You will be redirected to the application to launch your career momentarily. Thank you!

Frequently Asked Questions

Applicant Tutorial

Disability Accommodations

Pay Transparency Policy Statement

Refer a Friend

You've sent this job to a friend!

Website feedback, questions or accessibility issues: [email protected] .

Learn more about accessibility at UW–Madison .

© 2016–2024 Board of Regents of the University of Wisconsin System • Privacy Statement

application for a job in school

  • Careers Teacher Jobs Staff Jobs Substitute Teacher Jobs Internal Careers
  • Volunteer Opportunities --> HR Website
  • --> Talent Community -->